• September 26, 2020, 09:06:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 2 TB Drive support?  (Read 11253 times)

pzy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
2 TB Drive support?
« on: January 26, 2009, 09:08:27 PM »

Thankfully D-Link recently released their interim firmware which FINALLY adds 1.5 TB drive support... just in time for 2 TB drives:

http://www.engadget.com/2009/01/26/western-digitals-2tb-caviar-green-hdd-on-sale-in-australia/

Is the new firmware "future-proof" or will we have to wait for yet another firmware cycle to upgrade to 2 TB drives in our boxes?
Logged

mk1184

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 12:40:26 AM »

 :D ... here we go again... :P
Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 348
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2009, 10:40:16 AM »

... was just thinking the same thing when I saw the Subject line  :D
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2009, 11:57:55 AM »

I am pretty sure the fix for the 1.5TB drives will also allow support for the 2TB drives from I have herd but don't quote me on that these drives are not even available yet so it has not been tested.

The issue with the 1.5TB drives was a scripting issue in the Web GUI not the software raid
« Last Edit: February 02, 2009, 02:54:04 PM by ECF »
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

historypsi

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2009, 08:20:47 PM »

So now that the 2TB drives are out in the wild and available via retailers. What's the status? Yay or nay?
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2009, 11:24:02 AM »

Does anybody have these drives I have not been able to purchase any yet.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

drdolittle

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2009, 09:08:28 PM »

I am pretty sure the fix for the 1.5TB drives will also allow support for the 2TB drives from I have herd but don't quote me on that these drives are not even available yet so it has not been tested.

The issue with the 1.5TB drives was a scripting issue in the Web GUI not the software raid

now that these drives are common, can we have some indication from d-link please if they will work or not???????? I don't want to blow money on 2TB drives to find I have to wait 6 months for firmware that will support them.

D.
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2009, 09:32:45 AM »

These drives are not common now I have not spoke with one person in position of these 2TB drives. So either they work great or nobody has been able to find them on the market yet.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

mig

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2009, 09:40:56 AM »

These drives are not common now I have not spoke with one person in position of these 2TB drives. So either they work great or nobody has been able to find them on the market yet.

For $300  you can get one shipped (free) to you today - limit 10 per customer
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136344
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2009, 11:03:44 AM »

Wow 300 bucks!! Well anybody have them yet?? Any issue. I haven't herd a peep from anyone regarding these drives.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2009, 11:11:13 AM »

Come on - $300 isn't that bad.

I can remember purchasing my first 300MB drive - it cost me $750, of course that was a long time ago, but, just this past week I was quoted $463 for an 18GB Ultra160 hotswap SCSI drive
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2009, 11:32:06 AM »

Yeah just seems kind of alot since the 1.5TB drives were released at such a low price seems high nowadays haha. Twice the money for just 500Gb more drive space seems a bit steep with the 1.5TB's so low.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

JAB

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2009, 01:27:07 PM »

Yeah just seems kind of alot since the 1.5TB drives were released at such a low price seems high nowadays haha. Twice the money for just 500Gb more drive space seems a bit steep with the 1.5TB's so low.

How do you upgrade from say 1.0 tb drives to 2.0 tb drives in a raid5 array?  Can you do it a drive at a time and let the raid5 array rebuild?  My guess is no.  It would work but at the end of the upgrade you would have all of the 2.0 tb drives utilizing only 50% of its capacity with no way to expand.

Anyone have an idea how to do this short of copying the entire contents off to another drive(s)?
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2009, 01:30:43 PM »

There is not expand feature on this device you would need to reformat the drives into a larger RAID5 Volume.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

Agent Smith

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 2 TB Drive support?
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2009, 01:46:24 PM »

Any updates on this?  I'm in the market to upgrade my DNS-343 from 4x 1TB WD GP drives to 4x 2TB WD GP drives but don't want to shell out $1200 if it's not supported yet.  It's now May, Best Buy down the street has a whole skid of these things, they're not uncommon or hard to find anymore...  thanks

EDIT:  I'm using JBOD on this box.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2009, 01:47:57 PM by Agent Smith »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2