• November 01, 2014, 03:59:08 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Properly setup QOS engine  (Read 1528 times)

sproket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Properly setup QOS engine
« on: January 30, 2012, 01:44:00 AM »

Right now it is enabled and set to auto so that gives me a measured uplink speed of 1024.

I thought rule of thumb is around 80% of your upload speed.

80% of my internet connection would be 3072 roughly during busy times of the evening for my neighborhood.

Sounds like I should take it off auto and set to 3072.

Does this sound correct?

Looks like router might only do 2048 uplink max though.

Thanks

my speedtest late at night

« Last Edit: January 30, 2012, 01:47:19 AM by sproket »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28209
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Properly setup QOS engine
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 07:19:05 AM »

Ya I turn QoS off on these units if your not doing any gaming or heavy traffic with multiple PCs or devices. QoS is more or less used if you have multiple devices online at the same time to ensure each devices gets a good share of bandwidth and makes sure one does hog it all up. These units have basic QOS options and don't have configurable options like other model routers. If your needs are limited and small you can be safe to turn it off or leave it as is if your not seeing any issues. Some routers the max manual uplink speed is 2048. If you have higher speeds, I would leave it at Auto.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sproket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Properly setup QOS engine
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2012, 11:18:09 AM »

OK thanks, we stream from 2 computers so this function could have value.

I will leave it as is but thanks for good info.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28209
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Properly setup QOS engine
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2012, 02:28:32 PM »

Sounds good. Let us know if you see any problems. Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sproket

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Properly setup QOS engine
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2012, 03:23:44 AM »

This router has been working great. Good purchase for $40 shipped.

and Great support :)

QoS at 2048 btw
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28209
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Properly setup QOS engine
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2012, 06:55:54 AM »

Kewl man. I would recommend that you save off the routers configuration to file so if you have to do a factory reset, you can just reload. Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting