• April 26, 2018, 04:15:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Poll

How are your DNS-320 hard drives configured?

Standard Volumes
- 25 (45.5%)
RAID 1
- 25 (45.5%)
RAID 0
- 1 (1.8%)
JBOD
- 4 (7.3%)

Total Members Voted: 55

Voting closed: November 09, 2011, 11:38:17 AM


Author Topic: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?  (Read 9744 times)

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« on: October 10, 2011, 09:49:23 AM »

How is your DNS-320 configured?
Voting will remain open for 30 days. Cast your vote today!  :)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 10:50:34 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - Cast Your Vote!
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2011, 05:04:03 AM »

Share your comments and thoughts on the poll results. :)
« Last Edit: October 11, 2011, 11:50:34 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

domovoy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - Cast Your Vote!
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2011, 02:07:21 PM »

I think most of us use Standard mode because of ease of data repair in case something happens with NAS hardware.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - Cast Your Vote!
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2011, 02:22:32 PM »

I think most of us use Standard mode because of ease of data repair in case something happens with NAS hardware.

I share the same philosophy. The simpler the solution, the less that can go wrong.  ;D
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - Cast Your Vote!
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 05:55:30 AM »

The poll closes in less than 20 days, so cast your vote today!
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

t121anf

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - Cast Your Vote!
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2011, 03:31:04 AM »

Raid 1 for me as i wanted a backup of the data and i doubt i'll ever need 4TB.

that said, i have since started using a windows sync program (allway sync) to sync the NAS to an external usb backup to be placed in a firesafe (paranoia alert) and may be tempted to use that to sync drive a with drive b
Logged

Teaser

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - Cast Your Vote!
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2011, 10:52:18 AM »

Standard for me... The device is primarily used for backup, and I've only got 1x 2TB and 1x 500GB in there at the moment anyway, so any kind of raid would be more than pointless!
Logged

mrcastle

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2011, 03:48:19 AM »

Im using RAID 1 in 2x2TB Samsung F4 disks.
I can say that Im a little disappointed because I did some tests for example, I remove the disk 2 and copy only 200MB to disk 1, that was clear without data. Then I put the disk 2 again and it took more than 2 yours to synchronize the disks!!
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2011, 07:48:14 PM »

The polls close in less than two days. Cast your vote!
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

airprox

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2011, 10:55:58 AM »

Standard for me, as the drives are used as a repository for all my media files to be shared over the network and are effectively a backup in themselves so don't need backing up again.
Logged

tigga

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2011, 03:41:30 PM »

I do standard then backup on a second nas.
I would do raid 0 but the drives are different sizes. 
I could go two volumes having the advantage of one being higher performance, but I don't think the pain warrants the gain for my configuration.

Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2011, 05:34:46 AM »

I do standard then backup on a second nas.
I would do raid 0 but the drives are different sizes. 
I could go two volumes having the advantage of one being higher performance, but I don't think the pain warrants the gain for my configuration.

Also, RAID 0 doesn't offer any backup protection. If one drive fails, you will lose 100% of your data with no recovery options.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

franksetank

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2011, 10:43:13 AM »

once a sata disk of mine got a lot of errors.
the data was corrupted.
no worry, i have an external disk.
plugged in and wanting to get the data (pics) back.
after 5 minutes i decided to take my notebook and lie on the bed.
the external disk was still connected and dropt from 5 feet high...bye bye backup.

i purchased 2x2tb wd and the pulse 320 in raid 1.
i have additional 2 external hdd's for backup on 2 places and 1 online back-up.

my pictures are the reason i want raid1.

i will use it as backup and additional mountable disk to stream media to mij macbook air.
and hopefully make time machine backups with an new firmware.

losing pictures is the worst that can happen digital ...
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • Poweruser
  • Level 15 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12157
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: DNS-320 - User Poll - How is Your DNS-320 Configured?
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2011, 11:39:59 AM »

The polls are closed!
Thanks for your participation.  :)
« Last Edit: November 10, 2011, 11:14:00 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC