• September 20, 2019, 10:01:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-320 installation failure - cannot format - HELP!!  (Read 12959 times)

dazzerm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DNS-320 installation failure - cannot format - HELP!!
« on: March 08, 2011, 03:24:55 PM »

Hi

I have been trying to setup my 320 with 2 x 1.5TB WD SATA2 WD15EADS 32MB drives. When I get to the formatting of the drives, either via JBOD, Standard, or RAID, I get the error below. I am using the software provided with the unit on Win 7 Ultimate (32-bit). HELP!!!!

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.InvalidOperationException: This BackgroundWorker is currently busy and cannot run multiple tasks concurrently.
   at System.ComponentModel.BackgroundWorker.RunWorkerAsync(Object argument)
   at System.ComponentModel.BackgroundWorker.RunWorkerAsync()
   at Wizard.Form1.timer_fmt_per_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4952 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Setup Wizard
    Assembly Version: 1.0.3918.31334
    Win32 Version:
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/D-Link/ShareCenter%20Pulse/Setup%20Wizard.exe
----------------------------------------
msvcm80
    Assembly Version: 8.0.50727.4927
    Win32 Version: 8.00.50727.4927
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/WinSxS/x86_microsoft.vc80.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.4927_none_d08a205e442db5b5/msvcm80.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
Accessibility
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Accessibility/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Accessibility.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
Logged

albert

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • SoHo NAS Forum
Re: DNS-320 installation failure - cannot format - HELP!!
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2011, 04:37:33 PM »

What program are you referring to? Have you try doing it from the NAS web interface?
Logged
D-Link DNS-320 rev A1 (FW: 2.05) [FFP-0.7]
PCI NAS-01G (FW: Encore ENNHD-1000 4.10)
PCI NAS-01G (FW: OpenNAS 1.9]

Joke

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: DNS-320 installation failure - cannot format - HELP!!
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2011, 04:27:45 PM »

I think you are refering to the program on the CD that came with the DNS-320. That program crashed for me as well, but that's no problem because there is nothing you need.

What you should do is find out what IP address the DNS-320 has.
If your setup is like most people have then you have a router/modem that is set to act as DHCP server, and will give a new IP number to any device that asks for it.

Use your web browser and enter the management interface of the router. In there somewhere you will find a list of networked devices, and their IP numbers. One of them is the DNS-320, so if you dont know which one you can try them one at a time until you find it. Just enter the IP number in your browsers address field and go.
Logged

dazzerm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DNS-320 installation failure - cannot format - HELP!!
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2011, 03:08:45 PM »

Awesome - error ignored and have used the web interface. All working well so far. Many thanks.
Logged