• October 24, 2020, 05:47:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!  (Read 6878 times)

The_Comfy_Chair

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« on: June 14, 2011, 05:06:10 PM »

 I have owned this unit for less than a week; set up a raid5 with 4x2TB green drives (2 Western Digital) and 2 Seagate).
I began transferring data to the array... verified writes and access... verified the drives were good via the drive inspection software... verified read-back after 24 hours... started dumping my data to the raid array... and after 3 days SUDDENLY - no access... the volume_1 has disappeared. The windows Explorer was locked up, the Internet Explorer would not find the web page and the system would not power down... or power back up or respond at all.
After waiting for an hour, I cut power and reset the system ... on reboot it indicates that the volume_1 is degraded  BUT  the system software indicates that volume_1  doesn't even exist at all now!

I've searched this site and found NO recovery tools - nothing from D-Link - no support from them on any of these threads that I have seen. If your raid fails you are on your own it seems... This has seriously been the worst product experience for a storage system I have ever had.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 06:00:38 PM »

Are your disks AFT (i.e. advanced format)? And if so, did you upgrade to the latest beta firmware (v1.05b01) before formatting? If your drives are AFT, the DNS-343 will only support them with firmware v1.05b01.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

The_Comfy_Chair

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 10:32:34 PM »

Not sure about the AFT bit... looking on the net, but not finding any info on that ...

-------------------------------------------------------------------

S.M.A.R.T TEST :
    Slot   Manu.   Model   
Progress

Result

   1   WDC   WD20EARS-00MVWB   -   Pass [ 2000/06/17 09:21:48 ]
   2   WDC   WD20EARS-00MVWB   -   Pass [ 2000/06/17 09:21:50 ]
   3   Seagate   ST2000DL003-9VT   -   Pass [ 2000/06/17 09:20:58 ]
   4   Seagate   ST32000542AS   -   Pass [ 2000/06/17 15:19:25 ]

Test type : Quick test  Extended test
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2011, 04:31:21 AM »

The WD20EARS is an AFT drive not supported by DNS-343 firmware prior to v1.05b01. If you are running an older firmware version, you need to upgrade before formatting your array.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2011, 11:36:15 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

The_Comfy_Chair

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2011, 06:37:28 PM »

Thanks a bunch!  I did not realize that was  an AFT drive... 
I'll try the firmware upgrade.  8)
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2011, 07:52:52 PM »

Here's the direct link for the latest beta firmware: ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Multimedia/dns343/Beta/Firmware/
The link is also posted here: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=13099.0
« Last Edit: June 16, 2011, 08:32:39 PM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Clayton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2011, 06:19:53 PM »

I inserted a ST2000DL003-9VT and formatted RAID 5 with 3 ST32000542AS drives and it showed up ok using 1.04b3?
However when my 4th ST32000542AS arrived I replaced it with the ST2000DL003-9VT and it's been rebuilding for the last 39 hours, it finished rebuilding early this morning and for some reason it's doing it again, I've installed 1.05b1 now
I placed the ST2000DL003-9VT into a docking station and used EXT3 Explorer but couldn't see anything on it relating to my backups.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2011, 06:27:49 PM by Clayton »
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2011, 05:48:36 AM »

I inserted a ST2000DL003-9VT and formatted RAID 5 with 3 ST32000542AS drives. . . . I placed the ST2000DL003-9VT into a docking station and used EXT3 Explorer but couldn't see anything on it relating to my backups.

You shouldn't see anything on your ST2000DL003-9VT.  RAID 5 stripes data and redundancy information across all four drives, there are not copies of your files on each drive of the array.  You can't mount a single drive from a RAID 5 array -- all four drives must be mounted as a contiguous array on your PC (there is software available that will allow you to do this).
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

Clayton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2011, 12:43:54 PM »

Thought that may be the case with a RAID5 setup. cheers
Logged

CanadianClub

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2011, 07:21:30 AM »

I currently have the same problem after about 6 months of trouble-free operation.  Email support told me to hit the reset button.  I refuse.  I am currently on the phone with D-Link Tech Support to get a full understanding of the problem, why it happened, what do I do to protect my data and finally how does the problem get resolved.  Wish me luck.
Logged
DNS323 4X 2TB
DNS321 2X 1TB

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Lost Volume_1 on a Raid5 setup after only 3 days!!!
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2011, 07:29:11 AM »

All the best. Please post the results of your dialog with D-Link technical support.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC