• September 19, 2020, 09:05:18 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?  (Read 17270 times)

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2012, 11:45:41 AM »

It was ON, I was just seeing how how effective the tool was at exploiting the vulnerability to get the WPS PIN.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2012, 01:16:07 PM »

Can you test and see if it gets the PIN while WPS is OFF?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2012, 03:41:45 PM »

I tested my DIR-655 with WPS off and I can confirm that WPS is truly disabled :)
« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 03:54:01 PM by nicknml »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #18 on: January 12, 2012, 03:55:05 PM »

Kewl, thanks for the info.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #19 on: January 12, 2012, 05:47:49 PM »

Do you think Dlink will fix this issue by implementing a lockout after a certain amount of failed attempts (and most likely disable WPS by default) in the next firmware version? 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2012, 06:57:35 PM »

This is not D-Links issue perse, it's a protocol issue with the main standard for this protocol. Those who developed this protocol will have to address this as this protocol is in use by most of not all WiFi Mfrs. Once it's been addresses at that level, the Mfrs will implement it into there code, products needing the fix, test and release FW. It's up to the people who developed or maintain the protocol to figure out what there doing to do with it. Who knows what they do and if they even tell the public how they fix it.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #21 on: January 13, 2012, 04:26:28 AM »

This is not D-Links issue perse, it's a protocol issue with the main standard for this protocol. Those who developed this protocol will have to address this as this protocol is in use by most of not all WiFi Mfrs. Once it's been addresses at that level, the Mfrs will implement it into there code, products needing the fix, test and release FW. It's up to the people who developed or maintain the protocol to figure out what there doing to do with it. Who knows what they do and if they even tell the public how they fix it.  ::)

True, however I do believe the protocol does allow for lockout periods (a few router manufacturers have implemented this.)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #22 on: January 13, 2012, 06:37:57 AM »

Time will tell. I'm sure what ever they come up with, should fix the problem, however who know when someone else will find a work around.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

spoutinwyze

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #23 on: October 24, 2014, 04:45:36 PM »

Do you think Dlink will fix this issue by implementing a lockout after a certain amount of failed attempts (and most likely disable WPS by default) in the next firmware version?
Interestingly enough I tried RFA and keep getting "Detected AP rate limting, waiting 60 seconds."
I logged into my router and found that the WPS is enabled and configured, but WPS pin method is disabled. It seems contradictory, is it enabled or disabled? I looked closer and my log and saw the pin attempts first came through about 5-6 of them before the AP error came up. I thought maybe it auto locked the WPS feature after some failed attempts. I couldn't find anything that explained the screen I saw that contradicts itself. I took a screen shot but won't let me attach
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49186
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Has anyone verified that WPS disabled is really disabled?
« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2014, 05:02:53 PM »

What model router do you have?

What FW version is currently loaded?

We recommend disabling WPS completely if your not using it. We recommend using SSID and PW for WiFi access for your wireless devices.

Do you think Dlink will fix this issue by implementing a lockout after a certain amount of failed attempts (and most likely disable WPS by default) in the next firmware version?
Interestingly enough I tried RFA and keep getting "Detected AP rate limting, waiting 60 seconds."
I logged into my router and found that the WPS is enabled and configured, but WPS pin method is disabled. It seems contradictory, is it enabled or disabled? I looked closer and my log and saw the pin attempts first came through about 5-6 of them before the AP error came up. I thought maybe it auto locked the WPS feature after some failed attempts. I couldn't find anything that explained the screen I saw that contradicts itself. I took a screen shot but won't let me attach
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: 1 [2]