• July 12, 2020, 12:31:40 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?  (Read 4716 times)

pearljam45

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« on: May 25, 2011, 01:08:42 PM »

I have a dgs-1005g (GB switch) that my NAS, DIR-615 and two other GB devices are connected to.

I have a Belkin router with DHCP disabled, just running as access point connected to the DIR-615.

My D-link DIR-615 (10/100 only) is currently routing and I am transferring at around 15mb/s between GB connected devices... will I see a performance increase if I set my 323 to assign DHCP seeing as it is GB?

Is it even possible to still have internet if I disable DHCP on the DIR-615 when it is what has access to internet?

Thanks in advance.
Logged

dosborne

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 01:26:30 PM »

DHCP just gives out and manages IP addresses for your devices. It is not mandatory. You should have only one DHCP enabled device or you may run into IP address conflicts. 10/100 or 10/100/1000 is not important since assigning IP addresses is very very little overhead. If you have it all working now on another device, I would suggest disabling it in the DNS323.

Don't confuse running a DHCP server (actually assiging addresses) with the configuration option to get a DHCP assigned address. In any case, a DHCP server is not required is you set static IP addresses on all your devices. It does however often make things easier if you have a laptop or other portable devices that you need to connect to different networks on a regular basis.
Logged
3 x DNS-323 with 2 x 2TB WD Drives each for a total of 12 TB Storage and Backup. Running DLink Firmware v1.08 and Fonz Fun Plug (FFP) v0.5 for improved software support.

pearljam45

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 02:51:11 PM »

thanks.

Yeah, I presently have it disabled on the 323.
I was just wondering if my transfers would somehow speed up if IP addresses were managed by a GB device.

thanks!
Logged

Steve Pitts

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • A twelfth man at silly mid on
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 02:58:43 PM »

I am transferring at around 15mb/s between GB connected devices
If that really is 15 megabits then that is poor given that you have a gigabit switch. If it is 15 megabytes then you are probably not going to get much better on a regular basis. What are the other gigabit connected devices and which operating systems are they running??
Logged
Cheers, Steve

Running a DNS-323 Rev. C1 with FW 1.10b5, fun_plug 0.5 and 1 Western Digital WD20EARS-00MVWB0, 4K aligned by 1.10FW, in Standard mode as a single volume

pearljam45

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2011, 03:02:22 PM »

MB/s.

two desktops are running with GB LAN and the DNS-323.
Specifically Intel DG33TL and DG33BU motherboards.
I'm running WIN 7 x64 ultimate on both desktop.

I also have a netbook and 2 notebooks connecting wireless-ly.
Another notebook is wired to the Belkin Switch.

The other device connected to the GB switch is my DIR-615. I have my Belkin Router running as a switch/WAP connected to the DIR-615 since it is only 10/100.
Logged

pearljam45

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2011, 03:04:36 PM »

I was hoping for higher throughput.

Sad that that is the limit.
The device manager indicates that my network utilization never exceeds ~20% when transferring.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2011, 06:54:41 PM »

First - the DHCP server in the DNS-323 is quite primitive - it lacks the option to set a default gateway, so if you use it as the DHCP server on your LAN, you won't have internet access, because none of the clients will know how to reach the internet.

Second - as dosborne has pointed out - all the DHCP server is going to do is lease ip addresses, it will have no impact whatsoever on throughput.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

Steve Pitts

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • A twelfth man at silly mid on
Re: DHCP - DIR-615 OR DNS-323?
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2011, 01:17:11 PM »

I was hoping for higher throughput
It is possible to do a little better than 15MB/s (the manual has the somewhat oxymoronic statement 'High Performance Gigabit Ethernet Connectivity (Up to 23/15MBps or 184/120Mbps Read/Write)', adding the caveat 'Speed results will vary depending on the benchmark utility, hard drive configuration, and the network environment used for testing' - NSS to the latter) but I cannot consistently breach 16.5MB/s writing or 23.5MB/s reading. However, for a cheap NAS I don't see that as much of a problem. If I'd paid upwards of 200 that would be a different matter.
Logged
Cheers, Steve

Running a DNS-323 Rev. C1 with FW 1.10b5, fun_plug 0.5 and 1 Western Digital WD20EARS-00MVWB0, 4K aligned by 1.10FW, in Standard mode as a single volume