• January 27, 2020, 04:42:41 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-632 DHCP keeps trying to start  (Read 4675 times)

Worldinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-632 DHCP keeps trying to start
« on: December 22, 2011, 08:17:31 AM »

Model: DIR-632
HW version: A1
FW: 1.01NA

We use it as an acces point, with the LAN cable plugged in port 1 and without using the WAN port at all. We disabled the DHCP server since we have one on the network already. The WAN config is a fictive static IP address. The log keeps showing the DHCP server starting, even though it's disabled. Here's the exact log entry:


Nov 24 15:19:58  device_lan_ip= , device_lan_subnet_mask= 
Nov 24 15:19:58  DHCP server start. 
Nov 24 15:19:47  device_lan_ip= , device_lan_subnet_mask= 
Nov 24 15:19:47  DHCP server start. 
Nov 24 15:19:36  device_lan_ip= , device_lan_subnet_mask= 
Nov 24 15:19:36  DHCP server start. 

And it happens every 10 seconds like that as soon as the router starts. Does anyone know how to completely disable the DHCP server on it or how to make it stop trying to start it?
Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48240
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 DHCP keeps trying to start
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 11:44:47 AM »

Is the 635 working in AP mode?
I would disregard this message. Probably nothing you can do to effect the logs from reporting this.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Worldinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-632 DHCP keeps trying to start
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2011, 06:50:04 AM »

I don't want to disregard it because we have another problem right now and i think it's related somehow. Randomly (no discernable pattern), we will stop being able to ping it's LAN IP address. We changed everything around the router and it's definetly linked to itself. The DHCP errors are the only abnormal thing i could find. Does anybody know if it could or not be the source of this problem?

BTW, i do not know how to switch it to AP mode. Can you tell me how i would do that with that router (DIR-632, not 635)?
Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48240
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-632 DHCP keeps trying to start
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2011, 09:19:21 AM »

Need to give us a bit more detail on the root cause of the problem here. How is your network set up? What devices do you have connected? Wired and wireless?

These routers don't have an actual AP mode, I referenced this since you have this one running on a pseudo AP mode by turning off DHCP and only using the LAN ports on the back.
Review this and make sure everything on the 632 is turned off including stuff like SPI, Filtering etc.:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0

These routers are really meant for running in an AP kind of mode. There designed as routers for hosting network services.

Let us know what you have going and will see if we can get you more help.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 06:51:17 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting