• April 08, 2020, 08:53:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSM-520 with Control Point software?  (Read 5051 times)

estechco

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DSM-520 with Control Point software?
« on: February 12, 2009, 09:17:32 AM »

I'm trying to determine whether the DMA-520 media player is sufficiently DLNA/uPNP compliant that it will show up as a valid media renderer inside of control point software such as

LinnGUI - http://www.linn.co.uk/ds_software , or
KinskyPDA - http://oss.linn.co.uk/trac/wiki/KinskyPda , or
Rudeo - http://www.rudeo.com/playctrl.htm

I haven't yet purchased a DMA-520, needless to say, although I have already had a bad experience with a Buffalo Linktheater, and am keen to avoid a similar experience a second time. I would be extremely grateful if someone with one of these devices could spare 5-10 mins to confirm that this is indeed the case.

LinnGUI would be the quickest/easiest for you to use as it only requires you to have a PC rather than a WM based PDA, although I believe they all rely upon the same underlying technology i.e. uPnP AV 1.0. The link for KinskyPDA or this one, however, may help to explain what it is I am trying to achieve.

Cheers

DC
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DSM-520 with Control Point software?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 01:16:26 PM »

It works with the Control point in the D-Link Media Server software provided and I know it has been know to work with others out there used but I am not positive about the ones you suggest as I have not tried it. 
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

estechco

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DSM-520 with Control Point software?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 01:29:49 AM »

Without wanting to sound cynical, I'd be disappointed if it didn't work with DLink's own control software  ;)

Is this s/w accessible to someone (like me) without a device?

I'd really hoped to prove the point with a 3rd party product. www.cidero.com is another product that would reassure me enormousely if it worked.

I couldn't ask you to try either this or LinnGUI as a huge huge favour? Like I say it shouldn't take more than about 5 mins to prove.

Cheers
Logged

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DSM-520 with Control Point software?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 04:02:39 PM »

You can download it from the D-Link support website if that would help.

http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DSM-520

I believe I remember I used to use cidero in the past and it worked fine with the DSM-520 but I would have to verify to be sure with the latest firmware it has been a while but it should.

Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

estechco

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DSM-520 with Control Point software?
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2009, 09:36:42 AM »

I'm sorry to be a pain, but I wasn't totally convinced by the D-Link software. Could I ask you to re-run either the Cidero or better still the LinnGUI software just to prove a point?

I know it's a big ask, but your proving it definitely works is likely to save me a whole lot of grief if I were to otherwise buy a unit and need to return it.

Thanks (in anticipation)
Logged