• March 30, 2020, 04:16:41 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: AOL (AIM) and Router  (Read 5967 times)

JustinJustin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
AOL (AIM) and Router
« on: November 26, 2011, 09:24:30 PM »

OK, it seems so far that everything other than AIM works out of the box with this router but within 5mins time AIM disconnects. I have tried the application filter and port forwarding but nothing seems to work. Anyone have any tips/fixes?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48514
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 01:26:23 PM »

What hardware version is this router?
What firmware version is loaded?

What OS platform are you using?
How are you connecting? Wired or wireless?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JustinJustin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 02:43:13 PM »

A1
1.02NA
Win7
Wired
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48514
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2011, 02:49:50 PM »

There shouldn't be anything needed to make AIM work. Does Yahoo or MSN work?
Try the following:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can copy and paste these from under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.



Might try and do FW update if there is one available if the above doesn't work.
Use the following process to do the update:
Factory reset.
Update using the .bin file.
Factory reset once more.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JustinJustin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2011, 10:26:06 PM »

I don't use AIM is the only instant msg'er I use.
I have done everything you said and the issue still happens. There is not new ver of the firmwire.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48514
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2011, 10:49:41 PM »

Whos is your ISP service? Cable or DSL?
What make and model is the ISP Modem?

Maybe someone can review your router settings using Teamviewer.com with you.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2011, 10:52:44 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JustinJustin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2011, 11:04:01 PM »

Thanks for all the help but I think I will just return the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48514
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2011, 11:07:00 PM »

Ok.
This maybe related to your ISP modem configuration too.
Try a different model, I know the DGL-4500, DIR 825, DIR-655 and 657 work.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

JustinJustin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2011, 11:43:24 PM »

All right well I'll give ya some more info.

ISP:RoadRunner
Type:Cable
Modem:Suferboard
Model:SB4200

The modem as far as being on my end has never had it's settings messed with. Didnt even know that was possible since it's the ISPs modem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48514
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: AOL (AIM) and Router
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2011, 07:21:17 AM »

Ok, having some more info does help is try to make better suggestions for you. Have seen some issues with RoadRunner ISPs before.

That modem is pretty basic and shouldn't need any configuration. I use a SB6121 however I'm on a different cable system. What speeds up and down do you pay for?

Let me ask you this? If you bypass the modem, does AIM work with out disconnecting?
What PC Platform are you using Windows or Mac? What OS version?

Maybe you might be interested in having someone review your routers settings with you. Might help.

Let us know.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!