• June 05, 2020, 03:07:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE  (Read 3176 times)

Mogorain

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« on: June 14, 2011, 06:48:36 PM »

Ok, so Furry may remember me regarding my old Time Warner setup and World of Warcraft -- which turned out to be faulty cables a couple blocks down.

Here's my new issue:  since I moved, I'm stuck with a seemingly subpar service known as Clear Internet. They profess to have "blazing fast speeds", but fall far short.  See here:



Anyway, my real issue is there seems to be a problem with my router and the modem they provided.  I repeatedly lose internet connection, and it tells me that the DNS has some issue.  Only way I've been able to fix it is to power cycle both the modem and router, and then tell Windows to repair my connection and it resets.  Otherwise, it won't repair.  I have Windows set to Automatically obtain the connection info, so there's no conflicting IPs or anything there, and the router is set to use Advanced DNS and has Unicasting checked.  I haven't looked into Unicast or Multicast and what they do, so I've left them as they were.  Any advice?
Logged

Mogorain

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 11:01:56 PM »

Nevermind... I did what I've wanted to do for a long time and launched my router toward the floor at record speed.  I feel much better.   Best of luck to you all.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2011, 07:01:09 AM »

Wow, Ya I remember.

Shame you could have fixed the issue. Oh well.
Good luck with Clear, I'll never use them.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Mogorain

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2011, 07:03:11 AM »

I hate Clear, but it's the only thing my apartment complex allows.  They have no cable wiring, so I can't use any of the cable internet providers.  Even the telephone providers don't offer high-speed in my area.  I'm in a freakin' forgotten zone of a city, I don't get it...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2011, 07:17:20 AM »

Not even DSL? That sucks. Might be time to move somewhere else man. Shame you crashed your router. Don't think that was the problem.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Mogorain

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2011, 07:24:04 AM »

Without the router, I seem to have internet perfectly.  I was getting the same issues I seemed to have been experiencing before I moved.  Constant loss of connection with DNS server being at fault.  Didn't matter what servers I tried (I called the internet company and asked what they said I should use, and I tried the Advanced DNS ones).

Trust me, I love these apartments except for the lack of any communication -- when my year lease is up, I'm gone.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48822
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2011, 07:45:44 AM »

Well could have some some troubleshooting to see weather or not we could have helped. Hope you find something good that works and find a new place that allows for Cable or DSL. One thing I've never liked about apts, to many rules and conditions for what you pay for.  >:(
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: 4500 and Motorola Wimax CPE
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2011, 04:14:26 PM »

Did you smash the 4500? If so that's a shame.. I could have offer you some cash... Anyways with speeds like those its better to just go straight to the modem without a router.

--
Chris
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.