• October 20, 2014, 10:21:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed  (Read 12400 times)

mikefinnegan222

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« on: February 25, 2012, 12:54:39 PM »

Heads up to anyone unable to use AirPlay on a D-Link network. Disable WMM in the Advanced->Advanced Wireless tab.

I struggled for weeks with this. AirPlay worked fine on an all Apple network but when I switched to the DIR-655 as the router/ap AirPlay became invisible. I could see the Airport Express in the list of connected devices with an IP address but the AirPort utility and AirPlay enabled apps were unable to see it. Disabling WMM fixed it immediately and I am now back to streaming music.

Almost gave up and scr apped the D-Link.

Good luck and happy streaming!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 12:58:15 PM by mikefinnegan222 »
Logged

Chipmunk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 10:09:09 AM »

I had the same problems with the Airport Express and your hint fixed it for good!

Thanks ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed (RESOLVED)
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 10:29:55 AM »

Enjoy.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2012, 11:28:29 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lazzeeh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2012, 09:26:14 AM »

Sadly this wouldnt solve my problem.

I can see my airport express with airplay icon, and in some minutes it is gone, and when i check the airplay tool in mac osx, its says "Device not found"..

I disable WMM in dlink menu, anything else im missing?
Running firmware 2.05 and just did a reset of it so any help would be appreciated..
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2012, 09:59:49 AM »

What make and model host router do you have? DIR-655?
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.

Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable or Disable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Sadly this wouldnt solve my problem.

I can see my airport express with airplay icon, and in some minutes it is gone, and when i check the airplay tool in mac osx, its says "Device not found"..

I disable WMM in dlink menu, anything else im missing?
Running firmware 2.05 and just did a reset of it so any help would be appreciated..
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lazzeeh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2012, 11:26:36 AM »

What make and model host router do you have? DIR-655?
DIR-655
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
B1
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
2.05
What region are you located?
Europe - Denmark
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Wireless. Have a modem which provide my internet, and from there goes a cable to the D-Link which makes the "wireless".
Has a Factory Reset been performed?
Yes

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.

Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

Tried the above - still drops connection..

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Mixed, N/G/B
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Uses WPA-Personal
What wireless devices do you have connected?
2 laptops, iPhone & iPad & ATV2.
Any cordless house phones?
No
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable or Disable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2012, 11:46:53 AM »

I would run a quick test with WiFi security turned off on both DIR-655 and the Apple AE unit and see if the WiFi maintains a connection. Then turn it back on and set for WPA or WPA2 and TPIK only and test. Then maybe try using AES only.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lazzeeh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2012, 12:17:21 PM »

6 others. No one uses the same channels as me..

Found another tip to only do WPA2 only, but still the same.. Loses connection after < 5 min..

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2012, 12:30:03 PM »

I would do this, remove the DIR-655 from the network and modem and connect the AE in place and use it as your host router. Set it up and get internet going and enable the Airplay features. Can you maintain a connection then?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lazzeeh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2012, 12:36:18 AM »

Just did this and it work if i connect to my Modem which have wireless also and it works... Now played 10 mins of music which was impossible before..

So the D-Link does something weird..
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2012, 06:52:09 AM »

Sounds like it's a mis-configuration.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lazzeeh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2012, 10:16:54 AM »

Or that the D-Link just isnt supposed to work with an airport express..

Read several/many threads where people had the same problem as me :)

I have at least given up on the D-Link, took me 5 minutes and all worked with the other modem.

Thanks for your help tho :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2012, 10:28:57 AM »

What mode is the AE running in? Router, AP or Bridged when connected to the 655?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lazzeeh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2012, 10:49:15 PM »

I just "joined exsisting network".. Dont think i changed the mode of the AE..
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28149
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: D-link DIR-655 AirPlay Airport Express Problem Fixed
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2012, 06:49:16 AM »

How is the AE connected to the 655? Possible how the AE is connected and configured with the 655 could be the cause of the problem. I would recommend you contact Apple and ask for help to see if using the AE with other routers needs some additional configuration. Others have been able to get theres working. I can try this with my Airport Extreme (3rd Gen) and see.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2