• September 20, 2019, 12:55:00 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: DIR-615 requires power reset for laptop to connect  (Read 21876 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 requires power reset for laptop to connect
« Reply #30 on: September 14, 2011, 07:07:55 AM »

You said your using WEP2? or WPA2?
What happens if you don't hid the SSID name?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Pryce

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-615 requires power reset for laptop to connect
« Reply #31 on: November 17, 2011, 11:52:00 AM »

Hi victorist ... no you are not alone. I installed a DIR-615 HWv:C1 FWv:3.11NA in September of 2009 and have had the same problem ever since. The first time I logged on wirelessly with no problems, but if I disconnected and tried to log back in ... "Limited or No Connectivity". The only thing I could figure out was that the wireless DHCP server would not assign a valid IP address. I did notice that if I did not log in for a while (a few days) I could get back on. This most likely is a result of the lease expiring on a specific MAC address. Once this happens, the wireless DHCP server works again. My solution was to manually set an IP address for my, or anyone else's, laptop and this has worked fine. I got back in to the location today to do some maintenance and decided to check and see if there were any firmware updates that might address this issue. I found two FW updates and FWv:3.12NA states "Fixed: Wireless connection issue". BS! I don't know what wireless connection issue they fixed, but it wasn't this one. You seem to be correct in your assessment of the special characters in the WPA password being the problem (special characters include the "space"). I am running the router in b,g,n mode and when I eliminated the spaces in my password, I could repeatedly log in wirelessly just fine. Thank you for your diligence on this topic as I probably would have not figured this out without it.

On another note ... as I mentioned above, there are two FW updates from my original FWv:3.11NA. When I installed FWv:3.13NA, I lost my internet connection. I then downdated to FWv:3.12NA and got my internet connection back. Really D-Link, do you even test the firmware before you release it?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 11:54:24 AM by Pryce »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 requires power reset for laptop to connect
« Reply #32 on: November 17, 2011, 12:38:40 PM »

How are you applying the FW updates?

hat ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Pryce

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-615 requires power reset for laptop to connect
« Reply #33 on: November 21, 2011, 06:22:54 PM »

How are you applying the FW updates?

hat ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

How are you applying the FW updates? By using the firmware update built into the router setup.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? AT&T T3

What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router? Stand alone, but run through a DHCP router via the WAN port on the DIR-615.

What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Don't know.

I really don't see how any of this is relevant.  The problem is pretty simple.  With firmware versions 3.11 and 3.12 installed, I have internet access.  With version 3.13 installed, I do not have internet access.

I started with version 3.11 and updated to version 3.13, checked the functions and realized I could no longer access the internet.  I then reinstalled version 3.11 and regained access to the internet.  Downloaded version 3.12, installed it, checked functions and had access to the internet.  I decided to check version 3.13 again, installed it and could no longer access the internet.  Then I reinstalled version 3.12, and once again have access to the internet.  This is not my personal system, so I do not have access to it anytime I want.  Therefore, I cannot troubleshoot this issue much further.  If I was to venture a guess, I would say that in implementing the "3. Add SMTP Server Port." (found in version 3.13NA dir615_revC_release_notes.txt), you have inadvertently set the WAN port to SMPT as default instead of WAN.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47761
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-615 requires power reset for laptop to connect
« Reply #34 on: November 22, 2011, 08:41:36 AM »

There a reason for updating FW?
Is there a problem that you were seeing before doing the FW update?

There are specific steps in updateing FW and steps that need to be taken after doing FW. FW wipes the configuration and you might have missed a configuration setup 3.13.
Do you have the router use PPPoE for your internet or DHCP?
When you did FW updates, did you first do a factory reset of the router then apply the update then one more factory reset before configuring the router? This is the preferred method of updating FW.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 2 [3]