• October 20, 2019, 11:42:41 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Unpredictibly unstable  (Read 9322 times)

tatsujin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Unpredictibly unstable
« on: February 23, 2012, 11:11:57 AM »

I'm having totally unfathomable mysterious problems with my dlink.

I have a Rev A5. Nowadays running 1.35, but have tried many, including 1.21 (delivered with it) and 1.31.

Internet wall socket -> IP-phone box -> DLink

Devices connected to DLink:
  1 PC (linux), wired
  1 Dreambox, wired
  1 laptop (W7), wireless
  numerous wireless devices (phones, tablets, etc) hopping on and off the lan.

I have DHCP configured on the LAN. DNS relay off. hm, what else?

A bit of problem history, and my "solutions" to these.
Beware, this is quite long... I think have some frustrations I need to share ;)

Mystery #1: This is waay back, I don't remember much. The result was that I upgraded the firmware to 1.31, after having been in contact with DLink support.
edit: Now I recalled that the problem was that DLink rebooted everytime I tried to save configuration.

Mystery #2. (this was also a while back, don't remember all the details).
Everything up and running fine, when suddenly all internet connectivity disappears (phone works).
Tried reseting/rebooting, to no avail.
Tried connecting the laptop using a cable: Didn't work.
Tried the "system test" in the DLink admin gui (ping): No go.
Tried connecting PC directly into the wall socket: Works.
Tried connecting the DLink directly into the wall socket Works.
Tried another (shorter) cable between phone box and DLink: Works. (hypothesis: faulty cable?)
Because the new cable was too short I couldn't place the DLink where I wanted it, so I moved the DLink *into* the bench my TV was standing on (as opposed to on it, where it was before), on top of the dreambox: Still works.
Just for kicks, I put the original cable back again: STILL WORKS!
Moved DLink back to its original position (about 25cm): Not working.
So... solution was: Move DLink 25 cm downwards.

It works just fine, for several months. Then it strikes again:

Mystery #3: (about 3-4 months ago) Same rounds as previous problem.
Tried different cables in different combinations. Nothing worked.
Usual reset/reboot dance. Even did factory reset: no change.
Tried static IP on the PC (as DHCP never responded), no luck.
Luckily, as wireless was working fine all along, I could do problem searching on the 'net. Found an upgraded firmware (1.35), after the upgrade it seems to work again (no idea why, really).
I also read that someone had a similar problem with a theory that the DLink could get overheated.
I moved the DLink again a bit off to the side of the aforementioned TV bench (on top of a speaker). And connected all the wired devices to a small switch I had, and then the switch into the DLink, following some vague idea that the "load" of many connected cables would put strain on the DLink.

Mystery #4. Today.
PC lost internet connection. Wireless ok. No wired DHCP response.
Connecting laptop with cable: Works  (hypothesis: linux PC ***ed up)
Read the syslog on the linux PC, noticed I had forgot to disconnect the VPN connection to work and when it automatically failed the network never recovered.
Rebooted PC: Same problem.
Connected PC cable directly into the DLink (instead of the switch): Works!
Disconnected PC cable from DLink: DLink reboots!!!
Connected PC cable to another port on the switch: Doesn't work.
Solution: connected PC directly to DLink.

Well... I think thats about it.

Even if no one has any solutions for this, I'm just glad I could share these infuriatingly mindboggling problems of mine %$#!$@%^$#@%$@   :D
« Last Edit: February 23, 2012, 11:48:26 PM by tatsujin »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unpredictibly unstable
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 01:03:22 PM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

tatsujin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Unpredictibly unstable
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 12:03:45 AM »

First off, thanks for replying. I didn't expect anyone to attempt digging in this hairy pile.  :D

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Ah, sorry. By "internet wall socket" I meant an RJ45 socket i.e. Ethernet, 100Mbit, no modems.

Btw, the LAN is at 100Mbit.

Quote from: FurryNutz
Some things to try: ... QoS ... adv. DNS ... reserve DNS...
QoS has always been off.
Adv. DHCP I don't have.
I already have DHCP reservations to all of my devices.

Quote from: FurryNutz
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.
Ok, I had port&adr restricted and adr.restricted, respectively. uPnP is enabled already. Multi-cast streaming I'd have to check.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What wireless modes are you using?
What security mode are you using?
I have tried a few combos, but kind of forced to used mixed N + G with WPA2, to enable all my devices to be able connect to it. Any other combination and there's some device that can't connect. That's is also a bit strange...

Quote from: FurryNutz
What wireless devices do you have connected?
An android phone. An android tablet. A Google chrome netbook. hm... I thought there were more?

Quote from: FurryNutz
Any cordless house phones?
I have. The phone connected to the IP phone box is wireless. Do you think it could interfere somehow with DLink's wireless, thus making it break down?

Quote from: FurryNutz
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
When scanning WiFI networks on any device, about 10-15 comes up.

Quote from: FurryNutz
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
These don't sound familiar, so I guess I don't have them (can't check at the moment).

Quote from: FurryNutz
Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing.
Never had any :)

Quote from: FurryNutz
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
During some of the troubleshooting above, I tried this also.

Quote from: FurryNutz
Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
Yeah, generally my cables are quite old, cat5 at best. Is this a question of shielding?


Thanks for the checklist!
Is it possible for the DLink to be "disturbed" by other WiFi networks? Something that might make it this flaky?
« Last Edit: February 24, 2012, 12:37:16 AM by tatsujin »
Logged

alien

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Unpredictibly unstable
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2012, 01:26:48 AM »

if your living in the eu, go to ftp.dlink.ru.

Use the following lin ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-655/Firmware/REV_A/
Choose DIR655A4_FW135WWB02.bin
 Fixes:
Release notes history.
========================================================================
V 1.35WW, build 02, 2011/09/15,
Checksum: 0x0433B478
Problems Resolved:
1. Base on v1.35WWb01beta release occicial version

V 1.35WW, build 01Beta, 2011/09/07,
Checksum: 0x0432C659
Problems Resolved:
1. Set Access Control rule more than 1, and then change LAN ip, Access Control rule can't edit and remove.

V 1.35WW, build 01, 2011/08/23,
Checksum: 0x043370CF
Problems Resolved:
1. Add Realtek patch fix auto negotiation for Singapore issue

V 1.34WW, build 15 Beta, 2011/01/21,
Checksum: 0x043349B8
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix PPTP/L2TP dont support FQDN in DHCP relay environment.

V 1.34WW, build 14 Beta, 2011/01/11,
Checksum: 0x04337CAD
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix PPTP/L2TP dont support FQDN.

V 1.34WW, build 13 Beta, 2011/01/06,
Checksum: 0x04347847
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix PPTP/L2TP dont support FQDN.

V 1.34WW, build 12 Beta, 2010/12/21,
Checksum: 0x0433EB8B
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix "CHAP only"/Always => PAP only/"On demand" or "Manual" will reboot when 3G Mode.
Step1. "Auto"/Always browser some website.
Step2. Change to "PAP only"/Always browser some website.
Setp3. Change to "CHAP only"/Always browser some website.
Setp4. Change to "PAP only"/"On demand" or "Manual" save and reboot.
Result : Router will reboot Continuously.

V 1.34WW, build 11 Beta, 2010/12/20,
Checksum: 0x0432AEF6
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix use www.speedtest.net test will reboot when 3G mode.

V 1.34WW, build 10 Beta, 2010/12/15,
Checksum: 0x0432E77F
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix DWM-152/156 A3 connection slow down and hard to access Internet website issue
Steps to Reproduce:
1.      After DWM-152 A3 connected to Internet, make sure Internet access without problem (via LAN PC)
2.      From LAN PC ping 8.8.8.8 ¡Vt  (check ping lost)
3.      From LAN PC browser Internet website (Example, www.yahoo.com.tw)

V 1.34WW, build 09 Beta, 2010/12/13,
Checksum: 0x04357B7C
Problems Resolved:
1. Fix v1.34wwb08beta with DWM-152/156 A3 connection issue

V 1.34WW, build 08 Beta, 2010/09/20,
Checksum:0x043294F8
1. Fixed bugs: DIR-655_A3_v1.34WWB02Beta-DIR-Static IP in dual access mode connection issue.

V 1.34WW, build 07 Beta, 2010/08/20,
Checksum: 0x043496AB
Problems Resolved:
1. Support 3G device DWM-156A3

V 1.34WW, build 02 Beta, 2010/06/02,
Checksum: 0x0432AAC3
Problems Resolved:
1. Russia PPTP disconnection

V 1.34WW, build 01, 2010/04/14
Checksum: 0x0433011E
Problems Resolved:
1. supporting 12/24 time format.
2. Internet Usage Meter Widget support(2^64).
3. Set/Get command of HNAP
4. DWM-152/156 v1.04 driver support
5. Supporting ·sURL, http://router.dlink.com

V 1.31WW, build 09 Beta, 2010/03/10,
Checksum: 0x0434A700
1. remove PPP server subnet route
2. PPP IOT with Cisco 1750
3. remove VPN server duplicate route in DualAccess mode.
4. remove debug message, for full speed test.
5. remove duplicate default route (RU PPP fail, causes lan can not access internet)
Bugs/Issues
    1. With Intel 5100, will fix asap. user may turn off wmm first.
    2. PPTP disconnection in high speed mode (test in Beeline/Corbina office, download/upload 90/60Mbps)
    3. L2TP disconnection in DLink RU office. Need double confirm...
    4. some duplicate routing entries (may be caused by multicast from wan physical interface..., need to check)
   
V 1.31WW, build 07 Beta, 2010/03/05,
Checksum: 0x04352616
1. remove PPP server subnet route
2. PPP IOT with Cisco 1750
3. remove VPN server duplicate route in DualAccess mode.
Bugs/Issues
    1. With Intel 5100, will fix asap. user may turn off wmm first.
    2. PPTP disconnection in high speed mode (test in Beeline/Corbina office, download/upload 90/60Mbps)
    3. L2TP disconnection in DLink RU office.   

V 1.31WW, build 04, 2010/02/27,
Checksum: 0x04334947
1. duplicate default route, causes PC can not access internet in dual access mode
Bugs/Issues
    1. With Intel 5100, will fix asap. user may turn off wmm first.
    2. duplicate routing entries in dual access mode
    3. PPTP IOT with Cisco 1750
    4. PPTP disconnection in high speed mode (test in Beeline office, download/upload 90/60Mbps)
   
V 1.31WW, build 03, 2010/02/22,
Checksum: 0x04359D13
1. FQDN server name for both Russia mode (pptp/l2tp) and pure dialup (pptp/l2tp)
2. HNAP: could not work...
Issue
    1. With Intel 5100, will fix asap. user may turn off wmm first.
   
V 1.31WW, build 02, 2010/02/12,
Checksum: 0x043399F9
1. add routing status page, creator could be "DHCP", dhcp 33/121.
2. check igmp report/leave
3. check 239.x.x.x multicast
4. IOT with Linux xl2tp server
Issue:
    1. FQDN for Russia mode (pptp/l2tp) only, not for pure dialup (pptp/l2tp)
    2. With Intel 5100, will fix asap. user may turn off wmm first.

V 1.31WW, build 01, 2010/02/11,
Checksum: 0x0434E7C6
1. change version to 1.31
2. remove debug in 1.30WW build 15 beta.

V 1.30WW, build 15 Beta, 2010/02/10,
Checksum: 0x0435E1F2
1. apply ppp/pptp patches from Ubicom, for Russia PPTP issues.

V 1.30WW, build 14 Beta, 2010/01/26,
Checksum: 0x0434F589
1. for test: dedicat buffer to response ppp lcp echo request

V 1.30WW, build 08 Beta, 2009/12/31,
Checksum: 0x043440DA
1. port forwarding: prevent x.x.x.0 address.

V 1.30WW build 06/07 beta, test in Russia env, in debugging mode.

V 1.30WW, build 05 Beta, 2009/11/24,
Checksum: 0x04360D3B
1. PPTP disconnected issue. (pass DLINK HQ Lab test, but need RU's customers to capture syslog).

V 1.30WW, build 04 Beta, 2009/10/16,
Checksum: 0x0435FF28
1. PPTP disconnected issue. (need RU office to test it).
   
V 1.30WW, build 03 Beta, 2009/10/12,
Checksum: 0x04358ED9
1. fix WoW on Mac OS
2. change ARP cache time to 610 seconds.
3. add dhcpc option 33
4. change NAT connection timeout
   ICMP: 8
   UDP: 70
   TCP short timeout: 40
   TCP last ack, Fin wait, close wait, reset close: 20
   TCP long timeout: 310

V 1.30WW, build 02, 2009/07/10,
Checksum: 0x0434ECBA
1. Fix PPPoE pass through problem.
2. 3G country and ISP list update.
3. Fix Time Zone-Newfoundland error in i18n,if set Newfoundland time zone,it should be GMT - 03:30.
4. Fix WEBUI "Firmware" page error.
Step 1 : Enable Remote Management in ADMIN page, and save settings
Step 2 : Then click "reboot later" button
Step 3 : Enable/Disable "Firmware Upgrade Notification Options" functoins, and save settings.
Step 4 : Then click "reboot later" button
result: Can't reboot later, and appear "Error on page" message.
5. Fixed upnp bug. The upnp port will be closed for a short time.
6. Fixed QRS issue, can't set up wireless setting.
7. Fixed Router DHCP IP range would be set 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.254 after running QRS.
8. Default disable CAPTCHA
9. Fixed 3G DWM-152/156 dial up behavior (quick mode)
10.Fixed 3G log have garbage characters.
11.Fixed Loss language box.
Step 1 : Restore factory default
Step 2 : Log in DUT WEB page
Step 3 : Close WEB page
Step 4 : OPEN DUT Log in WEB page
Step 5 : Loss Language box
12.Incorrect Language of "Warning Message"
Step 1 : Change Language
Step 2 : Set WAN type to "PPPoE".
Step 3 : Enter different Password into both "Password" and "Confirm Password" fields, the warning message will show in "English"
13. Fixed Using wireless client to configure Access Control rules,cause DUT reboot.

V 1.30WW, build 01, 2009/06/04,
Checksum: 0x04347B86
1. Add Advanced DNS.
2. Guest Zone disable SharePort support (USB spec v1.05)
3. XML Agent 1.08
4. Support DWM-152/156.
5. Update chklst.txt(add HW Ver and Channel list follow Chklst.txt Format for MP)
6. Fix When DCC set dns = 0.0.0.0,router don't force setting dns ip.
7. Update kcodes lib to support USB utility v0.97 for apple/mac.
8. Modify the turn from "Network USB" to "Shareport" in the option of "My USB Type is:"
9. Russia Dual Access Mode(Russia PPPoe©MRussia PPTP)non-support Advanced DNS.
10. Add primary and secondary DNS server GUI in 3G setting When Enable Advanced DNS server.
11. Add Graphical authentication and Default Disable CPATCHA.
12. Fix potential security leak with CAPTCHA.

V 1.21WW, build 11, 2008/12/30,
Checksum:0x0434149C
1. Fixed change the wan ip to different subnet,can not load before subnet of the configuration file

V 1.21WW, build 10, 2008/12/26,
Checksum:0x04338D07
1. Fixed sometime upload configuration fail, when static routing rule include WAN-PHY and WAN both.

V 1.21WW, build 09, 2008/12/25,
Checksum:0x04327189
1. Fixed configuration uploads fail, when configuration include Russia static routing rule.

V 1.21WW, build 08, 2008/12/15,
Checksum:0x043218A3
1. Fix 3G virtual server, set in port 80 and using chunghua telecom 114.x.x.x,connection fail
2. 3G MTU modify form 1400 to 1492

V 1.21WW, build 07, 2008/12/10,
Checksum:0x04333BC0
1. Fix configure routing table in WAN (Physical) port later , plug and configure 3G adapter will cause DUT reboot
2. Fix WCN ok and then remove USB , router reboot issue
3. Fix restore default can not reset router system time
4. When configure 3G adapter ,advanced/routing page don¡¦t configure again
5. Fix Press Disconnect buttion in status page,the DNS is not released
6. Fix Russia PPPoE setting different DNS ip address,but connection show the same DNS IP address

V 1.21WW, build 06, 2008/11/06,
Checksum:0x0433A83D
1. Fixed fail item notification
2. Fixed TSD-bug-2:When disable application rules,the UDP port still open

V 1.21WW, build 05, 2008/10/14,
Checksum:0x04322AF8
1. Fixed Bug when uploade configuration include wireless disable setting and apply the setting cause router reboot.

V 1.21WW, build 04, 2008/10/13,
Checksum:0x043605C7
1. Fix bug: The main wireless and guest zone can be set different schedule time.
   But the schedule of Guest Zone must be within the schedule of main WLAN.
2. Remove Enhanced IGMP Proxy GUI

V 1.21WW, build 03, 2008/10/07,
Checksum:0x04340C68
1. Fixed Setting Metric not 1 caused static routing fail in Russia Dual Access Mode.

V 1.21WW, build 02, 2008/10/06,
Checksum: 0x04344D1B
1. Fixed Bug Add route rule fail when 10.0.0.0 mask 255.0.0.0 gw 10.10.254.1 (gw and ip at same network segement).

V 1.21WW, build 01, 2008/10/02,
Checksum: 0x043505A6
1. PPPOE PPTP L2TP password default is ""
2. Fix when delete schedule rules ,wireless setting schedule don¡¦t back default value ¡§always¡¨
3. Supply kcodes USB utility v0.94
4. Fix grammar bug by changing to "Please set the Network USB Detection interval time, ..."
5. Add "Canada" and "USA" For 3G USB Adapter Country

V 1.20WW, build 15, 2008/09/17,
Checksum:0x0434C3DA
1. Fixed wireless setting access control rule cause wlan disconnect in A4 version.

V 1.20WW, build 14, 2008/09/16,
Checksum:0x0433DF71
1. Fixed D-LINK HQ report system will auto reboot when using WLAN client setting access control rule.

V 1.20WW, build 13, 2008/09/12,
Checksum: 0x0433F81C
1. Fixed D-LINK report Web filter fail bug.

V 1.20WW, build 12, 2008/09/08,
Checksum:  0x04341386
1. Fixed GUI issue : ï»?!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" in status page and IE browser.

V 1.20WW, build 11, 2008/09/05,
Checksum: 0x0434306A
1. Fixed D-LINK HQ Bug : When WAN Physical IP set to dynamic IP, DUT will measure WAN speed for QOS. But When WAN Physical IP set to static IP, DUT will NOT measure WAN speed for QOS.
   Fixed D-LINK HQ Bug : Both WAN Physical IP set to dynamic IP or static IP, after DUT reboot, it will not measure WAN speed for QOS

V 1.20WW, build 10, 2008/09/04,
Checksum: 0x04336D36
1. Fixed D-LINK HQ Bug, key tab can't change interface in route page.
   Fixed D-LINK HQ Bug, Multicast steam flooding when VLC client in WLAN site.
   Fixed D-LINK HQ Bug, WLAN client setting fail in access control rule.
   Fixed D-LINK HQ Bug, WPS LED is not correct.

V 1.20WW, build 09, 2008/09/04
Checksum: 0x043438E9
1. Fixed Russia Static PPPoE can't connection to Internet bug.

V 1.20WW, build 08, 2008/08/22,
Checksum: 0x0433faf6
1. Increase Max SSID and WPS for GuestZone function.

V 1.20WW, build 07, 2008/08/22,
Checksum: 0x04340c6d
1. Fixed DNS suffix name issue
   Fixed Status LED can't blink issue.
   Enable GuestZone function.

V 1.20WW, build 06, 2008/08/21,
Checksum: 0x0436af87
1. Fixed DNS suffix issue in Russia Dual Access.
   Fixed PPTP connection can't access internet when short DHCP lease time.
   Fixed Status LED can't blink
   Disable GuestZone function.

V 1.20WW, build 05, 2008/08/19,
Checksum: 0x04365760
1. Remove 5G in Wireless function.

V 1.20WW, build 04, 2008/08/12,
Checksum: 0x0436a780
1. Fixed Virtual Server rule can't active in PPTP.
   Fixed USB LED can't blink.

V 1.20WW, build 03, 2008/08/04,
Checksum: 0x0435d82a
1. Fixed PPTP connection fail when DMZ enable and PPTP server in Lansite.
   Enable Enhance IGMP Snooping function.
   Support Spain language this version.

V 1.20WW, build 02, 2008/07/29,
Checksum: 043554d1
1. Fixed Russia PPTP static DNS issue.

V 1.20WW, build 01, 2008/07/17,
Checksum: 04359f58
1. First version release.
Logged
First Router Draytek Vigor 2310N for performance an VPN

Backup routers Dlink Dir855, DIR 655
Backup router ASUS WL500GP Premium en WL500g with DDWRT.

tatsujin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Unpredictibly unstable
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 07:53:02 AM »

ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-655/Firmware/REV_A/DIR655A4_FW135WWB02.bin

It appears that the FW my DLink is currently running is already 1.35b02.

Another note, looking at my previously installed FWs, they are all named "A4". My DLink says "A5" on the bottom. Are there no FWs specific for A5 or is there no notable difference?
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 07:55:24 AM by tatsujin »
Logged

TG2001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Unpredictibly unstable
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2012, 03:14:40 AM »

I got similar case and fix with this method. My DIR-655 is revision A5 (sticker plate)  but firmware said it was A4 and I uploaded firmware to be  1.34EAb02 for a year without any problem.  This week I did upload firmware to be 1.35WW, then occasionally my devices  were  connect in WLAN without internet connection.  my family must  disconnect/connect their devices. I noticed that the router still connect to the modem and connect to ISP ( connection up time keep continue).  I did some investigate and knew that firmware WW is for worldwide (support Russia dual WAN) and EA is for East Asia. So I download a new firmware 1.35EAb02 to replace 1.35WW.  Now problem was closed. There may be some logic error in firmware to support dual WAN in a country which have not this function.
Logged
DIR-655 (wifi Router)
DCS-2121
DCS-942L
DCS-5030L
DNS-320
DAP-1360 (repeater mode)
DWA-140

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Unpredictibly unstable
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2012, 10:18:13 AM »

Just be aware that EA and WW are for those regions ans not meant for the NA region. Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting