• December 17, 2017, 05:54:07 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"  (Read 18273 times)

ned2021

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2012, 10:13:22 AM »

Recovery mode without modifying the BIN file by adding the number 2 over number 0 at the end of the last line wouldn't work. You have to modify the BIN file in an HEX editor. I'm actually using a Netgear 3700v2 router right now. Very happy with it. Will probably sell the 825 to a friend that needs one.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2012, 10:22:21 AM »

Ok, good info.
You could turn the 825 in to an AP to use with you host router.

 NOTE: if routers belongs or acquired from ISP services, then the router and HW belongs to the ISP and should not be modified if the HW belongs to ISPs. ISPs handle there own FW and would violate ISP policy. Users should find a retail router to purchase, test and after all is working, return the ISP router to the ISP service.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 11:54:23 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ned2021

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2012, 12:01:33 PM »

I already have a Netopia modem/router as my AP. So, don't need the 825 except maybe as a back-up ? If you know anyone interested around Montreal I oculd sell it to them. I could meet them somewhere. I don't really know what I'll do with it except that when I saw the deal I couldn't pass.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2012, 12:10:51 PM »

Sorry I don't know anyone up there. I would keep it for a back up though. Just in case something happens. It's a great router. I personally think it's better than the 3700. Thats just me though.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ned2021

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"
« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2012, 01:22:47 PM »

The funny thing is, I mainly like the 3700 because of the USB external HD option. I know that most people turn it off because it's so slow, uploading and uploading from it but for me, I have a Westen Digital Media Player (WD TV Live) that's connected to the router(wired)it doesn't have Gigabit but since I use it, I can enjoy a movie that I downloaded(MKV with DTS sound)without interruptions. I usually watch movies at night with my wife in the living room and I used to stream(wired) from my office where my daughter used to use the computer at the same time and usually the movie would just start jumping or stop completely and it was unwatchable. Maybe my old office video card was overloaded with streaming a movie while at the same time downloading or surfing the Web. I installed a 2TB external HD in NTFS and since then, no more troubles watching moving while my daughter is on the Web. I don't think that the 825, even though it has a USB connection, can be used with an external HD for streaming videos on my WD TV Live from all I read about it. I have 2 computers connected wired in Gigabit with cat6 cables, my Android smartphone connects wirelessly and my daughter's Iphone connects wirelessly too. I find it stable and reliable even though I heard that there was a lot of batches of them that were defective mine has been rock solid since I bought it about 6 months ago.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Videotron 825/VTR i want to flash it to "dlink firmware"
« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2012, 01:30:00 PM »

Thats kewl, ya you might have a 2nd or 3rd gen 3700 then if in the last 6 months. I think mine was a 1st gen. it was ok. Just didn't seem to hold a candle to my 4500 at the time and after I got the 825, it blew the 3700 out of the water. I have one however haven't used it yet as I have a dedicated Server for streaming files from.  ::) I installed WRT on the 3700 and seems to make it work better so I gave it to my xbox buddy who lives down the road from me
« Last Edit: November 18, 2012, 10:55:52 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]