+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Xtreme N (Platinum Products)» DIR-655 » "Unknown" in Network Map
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Unknown" in Network Map  (Read 4193 times)
vega
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« on: January 23, 2012, 02:43:49 PM »

when using Windows 7 network map, there is a "Unknown" with a question mark on the map between my wired pc and the router.

has anyone seen this? anyone know what it is and how to fix it?

thanks


Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27061


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 02:57:48 PM »

Does the router have a name given on the routers web page under Setup/networking?

What OS version are you using on your PC?
Some things to try:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
vega
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 03:46:33 PM »

thanks for the reply FurryNutz

Yes the router has been named.
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1
All network devices have static IP addresses set
QOS is off
Advanced DNS is off
DNS relay is on
Endpoint is set
UPnP and Multicast are on

I have attached a picture


Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27061


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 06:40:31 PM »

Hmmm, never seen this. Any other devices between the router and your PCs?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
vega
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2012, 07:26:38 PM »

no other devices. It looks like the router is being identified in 2 parts, the bridge and the router. there is no info available from the unknown. I have disconnected all devices, leaving just the pc, Vega, and the router and the map still shows the unknown entity.

Another oddity I have seen with this router, if the wireless broadcast is made invisible, the wireless pc's then see the SSID and "Other Network" in the available connections. I can connect to either, they are one and the same.

Tech support says both these are nothing to be concerned about, but had no explanation as to why these have appeared after 2 years without. I know its not a windows issue, I put spare drives in the pc and loaded a fresh install of windows, with the same result.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2012, 07:30:38 PM by vega » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27061


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2012, 10:36:37 PM »

Ok, well nothing to worry about then. If the router is working well, enjoy.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
davevt31
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1251



« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2012, 11:56:35 PM »

I think the Unknown is due to the static IPs, I bet if you change to reserved DHCP addresses from the router that the unknown object will probably disappear.
Logged

vega
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2012, 06:21:32 AM »

I think the Unknown is due to the static IPs, I bet if you change to reserved DHCP addresses from the router that the unknown object will probably disappear.

I gave your suggestion a try, the unknown device persists. I also tried disabling the DHCP server without success.

This could be something with Windows 7 not identifying a part of the router correctly, but I find it odd that it took more than 2 years for this to appear, and a clean install of windows shows the same unknown device. Maybe this has something to do with IPV6 starting to show on the web, and from some IP's. Ipconfig /all shows the new naming for my ISP. I didn't think my 655 revA supported IPv6, my nic's do.

thanks for everybody's input. if anyone has another suggestion please let me know.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27061


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2012, 06:52:42 AM »

I have Windows 7 however have a Rev B router. I don't see this.
I would try maybe turning off IPv6 on the PCs NIC network settings. Theres a check mark that you can remove under properties and then save settings. Might help. Rev A routers don't and won't support IPv6.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
slpip
Guest
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2012, 12:02:53 PM »

I have an "unkown" on my DIR-655/635 too.  There is a mac ID next to it.  You can check your devices for the same mac ID.
Logged
vega
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2012, 12:30:39 PM »

I have an "unkown" on my DIR-655/635 too.  There is a mac ID next to it.  You can check your devices for the same mac ID.

are you looking at available connections? or the network map? on the network map the unknown entity has no other information available. if you are referring to the other network in the wireless list, turning the broadcast on eliminates it.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.