• October 29, 2020, 04:36:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Hidden menu  (Read 9795 times)

dumpystig

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Hidden menu
« on: June 08, 2011, 07:24:46 AM »

Can anyone tell me how to access this hidden menu?

Cheers
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 08:17:13 AM »

Turn your Styles OFF in your browser.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

dumpystig

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2011, 08:30:09 AM »

OK cheers for that. But what is in this menu? I'm not at home, can't check until later tonight.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2011, 08:32:40 AM »

You can see whats in the menu by going to the Dlink support site and looking at the emulator for the routers and changing the browsers Style.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

alien

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2011, 11:07:07 AM »

i explain the strategy of Dlink. Oops it don't work. Remove the link and hide the menu. Other brands, are willing to fix this. If you only take links away and let the b broken function stay in, you will getinto troubles.
But Dlink doesn't listen to that  ???
« Last Edit: June 28, 2011, 11:14:59 AM by alien »
Logged
First Router Draytek Vigor 2310N for performance an VPN

Backup routers Dlink Dir855, DIR 655
Backup router ASUS WL500GP Premium en WL500g with DDWRT.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2011, 11:11:21 AM »

Huh? how about spell check before you post?  ::)

i explain the strategy of dlink. Oeps it doen't work, take out the link and hide the menu. Other brands, are wiling to fix this. If you only thake links away and let the b roken function stay in, you will gat troubles.
But Dlink doen't listen to that  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

alien

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2011, 11:16:12 AM »

its done. But you understand what i posted?
Logged
First Router Draytek Vigor 2310N for performance an VPN

Backup routers Dlink Dir855, DIR 655
Backup router ASUS WL500GP Premium en WL500g with DDWRT.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2011, 11:22:08 AM »

What kind of links are you referring too?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

alien

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2011, 11:31:58 AM »

Look into the router and you wil see what is taken out. 8) WDS is one link
Logged
First Router Draytek Vigor 2310N for performance an VPN

Backup routers Dlink Dir855, DIR 655
Backup router ASUS WL500GP Premium en WL500g with DDWRT.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2011, 12:17:09 PM »

Well maybe theres a reason for that. I understand though, not sure why they hide items however from a developer stand point, they are probably using a template for these routers and it's up to marketing on what gets used and what doesn't, depending on the model and use of the router. So having one template for there FW is probably easier to use and manipulate. Just because it's hidden doesn't mean it was supported or meant to be functional in the first place for all routers.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2011, 11:59:21 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

alien

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2011, 10:00:42 AM »

Well maybe theres a reason for that. I understand though, not sure why they hid items however from a developer stand point, they are probably using a template for these routers and it's up to marketing on what gets used and what doesn't, depending on the model and use of the router. So Having one template for there FW is probably easier to use and manipulate. Just because it's hidden doesn't mean it was supported or meant to be functional in the first place for all routers.

Spell Check???
Logged
First Router Draytek Vigor 2310N for performance an VPN

Backup routers Dlink Dir855, DIR 655
Backup router ASUS WL500GP Premium en WL500g with DDWRT.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Hidden menu
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2011, 12:00:24 PM »

That's your only response?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!