• September 23, 2014, 07:21:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How to access "bridged" DSL modem  (Read 6294 times)

ronrosenfeld

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« on: April 22, 2011, 10:56:55 AM »

I've had the DLink 4100 for some time, and it's always worked fine (DHCP mode).  It also handles access to a web cam.  My setup was something like:
                             WAN              LAN
                     ISP <-----> 4100 <--------> switch <-------> various computers and devices
                                           |
                                           |  (LAN Port)
                                        WebCam (as virtual server)(uses port forwarding 7500/80)

I just changed ISP's and I'm now on DSL.  Initially, I just connected the DSL modem (Westell G90-610018-20 ADSL Modem) to the WAN port of the 4100.  The DSL modem connected by PPPoE, and I left the 4100 in DHCP mode.  I had no problems accessing the internet, but the internet could not "see" my web cam; and various tests showed that the port was blocked.

I then put the DSL modem into "bridge mode"; changed the 4100 setting to PPPoE (and changed nothing else other than entering a user name/password for the PPPoE logon).  After this both internet access, and also behavior of my webcam, were both OK.

The only problem is that, since doing this, I am no longer able to access the GUI interface of the modem.  I can get to it if I attach the modem directly to one of my computers; but is there some way of accessing the modem GUI through the DLink 4100, without doing that or messing up any other network settings?  Perhaps some entry in the Routing Table?

Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28013
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 12:35:08 PM »

When you bridge the DSL modem, it effectively shuts off the DSLs router and web page functions on those modems that do this. The only way to get access back on the web page is to un-bridge the modem. If the modem and router are working well, then your probably good to go. Some modems allow access after bridging, some don't. You'd have to ask Westell for this information
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ronrosenfeld

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2011, 01:01:48 PM »

Thanks for that information.  It is working OK so I probably won't go any further.

Although I don't think the modem completely turns off the web page function, as I can still access it by plugging directly into my computer.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28013
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2011, 01:10:28 PM »

Probably get some access if direct. You could try the IP address of the DSL modem that is the address you see in the routers WAN section. Not sure if that will get you into it or not. At least if you know how to connect to it direct if you need to.  ;)
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ronrosenfeld

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2011, 05:08:13 PM »

No, those don't work.  Thanks anyway.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28013
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2011, 10:43:11 AM »

Hope it works well otherwise.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-645>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ronrosenfeld

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to access "bridged" DSL modem
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2011, 04:18:39 PM »

It seems to be, although I'd like to be able to see the "status" page with regard to the connection quality.
Logged