• October 22, 2014, 02:39:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.  (Read 5175 times)

jmindito

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« on: November 16, 2011, 09:13:19 PM »

Help please:

I just got a DIR-601 and would like to (ethernet wire) connect this to my current DSL
What I would like to do add in the DIR-601 to connect a WII console (wireless) and 2 laptops (1 wired and 1 wireless) for my kids.

Here are some detail of the current setup:

What HW version is your router? DIR-601
What FW version is currently loaded? How do I Check this?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? DSL
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router? This is a built in modem/router and 4 port switch, (I plug in the phone line into this unit and use a wireless laptop and wired desktop)
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Speed touch http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SpeedTouch

I did the following as per the manual:

• Disable UPnP™
• Disable DHCP

• Change the LAN IP address to an available address on your network. The LAN ports on the router cannot accept a DHCP address from your other router. This is a bit confusing for me. I changed IP to 192.168.0.50 and subnet mask to 255.255.255.0, saved and then could not access the DIR-601. Did a rest of the router and was able to get in with 192.168.0.1

How do I set WEP/WPA code for this new wireless setup?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2011, 07:09:50 AM »

I would be preferred to use the 601 as the host router and bridge the DSL modem and shut off it's internal router as the 601 has more features. Your setup if you want to keep the DSL router would be best suited by replacing the 601 router with a external switch and get a DAP-1525. Then connect everything to the switch.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jmindito

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2011, 08:20:35 AM »

I would be preferred to use the 601 as the host router and bridge the DSL modem and shut off it's internal router as the 601 has more features. Your setup if you want to keep the DSL router would be best suited by replacing the 601 router with a external switch and get a DAP-1525. Then connect everything to the switch.

Firstly, Thanks for you patience and advice.

The DSL modem was provided ISP and has the Telephone cable input, which the D Link 601 does not have (only LAN ports), so don't think the swap will not be possible.

BTW, I do have a LAN cable running from the DSL router but not up to where the Wii console is. This LAN cable has a cabled switch (not wifi) at the other end.

My intention was to connect the D link 601 to the Lan cable / Switch and extend the Wifi range? Can you recommend a more economical option? Will a range extender work?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2011, 09:24:46 AM »

Your setup if you want to keep the DSL router would be best suited by replacing the 601 router with a external switch and get a DAP-1525 (works as a extender too). Then connect everything to the switch.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jmindito

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2011, 10:35:24 AM »

Your setup if you want to keep the DSL router would be best suited by replacing the 601 router with a external switch and get a DAP-1525 (works as a extender too). Then connect everything to the switch.

Thanks for the advice.

Just for understanding purpose. what about your link http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=40856.0

Any logic to why the D link cannot be used this way?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2011, 10:41:33 AM »

Routers are just that routers, they are meant for this purpose of routing and handling traffic. This is what they are designed to so. Not using them in this capacity IMO is a waste of there features. Yes you can turn the router in to an AP if you wish. However you'll loose alot of the options routers offer. If your ok with that then kewl. DAP units are designed to work in this capacity as just that and AP and or a relay device and is better suited to provide wireless where wireless is needed more.

Can I ask what model is your SpeedTouch ISP modem?
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jmindito

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2011, 11:51:07 AM »


Can I ask what model is your SpeedTouch ISP modem?

Thomson ST585 V6

I really don't want to spend more money, that is the reason I am looking for an available option with D Link 601. Here the link : http://www.pipexuk.com/downloads/drivers/ST585v6_User_Guide_en.pdf

Thanks for your time
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2011, 12:01:08 PM »

By all means man...you can give the turn the router into an AP a go.
Be sure to use Single mode G or Mixed G and N if you have N supported devices. If you don't have any A or B mode devices then there is no reason to broadcast that.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jmindito

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2011, 12:13:27 PM »

By all means man...you can give the turn the router into an AP a go.
Be sure to use Single mode G or Mixed G and N if you have N supported devices. If you don't have any A or B mode devices then there is no reason to broadcast that.

Do you have any links for getting this done as a AP?

As I mentioned earlier, I was having a problem with the following:

• Change the LAN IP address to an available address on your network. The LAN ports on the router cannot accept a DHCP address from your other router. This is a bit confusing for me. I changed IP to 192.168.0.50 and subnet mask to 255.255.255.0, saved and then could not access the DIR-601. Did a rest of the router and was able to get in with 192.168.0.1

My router (speed touch) is set to DHCP. Must be doing doing something wrong?

Have no N devices so that is not a issue.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2011, 12:41:32 PM »

Can you add a reservation on the Modem for an IP address to assign to the 601?
Then you go into the 601's web page and change the IP address of the router under Setup/Networking/Router settings. Set the same IP address you reserved on the modem here. The subnet will be the same as was the Modem is using. The gateway needs to be the IP address of the modem, what ever your seeing as a Gateway IP address in windows.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

jmindito

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router.
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2011, 01:04:14 PM »

Can you add a reservation on the Modem for an IP address to assign to the 601?
Then you go into the 601's web page and change the IP address of the router under Setup/Networking/Router settings. Set the same IP address you reserved on the modem here. The subnet will be the same as was the Modem is using. The gateway needs to be the IP address of the modem, what ever your seeing as a Gateway IP address in windows.

Sorry about the delay in this, had to wait to get the User id & password from my ISP.

Connected the D Link to my Speed Touch router (provided by the ISP). Logged into the speed touch router and noticed that 192.168.1.6 was assigned to the D Link router. Check marked "Always use the same address:" logged out and disconnected the the D Link from Speed touch.

Connected D Link to Laptop and logged in and under Setup/internet/manual internet/My Internet Connection is : selected Static IP

Under
IP Address : 192.168.1.6   
Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0   
Default Gateway : 192.168.1.1 (speed touch IP)   
  
Primary & Secondary DNS : are per ISP

Test 1 (With the Cable):
Connected the D link to the router with a cable (Port 1) and a LAN cable from the D Link to my laptop (Port 4)
Tried the internet and it worked.

Test 2 (Without the Cable):
Removed the LAN Cable from D link to Laptop and from the laptop connected to D Link wireless. Was asked for WEP Key and after adding in that it worked.

Thanks FurryNutz for your patience and help. Sincerely appreciate it.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28183
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Help setup DIR-601 to another DSL router. (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2011, 01:24:04 PM »

Glad you got it working, Enjoy.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2012, 11:21:37 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting