• August 13, 2020, 05:50:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: D-Link DIR-655 (RevB1, Firm 2.11NA) reboots spontaenously every 60-120 mins  (Read 5420 times)

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

I have a D-Link DIR-655 (Rev B1, Firmward 2.11NA) Router attached to a Motorola Surfboard SB6141 modem on Comcast Cable. This setup has been incredibly stable since I set it up in late June. Earlier this week  the router began spontaneously rebooting. Power light goes from blue->orange, and the router boots up as if it had been manually power cycled. This happens every 60-120 minutes (randomly). I'm fairly certain that the issue is at the router as the configuration page for the Surfboard modem shows it has been connected since I last manually power cycled it. I have tried factory reset-ing the DIR-655 twice, and I am still running into the same issue. Currently I live in a large apartment complex with over 2 dozen other wireless networks visible, but this has not been an issue (I had no connection issues for 5 months until now).

What wireless modes are you using?
Mixed G and N

What security mode are you using?
Auto WPA/WPA2

Whatwireless devices do you have connected?
2 notebook pcs, 1 android phone, 1 iPhone, 1 chromecast, 1 roku, 1 desktop PC (connected to router by ethernet cable)

Any cordless house phones?
No

Any other WiFi routers in the area?
Yes, several dozen. I have tried setting router to auto-select channel and have tried manually setting it to the least congested channel using inSSIDer

What ISP Service do you have?
Comcast, cable broadband

Modem Model:
Motorola Surfboard SB6141

Other info: QoS Engine disabled, Automatic Upload Speed check disabled, Traffic Shaping disabled, WISH disabled, No port forwarding.

I'm completely stumped at this point, and more than a little bit frustrated  ???
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Link>Welcome!

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process


Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy

IF you have many other nieghboring WiFi around, possible that the router is encountering WiFi interference and it's rebooting to try to find a clear channel to use. Since it can't, it keeps trying.

  • Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.


Any other WiFi routers in the area?
Yes, several dozen. I have tried setting router to auto-select channel and have tried manually setting it to the least congested channel using inSSIDer
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7


  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process

Yes: firmware was updated by factory reseting device->updating firmware over wired connection->performing another factory reset->manually configuring router.

Quote
Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

I will give this a try and report back...


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

Changed wireless power to medium...router rebooted again after ~55 mins. Will try setting wireless power to low I guess.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Can you post a screen capture of your neighboring WiFi using InSSIDer?

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

http://i.imgur.com/yWC16cx.png
There are considerably more networks listed, mine is DLINK517. I can also upload a copy of the log from the router if that would help.



Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

Lordy lordy. Ya, thats a problem sir.  :o

I'm going to recommend that you migrate to 5Ghz, either install a new dual band router or keep the 655 going and add a wire connected 5Ghz wireless AP and migrate and upgrade as many devices as you can to the 5Ghz radio. Also use wired LAN connections as well. The use of Power Line adapters for remote PCs maybe needed as well if you can't direct connect with LAN cables.

DAP-1525, 1533, 1520 and 1650 are some models you could connect up for 5Ghz support.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 11:29:04 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7

Lordy lordy. Ya, thats a problem sir.  :o

I'm going to recommend that you migrate to 5Ghz, either install a new dual band router or keep the 655 going and add a wire connected 5Ghz wireless AP and migrate and upgrade as many devices as you can to the 5Ghz radio. Also use wired LAN connections as well. The use of Power Line adapters for remote PCs maybe needed as well if you can't direct connect with LAN cables.

DAP-1525, 1533, 1520 and 1650 are some models you could connect up for 5Ghz support.

That's a long-term solution I'm going to consider, but for now I'm stumped as to why this problem would've cropped up just now when the device has been stable for 5 months at this location (and for 8 months at my previous apartment before that). It is a refurb purchased from Newegg in 2013, I guess it's possible the thing is just ****ping out?

edit: Seems like it's happening almost exactly every hour now 12:44 pm -> 1:44 pm was when the last reboot happened.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 11:46:42 AM by jpgray »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting

May have been the introduction of new WiFi neighbors and this may have put the router over it's threshold and now it's having problems handling all the interferences.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: D-Link DIR-655 (RevB1, Firm 2.11NA) reboots spontaenously every 60-120 mins
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2014, 12:55:17 PM »



So I found out that apparently Comcast has been in the process of rolling out increases in down + up speeds in my area (Houston). I did a speed test and it does look like my d/u speeds have gone from 50/6 to 105/12. Could it be that my DIR-655 can't handle these new speeds and is crashing/booting when my up rate goes too high?

Anyway I tried turning on traffic shaping, turning off Automatic Upload Speed and Enable QOS engine, then set the manual uplink speed to 2048 kbps. Router has been on for nearly an hour without reboots (though there was a hiccup in my connection at 2:44 which lined up oddly with the reboots that happened at 1:44 and 12:44...). No idea what's going on, my best guess is that it's just a 1.5 yr old refurb router that's on its last legs. Going to try and keep it limping along for few weeks and look at black friday deals on a new simultaneous 5Ghz/2.4GHz router
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link DIR-655 (RevB1, Firm 2.11NA) reboots spontaenously every 60-120 mins
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2014, 01:06:16 PM »

Yes, the older generation routers have a soft cap on the uplink of 2Mb.

If i can get ahold of one person, I'll see if we can adjust the FW to disable the soft cap...I sent a message however he hasn't responded. I'll check again. He was going to do a mod on the 655 after he did the mod on the 827 and 857 routers a while back. This isn't D-Link approved.  :-\

The router is still good, just needs to be on a ISP with uplink no faster than 2Mb is all or if we can do the mod. I'll ask D-link if they will officially change it however I don't think they will since Rev C router that came out which doesn't have this limitation.  ::) That combined with the Wifi congestion in your area on 2.4Ghz maybe the cause of what is going on. If your not needing QoS, disable it for now and the speed should not be a problem any more.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

jpgray

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: D-Link DIR-655 (RevB1, Firm 2.11NA) reboots spontaenously every 60-120 mins
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2014, 01:26:29 PM »

Thanks a bunch for the help and the prompt/friendly responses! I really appreciate it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49062
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: D-Link DIR-655 (RevB1, Firm 2.11NA) reboots spontaenously every 60-120 mins
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2014, 01:26:54 PM »

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!