• December 13, 2019, 07:26:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Probably a stupid question or two  (Read 11607 times)

ulty_dude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Probably a stupid question or two
« on: November 23, 2011, 03:43:10 AM »

1. I see two networks, one the one I set up and name and another "d-link media" why is that?

2. Do I have to connect hardrive to USB port to share on network or can I share if plugged into my computer.

3. Do I have to port forward or open ports or anything for my PS3 to work it its wired connection? It seems to be working fine so don't think so, also have a Denon -RCD-7 network receiver but can't get sounds but will recognize network and connect to internet radio.

Thanks ! So far like it waaaay better than my 10 yr old piece of crap linksys.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Probably a stupid question or two
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 10:22:14 AM »

1. I see two networks, one the one I set up and name and another "d-link media" why is that?
This router is 2 radios and each one is probably set up out of the box for "dlink" and "d-link media". The 5Ghz radio handles media streams and can be used by your devices if they support the 5Ghz radio. These can be changed to a different SSID name and I recommend you do so. Can be anything, make it fun.

2. Do I have to connect hardrive to USB port to share on network or can I share if plugged into my computer.
You can plug the external HDD into the USB port however Share port needs to be installed on each PC that you want give access too. I prefer to connect my external HDDs to a PC that remains ON all the time, like my Server.

3. Do I have to port forward or open ports or anything for my PS3 to work it its wired connection? It seems to be working fine so don't think so, also have a Denon -RCD-7 network receiver but can't get sounds but will recognize network and connect to internet radio.
If your PS is working well and getting access to the PSN service and gaming is good then your ok. However should you add more then one or having some problems gaming then I would recommend using reserved IP addresses for you PS's and use QoS rules. There is some gaming stickys in the DGL-4500 forum regarding gaming and usage. Were in the process of updating the PSN sticky. I highly recommend reserving IP addresses on the router for ALL devices, helps to ensure each devices gets it's own IP address ever time and helps in troubleshooting too.

Thanks ! So far like it waaaay better than my 10 yr old piece of **** linksys.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ulty_dude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Probably a stupid question or two
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 08:19:30 PM »

Hey Furry, thanks for the help.  I tried to reserve the IP for each device but got a bit messed up and ended up resetting router and starting over and just left it.

I have PS3 on Gigabit wired.  Laptop and Playbook on 5GHz, and Denon RCD N-7 and iphones etc.. on 2.4GHZ. Wanted to get the Denon on the 5Ghz but it won't recognize it plus its only for streaming music.

Everything working well and speeds much improved from old router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Probably a stupid question or two
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2011, 12:59:55 PM »

Is the Denon 5Ghz supporting? If not then it might only see 2.4Ghz.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting