• October 27, 2020, 02:28:06 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Updated Firmware Available  (Read 17693 times)

mb

  • Guest
Updated Firmware Available
« on: August 09, 2007, 09:35:35 PM »

f/w v1.05 dated 2007/08/08 is available on the US download site.  I am up and running with it here. Initial observations suggest that a few configuration options have been removed. Details to follow.
Logged

naughticl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 08:21:16 AM »

Any ideas if this addresses the disconnection issues?

EDIT...

Appears my disconnect issues were related to faulty hardware. A replacement is working fine withi 1.05.

« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 03:51:01 PM by naughticl »
Logged

ddwinell

  • Guest
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2007, 08:37:31 AM »

I like the addition of the Black list my self.
Logged

Heracles

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2007, 01:20:01 PM »

The ability to set a schedule for when the radio (wireless) is enabled is pretty sweet. 

Under Setup/Wireless Settings/Manual - next to the "Enable Wireless" button, there is a pull-down that defaults to "always".  You can create a schedule that will set the time when the wireless is enabled. 

To set a time when the wireless will be turned off (what I'm more interested in doing), just be sure that the start time in the schedule is when you want the wireless turned back on, and the end time is when to turn it off.

By the way, the 1.05 firmware also supports the new D-Link router widget (found under Yahoo! widgets).

             - Cheers
Logged

  • Codex Borgia
  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2007, 01:43:11 PM »

Sweet.  I want to try this my self  :D
Logged
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

<script src="http://serverfault.com/users/flair/25583.js?theme=clean" type="text/javascript"></script>

laubin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2007, 07:13:36 PM »

I was having a lot of problems with my notebook connecting to my main pc. It would drop the connection and reconnect within a few seconds. This would go on almost constantly.

I flashed the new v1.05 firmware and it hasn't done it once!! This has done the trick for me as well as adding the mentioned improvements and extra features..

I hope it helps the rest of you guys too.

laubin

Logged

  • Codex Borgia
  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2007, 11:03:39 AM »

I updated to 1.05 this weekend...

I like it.  No drops, good speeds I would suggest others to update to 1.05
Logged
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

<script src="http://serverfault.com/users/flair/25583.js?theme=clean" type="text/javascript"></script>

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2007, 09:48:27 AM »

I used a throughput testing software, with the 1.02 firmware and a pure gigbit network I was seeing like 425-500 MBPS. With the 1.05 it jumped to 600-675Mbps.
Not to mention, widgets are pretty cool.
Logged

dogma

  • Guest
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2007, 01:19:55 AM »

I just tried it.  A lot faster.  More stable than 1.03 but not stable enough.  With 1.03, my wireless PCs disconnect very fast.  With 1.05, they would often last more than 10 minutes.  However, after they disconnect, there's no way they'd reconnect, not even after I reboot the router.

I'm falling back to 1.02 until D-Link fixes the bugs.

I have 3 wireless desktops all running Windows XP, 2 with D-Link G cards, one with D-Link N card.

Here's my log (I removed lots of lines about blocking some IP address like this one: Blocked incoming TCP packet from 68.142.233.74:443 to 99.246.83.248:1386 as RST:ACK received but there is no active connection):

[INFO] Sat Aug 18 15:00:28 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 000D88934974 disconnected for reason: Timeout, station left.
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 15:00:28 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 00C0A8AB3B79 disconnected for reason: Timeout, station left.
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 15:00:28 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 00195B593546 disconnected for reason: Timeout, station left.
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:55:29 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 001B1154983B disconnected for reason: AP maybe crash...
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:50:52 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 00195B593546 associated
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:50:19 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 00C0A8AB3B79 associated
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:50:05 2007 Time synchronized
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:35 2007 Requesting time from 64.7.210.145
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:35 2007 Time server ntp1.dlink.com is at IP address 64.7.210.145
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:35 2007 Starting WAN Services
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:35 2007 WAN interface speed measurement completed.  Upstream speed is 542 kbps
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:28 2007 Wireless system with MAC address 000D88934974 associated
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:18 2007 Starting DHCP server
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:11 2007 Estimating speed of WAN interface
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:11 2007 WAN interface is up. Connection to Internet established with IP Address xx.xxx.xx.xxx and default gateway xx.xxx.xx.xxx
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:11 2007 Obtained IP Address using DHCP. IP address is xx.xxx.xx.xxx
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:10 2007 Bringing up WAN using DHCP
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:10 2007 WAN interface cable has been connected
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:09 2007 LAN interface is up
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:09 2007 LAN Ethernet Carrier Detected
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:09 2007 Device initialized
[WARN] Sat Aug 18 14:42:09 2007 gw_wireless_schedule init
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:09 2007 Wireless Link is up
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:08 2007 Unlock AP setup
[INFO] Sat Aug 18 14:42:08 2007 No Internet access policy is in effect. Unrestricted Internet access allowed to everyone
[INFO] Wed Dec 31 20:00:00 1969 Loaded configuration from non-volatile memory
« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 08:54:05 AM by dogma »
Logged

Ajuchna

  • Guest
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2007, 09:48:33 AM »

I'd use a blacklist to block myspace.
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2007, 11:03:49 AM »

I agree. It's funny to watch my roommate squirm when they can't get on that website.
 ;D
Logged

lettuce

  • Guest
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2007, 12:22:11 PM »

Is it just me or is v 1.05 missing the Application Gateway Layer options? How do I passthrough VPN traffic, either through PPTP or IPSEC?

The old firmware versions had options to do so, but I can't seem to find it in version 1.05. Disappointed there.
Logged

SavNout

  • Guest
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2007, 09:45:39 PM »

have any of you had any luck with an Intel wirless nic connecting in N mode to your N router?

Just curious....
Logged

craigbla

  • Guest
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2007, 12:33:24 PM »

I've tried 1.03, 1.04 and 1.05 - 1.05 was the most stable but still hangs sometimes daily and can't stay up for more than a week tops.  I gave up and reinstalled my old reliable DI-634M which stays up for months.  I have 4Mb DSL, static IP - no changes for 3 years so I'm surprised that the DIR-655 is so unstable.
Logged

kjl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Updated Firmware Available
« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2007, 04:48:05 PM »

Hi,

Why did you take out the WAN Port Mode!   I just purchased 7 new units and updated to the new version and now found that it's gone.  We need this back!  Without it the 7 units will have to go back....  Basically we need the ability to use this as an AP WITHOUT using up one of the LAN ports.  This is what the Bridge Mode gave us.  So pleeeeeeeeeease put this back!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2