• October 21, 2020, 06:00:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: No WAN connection with 1.05  (Read 7896 times)

barich

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
No WAN connection with 1.05
« on: August 20, 2007, 04:18:26 PM »

I have a DIR-655 which was largely working ok with firmware 1.04.  The only problem I was having was that if my cable went out, the router would constantly reboot until it came back, knocking all of my PCs off the local network for that time.  Luckily, my cable is pretty reliable, so this wasn't much of a problem.

However, with firmware 1.05, it won't get an IP from my cable modem at all.  I've tried power cycling the modem, resetting the router, toggling unicast DHCP on and off, and manually setting the WAN port speed to 10 and 100 Mbps.  Still nothing.  I have a Motorola SB5100 cable modem, if that makes a difference.
Logged

ddwinell

  • Guest
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2007, 04:36:26 PM »

Try power cycling the modem?
Logged

vnowo

  • Guest
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2007, 08:10:38 PM »

I had a similar problem with a SB5120 with 1.03, and 1.04 code. The 1.02 was OK.
I have a new modem now. SBV5220, and with 1.05 I have no problems with this modem. SunRocket went bust. So I had to change providers.
I would try 1.02 code and see what happens. Be careful going down.
I did not have any problems going up to 1.04 and then down to 1.02. with HW ver2 router.

I checked the WAN DHCP request with WireShark with the SB5120 and saw that the router was not requesting a IP Address. and the SB5120 did not provide the address.

Hope this helps.

Vic
Logged

barich

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2007, 09:43:40 AM »

Well, the older firmware works ok.  I really hope that this is fixed soon.
Logged

  • Codex Borgia
  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2007, 09:49:45 AM »

I had a similar problem with a SB5120 with 1.03, and 1.04 code. The 1.02 was OK.
I have a new modem now. SBV5220, and with 1.05 I have no problems with this modem. SunRocket went bust. So I had to change providers.
I would try 1.02 code and see what happens. Be careful going down.
I did not have any problems going up to 1.04 and then down to 1.02. with HW ver2 router.

I checked the WAN DHCP request with WireShark with the SB5120 and saw that the router was not requesting a IP Address. and the SB5120 did not provide the address.

Hope this helps.


Vic


Can I see your Wireshark Caps?
Logged
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

<script src="http://serverfault.com/users/flair/25583.js?theme=clean" type="text/javascript"></script>

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2007, 11:00:38 AM »

After you upgrade the firmware, you'll need to power cycle the modem for up to 15 minutes. After clone your MAC again and reconnect the power to the modem and enjoy.
Logged

  • Codex Borgia
  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2007, 10:49:04 AM »

After you upgrade the firmware, you'll need to power cycle the modem for up to 15 minutes. After clone your MAC again and reconnect the power to the modem and enjoy.


Agreed SB modem's need to be powered off for 5 minutes to clear the MAC address.   use a DCM-202 they rock and don't need to be reset. (and D-link will support it  ;))
Logged
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

<script src="http://serverfault.com/users/flair/25583.js?theme=clean" type="text/javascript"></script>

ddwinell

  • Guest
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2007, 11:35:22 AM »

I have an SB5120 at home and I only have to unplug it long enough for me to plug it right back in, no problems.

I'm also using a DGL-4100, but that shouldn't make any difference.
Logged

barich

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2007, 03:38:46 PM »

It doesn't matter how long I leave the modem unplugged.  The router will not get an IP with 1.05.  With 1.04 and below, it works fine.
Logged

  • Codex Borgia
  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2007, 10:56:56 AM »

It doesn't matter how long I leave the modem unplugged.  The router will not get an IP with 1.05.  With 1.04 and below, it works fine.

1.02 is King
Logged
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

<script src="http://serverfault.com/users/flair/25583.js?theme=clean" type="text/javascript"></script>

laltj

  • Guest
Re: No WAN connection with 1.05
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2007, 08:49:05 AM »

I have a DIR-655 which was largely working ok with firmware 1.04.  The only problem I was having was that if my cable went out, the router would constantly reboot until it came back, knocking all of my PCs off the local network for that time.  Luckily, my cable is pretty reliable, so this wasn't much of a problem.

However, with firmware 1.05, it won't get an IP from my cable modem at all.  I've tried power cycling the modem, resetting the router, toggling unicast DHCP on and off, and manually setting the WAN port speed to 10 and 100 Mbps.  Still nothing.  I have a Motorola SB5100 cable modem, if that makes a difference.

After Power cycling Did you get a Wan IP using 1.05 firmware ? If still no Wan IP, then you can try lowering MTU as well as different Wan select Speeds to see it helps.
Logged