Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Router drops wireless connection often  (Read 11367 times)
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« on: November 12, 2011, 01:57:29 PM »

Hi:

I have a brand new dir-655 of the B1 / 2.00NA version. It seems to keep a connection alive, but the wireless signal will suddenly and randomly disappear from all of my devices. I have reviewed this forum for hours and have made many changes to my settings, but nothing seems to keep the wireless signal from dropping.

Deleted the B mode, made sure the DNS entries were present, stick on one channel, etc.

There are no other routers here and all of my phones operate on the 5 Ghz frequencies.

I never, not even once in three years, had this problem with the A version of the same router, but now it's a constant problem at least once a day.  Nothing has changed by the router same brand and model but the newer hardware version.

The only remedy I have found is to reboot the router -- my devices will reconnect automatically once the router reboots, but there is no connection discovered once the connection drops regardless of how long the router sits doing its thing.

I've also notices that there are no wireless clients showing under status/wireless...they were there earlier today, but since the latest reboot, gone.

Very frustrating -- any suggestions?

Thank you.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2011, 02:04:01 PM by vadeltachi » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27026


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2011, 02:27:43 PM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.

What wireless modes are you using?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? WEP, WPA or WPA2? Preferred is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.


Any other WiFi routers in the area?
Turn off Short GI and WMM Enable under Advanced/Adv. Wireless.

Some other tips:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.

Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
nicknml
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 100


« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2011, 02:30:23 PM »

Also, update the firmware on your router to the latest version for HW version B1, 2.03NA (important note: only update firmware over a wired connection) and tell us if conditions improve.
Logged
Hard Harry
Level 8 Member
***
Posts: 1319



« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2011, 02:33:11 PM »

I wouldn't suggest updating firmware as your first step. That should be a last case scenario.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27026


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2011, 02:36:47 PM »

Yes, maybe other issues surrounding your wireless connection. Ya, it's been working up till this point. Might be other neighbors that have recently buy a wireless router as well. Some interference maybe going on.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2011, 02:50:21 PM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Comcast HSI
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?  Motorola Sufboard SB5120 Stand alone
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?  Motorola Sufboard SB5120 Stand alone
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems. Does not have a built-in router.

What wireless modes are you using? Mixed N and G
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? WEP, WPA or WPA2? Preferred is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES.
  WPA-Personal / WPA2-only/Auto TPIK and AES.

Any other WiFi routers in the area?  None.
Turn off Short GI and WMM Enable under Advanced/Adv. Wireless.  Done.

Some other tips:
Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual? You can find these under Status/Device Info/Wan section. Done.
Turn off ALL QoS (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. not sure how to do this...Advanced QOS?
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.  was off.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.  was on
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.  Done.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.  default
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.  not sure how to do this
Logged
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2011, 02:51:59 PM »

Yes, maybe other issues surrounding your wireless connection. Ya, it's been working up till this point. Might be other neighbors that have recently buy a wireless router as well. Some interference maybe going on.
nothing is showing up as available connections, and the old dir-655 still works fine when I swap it for the new one.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27026


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2011, 03:07:36 PM »

QoS is under Advanced/QoS,
Firewall is under Advanced/Firewall.

Try single mode G then single mode N to test and let us know if it exhibits the same problem.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2011, 03:12:41 PM »

QoS is under Advanced/QoS,
Firewall is under Advanced/Firewall.

Try single mode G then single mode N to test and let us know if it exhibits the same problem.
I can try that tomrrow, but I have G and N devices on my network.  How will I support them both?

Also, why are none of the wireless clients showing up in the status/wireless screen?

They were all there this morning.
Logged
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2011, 12:11:48 PM »

I can try that tomrrow, but I have G and N devices on my network.  How will I support them both?

Also, why are none of the wireless clients showing up in the status/wireless screen?

They were all there this morning.
I tried single-mode n and my iphone would not connect, but the PCs dropped after several hours.

I tried single-mode g; everything connected but the wirelss dropped after about two hours.

BTW -- turning OFF the "WMM Enable" option reduces my bandwidth from 24 megs to less than 1. I turned that back on, but left the "Short GI" off.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27026


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2011, 12:19:22 PM »

Do you have any wireless routers near by? You can use InSSIDer application to see if there are any around and what channels there using.

Some iPhones don't support N. Was curious if single modes are exhibiting the same issue.
I know this isn't a long term option, only for short term, can you test the wireless with out any security?
If your in a populated area then I guess you can skip this.

Are there any router log entries during this time frame when the connections go down?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2011, 12:48:41 PM »

Do you have any wireless routers near by? You can use InSSIDer application to see if there are any around and what channels there using.

Some iPhones don't support N. Was curious if single modes are exhibiting the same issue.
I know this isn't a long term option, only for short term, can you test the wireless with out any security?
If your in a populated area then I guess you can skip this.

Are there any router log entries during this time frame when the connections go down?

Found a bunch of -85 -95 or so dB wireless routers nearby but I have no idea what they may be.  I guess the neighbors?  I live in Fairfax County --- 1.2 million neighbors here.

What would I look for in the log entries for a downed connection?

could it be the router changing channels and the associated devices don't change with them?

I also don't see any 5 GHz routers at all --- maybe that's a better freq to use now?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27026


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2011, 01:30:50 PM »

It's possible that near by neighboring routers could be effecting the operation of yours. If there are many others near by, there all trying to get a open channel and it's possible that the more routers near by, the probability that the channels are getting used up. One guy over on the dir-855 forum is having this same issue. His area is congested with WiFi routers and no channels open and getting interference from onces on the same channel.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41071.0

Might look for any thing regarding associations or disconnections and stuff like that.

The disconnections you are probably seeing is that of the router experiencing interference and it's trying to change to a better channel for better signal for your device however interference keeps the router doing this ever so often.

This could be happening with your area. More and more now days people are buying wifi routers and those living in metro citys and apartment complexes are all trying to get online.  Undecided

5Ghz is still a specialized and not a popular band however it is used. Draw back is that not alot of devices like cell phones and iPads support 5Ghz, yet. Also 5Ghz is best in line of site with out a lot of walls, floors and doors in the way.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
vadeltachi
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2011, 01:48:49 PM »

It's possible that near by neighboring routers could be effecting the operation of yours. If there are many others near by, there all trying to get a open channel and it's possible that the more routers near by, the probability that the channels are getting used up. One guy over on the dir-855 forum is having this same issue. His area is congested with WiFi routers and no channels open and getting interference from onces on the same channel.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41071.0

Might look for any thing regarding associations or disconnections and stuff like that.

The disconnections you are probably seeing is that of the router experiencing interference and it's trying to change to a better channel for better signal for your device however interference keeps the router doing this ever so often.

This could be happening with your area. More and more now days people are buying wifi routers and those living in metro citys and apartment complexes are all trying to get online.  Undecided

5Ghz is still a specialized and not a popular band however it is used. Draw back is that not alot of devices like cell phones and iPads support 5Ghz, yet. Also 5Ghz is best in line of site with out a lot of walls, floors and doors in the way.

That all makes sense, but why would the "A" version of this very same router not have any of these issues?[/color]
Nothing about association in the logs, but this is there in all of them:

Nov 13 15:02:39 DIR-655 user.debug kernel: [  344.110000] jcp_command_register: new command registered EXEC SCANNER DISCONNECT

Even though I do not have the debug log option checked the logs are full of these types of codes..

Also, seems like it's not just me:

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=16432.15
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27026


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2011, 01:59:50 PM »

Whos to say the Rev A wouldn't. I don't know. Were not privy to the differences between Revs and most of that is DLink I.P. Somethings like UI features and IPv6 have been made public. What goes on behind the scenes is up to DLink.

Yours is Rev B right? I presume in most cases like this in a congested area, that any router could and possibly exhibit the same problems, Just comes down to how the routers are configured and how well the Mfrs developed them to handle situations like this. Over all, interference will play a major part in any electronic device.

I don't know the entire situation of the link you posted and could be similar situation or totally different. Many variables can contribute to router function and dis-function. Not saying routers are 100% at fault. Other issues help to contribute to the router to exhibit problems and make it seem like it's the routers fault, when it's not.

Any chance you can take your router to a friends house or family member and connect it up for a test? Need to see if you can isolate this problem and see if it tracks. Hopefully you have some where other that your place to test. One way to see if the router and work well else where or not.  Undecided

You could try the FW update however I don't think it would help in this case. My 2 cents.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2011, 02:04:23 PM by FurryNutz » Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.