• July 04, 2020, 06:17:02 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset  (Read 5392 times)

andrupchik

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« on: February 16, 2012, 07:49:31 AM »

Hello. I got this router about a year ago, set it up once and had no problem until now. Suddenly, my SSID is just "dlink", the security type is open (previously had the most secure WPA), and I'm not quite sure why. I believe I set up my original network settings through a CD that came with the box, but I can't find it anymore so I'm not sure how to navigate the more complex settings through the device webpage. So basically my question is, what should I do to make it secure again, and what caused the sudden reset?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2012, 08:04:03 AM »

Has some one hit the factory reset button on the back?

Is the Admin and Wireless settings have passwords set up? The admin and wireless SSID passwords should be different.

You can set up the router using the routers web page at 192.168.0.1

Setup/Wireless/Manual for the wireless settings.
Tools/Admin for the admin settings.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

andrupchik

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2012, 08:23:01 AM »

Has some one hit the factory reset button on the back?
I don't think so, but this seems like the best explanation.

Is the Admin and Wireless settings have passwords set up? The admin and wireless SSID passwords should be different.
I'm not sure. I actually figured out before your reply about the wireless setup wizard and I re-secured it (and I was able to logon as admin with the password I put in a year ago). But for some reason, the webpage stopped working and I can't access it anymore (just when I thought was done), so I can't answer that question at the moment.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2012, 08:28:05 AM »

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only.

Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

andrupchik

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2012, 08:47:41 AM »

I just turned off the power for a bit and restarted and it works again. I'm pretty sure there's no problem now. By the way, where would the factory reset be located? The router has been buried under a bunch of things for a long time, so nobody's physically accessed it for a long time (except the front of it and the LEDs were visible). When I turn the computer off, I also turn off the power source, so all the other devices get turned off as well (like the router), could that have caused it to revert to default by any chance?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48926
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2012, 09:25:02 AM »

there is a button in the back of the router, you actually need a paper clip or pen to press it in.

I recommend leaving the router plugged in and turned on always. Keep it on a power strip.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

smlunatick

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: DIR-632 All my settings mysteriously reset
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2012, 11:35:05 AM »

Are your "sure" that the new 'dlink' wireless network is off your router?   It is possib e that a neighbour has installed a router of their own.

Routers should not be "buried" under stuff.  Router can over heat.
Logged