• October 14, 2019, 03:55:47 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Connection reset message after changing ISP  (Read 6287 times)

randyk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Connection reset message after changing ISP
« on: January 30, 2011, 09:26:23 PM »

I just changed my internet provider from DSL to cable.  When I hooked up the DIR-615 I had some difficulties.  At first my computers would all connect to the router but there was no internet connection.  I had to download the latest firmware and install it.  After the install succeeded, everything seemed to be okay.  However, I now occasionally get the message that the connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.  Also, the little world symbol on the router constantly flashes at a rapid rate.  Before the switch, neither of these two things happened.  When I check the download speed it seems fine.  The cable modem is an Arris and also handles my telephone service.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2011, 08:16:34 AM »

If you switched from DSL to cable, could be that the router is using the old DSL settings to connect. I would do a factory rest of the router to clear out all previous configurations then try again. Make sure the status/device info/wan section is getting an IP address, gateway and dns addresses. Fill the DNS IP addresses into the setup/internet/manual section if they are not being auto filled there. Let us know.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

randyk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2011, 09:24:50 AM »

I did the factory reset and checked the status for the various addresses.  They were all there.  Then, I checked for the DNS addresses in the Setup/Manual section.  The numbers there were all 0's.  So, I put in the DNS addresses provides by Status.  The world light on the front of the router still flashes continuously at a very high rate.  What, exactly, is this light supposed to indicate?  It never did this with my DSL connection.  It will be a while before I know about the connection reset message.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2011, 09:37:35 AM »

Your manual for the 615 should give you information on what the lights do for your router. I know that some blink continuously if green for Internet connection. If it's red and blinking, means there could be a problem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

randyk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2011, 03:08:05 PM »

Okay, I checked the manual and it confirmed what I was concerned about.  When the led world icon stays continuously lit it means that the router is connected to the internet.  When the led world icon blinks it means that data is being transmitted.  So, it seems that my router is continuously transmitting large amounts of data when all of my wireless devices are turned off.  It flashes continuously and rapidly.

Is there some other interpretation?
Logged

randyk

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2011, 09:00:12 PM »

In addition, I am still experiencing "the connection was reset . . ." error messages
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2011, 08:58:27 AM »

Could mean that the router is maintaining a connection with the modem and there handshaking. Some routers lights do do this unless there is actual data doing. I would make sure that your wireless is secure and nobody else is using it. Make sure you set up WPA2 and put in a password that you and others that you want to use it have this password.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2011, 09:10:41 PM »

In addition, I am still experiencing "the connection was reset . . ." error messages
Also check your internet sessions, that should show you what traffic is open, from where, and to where. Also, could be different problems. If you have DHCP to always broadcast, that coukd easily cause the problem with no(very little) effect. And the resets could be very different. Any problems with your phone service? Last, whats on the modems http://192.168.100.1 page?
Logged

meredith543

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2011, 07:07:33 AM »

I had this same symptom... along with Facebook pages (in particular) never fully loading, and pictures not loading.

I turned off the QOS engine in the router settings, and it seems to have fixed it. On the "Advanced" page, click QOS engine, then uncheck "Enable QOS engine."
Logged

billy_kidd

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2011, 05:12:11 PM »

When you did the factory reset did you then try to reconfigure the router, or did you just leave it alone, connect to your modem, and wait to see if you could connect to the internet?

You need to reset the router.  Don't restore any backup configuration files or make any configuration changes at all to the router.

Plug the modem into the router and run through the setup wizard. 

If that doesn't work, try plugging your pc directly into the cable modem.  Be sure to configure your PC to acquire an IP and DNS automatically.

Tell us what happens in these scenarios.
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Connection reset message after changing ISP
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2011, 08:52:22 PM »

FYI, be sure to power cycle your modem after connecting your PC directly to your modem.
Logged