• February 25, 2021, 12:44:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb  (Read 6007 times)

gwiley

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« on: February 18, 2011, 10:43:11 PM »

All my network cards seem to only connect to this unit at 54Mb.  It is set up as a repeater, I'm thinking that is correct, as I have a Belkin N+ AP in another room.  Is there some setting that is causing it to only connect at 54Mb?  I have two other devices that connect to it at 'g' speeds, three others with 'n' cards.  The 'n' cards are only connecting at 54Mb.

Any ideas?  It's working great otherwise...
Logged

Guyon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 07:39:22 AM »

I have a DAP-1360, and it does not work well at all, it drops all the time...

However, have you tried setting is to only wireless n or only wireless n and g, that might solve it.
Logged

richard_f

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2011, 08:35:04 AM »

I'm having the same issue.  I was able to get it up to 63 mbps by changing the cipher from TKIP to AES.
Logged

holsten

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2012, 03:25:07 AM »

Hi everyone
have recently received a DAP-1360 by myself and having it run now as a repeater together with a DIR-685. If I have my network analyzed by inSSIDer I can see two wireless networks (with the same SSID) one coming from the router and one form the repeater (I did not have the time yet to align the MAC addresses). From theses data it is quite obvious that the "max Rate" of the DAP-1360 is at 54 Mbps whereas the "max Rate" from the DIR-685 is at 150 Mbps. This means I nicely expanded my network in terms of signal strength; however, the bandwidth from the repeater is insufficient (can not even stream a 720p movie, which without the repeater occasionally worked). I could not change it by switching the DAP-1360 to "n mode only".
The strange part is that the DAP-1360 is everywhere advertised as specified for 802.11n; however, when I had a closer look on the box my AP came with I found this little tag on it:



Does anyone of you guys have the same one?
My theory would be that from the hardware the DIR-1360 is capable of providing the performance according to the n-draft; however, if you purchase that device in certain regions, the firmware won't allow it for what ever regulatory reasons. I could not ask this question to the d-link support yet, but I will do soon.

@richard_f: I guess your (temporarily?) 63 mbps could be the signal from your DIR-825. I also have that from time to time when my client "jumps" on the broadcast of my DIR-685. Or the limitation does not happen in AP-mode and my conspiracy theory is entirely wrong.

Could you guys quickly check your box for the tag and/or check your network with the inSSIDer http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/ and post the results here?

Cheers, holsten
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49521
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2012, 08:33:09 AM »

This could be a region thing, I notice that the specs on the D-Link NA site report:
   IEEE 802.11n
   IEEE 802.11g
   IEEE 802.3u

Now the D-Link UK site reports:
802.11n (draft) wireless LAN
802.11g wireless LAN
802.11b wireless LAN
802.3/802.3u 10BASE-T/100BASE-TX Ethernet
ANSI/IEEE 802.3 NWay autonegotiation

What region of the world are you in?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

holsten

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2012, 01:21:28 PM »

OK, I solved the problem for me!!! and I really liked my conspiracy theory...
And that is what I did:
First I flashed the newest firmware on my AP (in repeater mode). Since I have B1 version I could upgrade from 2.10 to DAP-1360_fw_Rev-B1_v2.11B23_nml. (Do not know what's the status for A1) The upgrading went a bit oddly and it looked as I bricked my AP when I was following the instructions from D-Link for upgrading. However, when I used the "Quick Start" from the installation CD (that one that had to be done initially to activate the AP) my AP was back and had the new fw on board. The settings I exchanged via WSP with my DIR-685 router (Basically, just sets everywhere the same values for SSID, Decrypting, Password,...). Do be honest I do not know if the upgrade was necessary, but it gave me the most important hint, but I will come to that a bit later.
After the upgrade I checked the network again with inSSIDer and again I found one from my router with a Max Rate of 150 Mps and one from the AP with a Max Rate of 54 Mps, damn  >:(
I went back to the AP and set it on "n-Modus only" and than a failure message came (which was not the case with the old fw) that "n-Modus only" is not possible with WEP or TKIP cipher. So I set both, my router and my AP to AES. After I had reconnected my client to the wireless network and checked with inSSIDer I finally had a Max Rate of 144 Mps for my repeater signal. As a consequence on my client the speed went up to 72 Mps and the signal was still strong  ;D
I will have the system running for a while and see how it will perform or if I now experience similar connecting issues as richard_f.

Sorry again for the misleading...

P.S. I do not know if it matters, but on my router I have set the wireless channel manually.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49521
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1360 connects @ 54Mb
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2012, 01:41:29 PM »

FYI, TPIK isn't supported on any devices running single mode N, only AES is supported for this mode. Mixed G and N supports TPIK and AES.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.