• October 25, 2014, 12:38:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DDNS not working  (Read 5001 times)

sempervivo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
DDNS not working
« on: September 03, 2011, 07:53:07 AM »

Hi everybody,

I have a really big problem. Everythings works great except thee fact that my DIR-615 router (Hardware Version: H1     Firmware Version: 8.00) logs the following error :
[SYSTEM]: DDNS, error connecting to members.dyndns.org:80
regardless of what kind of ddns service I am using.

PLEASE HELP !!!

Thank you.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28194
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DDNS not working
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2011, 08:51:16 AM »

Check the name you set up again and check to make sure the PW is of correct length, there has been some issues with the PW being too long I think. Make sure you entered in the DDNS acct info correctly.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sempervivo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DDNS not working
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2011, 02:23:49 AM »

What do you mean by PW must be of "correct length". If it is accepted by the website, then it shouldn't be a problem for the router to connect to the ddns service either. Right ?
The login settings and the hostname are correct. What ca I do furthermore ?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28194
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: DDNS not working
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2011, 02:52:37 PM »

Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-868L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

sempervivo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DDNS not working
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2011, 03:11:41 PM »

Thank you but still no luck. I tried creating different account both for dlinkdns and dyndns services. I changed the passwords, I shortened the hostname but I still the same f....ing error:
 DDNS, error connecting to members.dyndns.org:80

Can someone please help me ? I really need it for my small business.
Logged

sempervivo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DDNS not working
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2011, 12:24:44 PM »

Nobody ? Please explain what are the minimal requirements in order for a ddns account to work ? Give me an example. Thank you.
Logged

karasho

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DDNS not working
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2011, 01:23:24 AM »

Same problem here. I read some posts about host and password length, but my password is 7 characters long and tried with a sort hostname and still doesn't work.
Before buying the router one of the features I checked in the box was dyndns support, so I'm really thinking about return it to the store.
Logged