• October 19, 2020, 09:35:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Just got my 655 today....  (Read 16923 times)

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Just got my 655 today....
« on: December 26, 2011, 04:49:01 PM »

Hey all first time poster with a noobie question.  Since setting this router up today I can't get onto any servers in MW3 (ps3), and it's giving me a "strict" nat type.  I've made sure upnp was enabled and put the ps3 into a dmz, but that hasn't helped anything.  I hope someone here with more knowledge could help me out.

Thanks in advance :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 05:58:21 PM »

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

Please review the PSN gaming and gamefuel sticky over on the DGL-4500 forum

Some things to try:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 06:18:44 PM »

Thank you for the reply.....that is a lot to take in :)
Hardware version:  B1
Firmware version:  2.0
Cable w/motorola sb5101n modem

The thing that gets me is it was fine this morning on my old DI-524.....I swapped them out and my nat type is messed in game.  I'm getting way faster speeds in the console tester, but can't get any servers.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 06:21:53 PM »

Need to set up QOS rules for PSN and ports that you use for playing games on these routers. They are more complicated then older routers, they are good routers, just need some configuration and you'll be ok.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2011, 06:45:40 PM »

thanks again....just a lil too much holiday stress and not being able to game :).  So just make the setting changes you listed and i'll be fine?  I'm so lost in the router settings it isn't funny lol
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2011, 06:58:05 PM »

you should be if you can follow the ports listed. I know the UI is different however the port numbers for PSN are the same and inputing them in to QoS about the same as Gamefuel. They both do the same thing.

Just reserve the IP address of your PSN first, then set up the QoS rule.

Let us know and well help you out on it if you need.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2011, 07:58:01 PM »

well I tried following the steps in your link for the 4500 and messed up my internet connection totally lol.  had to reset the modem and start from scratch.....tis the season lol.  I tried after the reset with no protection on and still was getting a strict nat type in mw3.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2011, 07:59:31 PM »

Can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if you like.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2011, 08:09:00 PM »

sure just took a quick glance at it so not to sure how it works.....would greatly apprciate it :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2011, 08:09:28 PM »

send me a PM with the ID and PW for the remote user.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2011, 08:13:21 PM »

sent....
Logged

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2011, 10:08:41 PM »

first off thanks again for your help....well I tried a couple ps3 speed tests after and noticed the d/l speeds low like you said.  so I decided to reboot the computer to see if that would help and it brought the speeds back up to the 4.5-4.6 range again, but once I went into the game it was back to strict nat setting :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #12 on: December 26, 2011, 10:10:03 PM »

Ya, think we need to set more detailed QoS settings. Probably need to use the Port Forwarding too. I wish PSN didn't use so many ports. Oy vay.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nucl3arboNg

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #13 on: December 26, 2011, 10:39:10 PM »

i'll make a list of all the ports they say for ps3 net and mw3
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49269
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Just got my 655 today....
« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2011, 10:40:14 PM »

Ok...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2 3 4