• October 29, 2020, 04:18:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1  (Read 7631 times)

bthayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« on: February 07, 2011, 02:50:49 PM »

Attempting to connect my iPod to the wireless network.  The SSID is set to visible and the ipod finds the network.  I set the ipod to the security type of the router and have verified the security key.  When I attempt to connect I get a message that says unable to connect to the network.  Any help would be appreciated.
Logged

jdandrea

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 11:51:46 AM »

 :-[

Having the exact same problem. Was able to connect an iPad, iPhone 4, MacBook Pro, and hp laptop with Windows 7 ... but the iPod touch running 4.2.1 just doesn't want to connect. Clues appreciated!
Logged

jdandrea

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 12:09:38 PM »

 ;D

Huzzah! Fixed.

On my DIR-601 admin panel, I had to go to Advanced > Advanced Wireless, and change the Beacon Interval from 100 to 75. After everything was saved and I returned back to the admin panel, I was able to connect via WPA eith no trouble! Try this out and see if it helps. Good luck!
Logged

bthayer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2011, 07:57:19 PM »

jdandrea, thanks for the idea.  Worked like a charm.  Also, I would recommend that anyone else who is having this problem checks to see what wireless security they have set.  The ipod doesn't seem to recognize WPA2, so changing it to WPA or WEP may help.
Logged

jdandrea

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 06:09:14 AM »

Terrific news! Glad to hear it worked for you as well.

Of course, my next question becomes (and perhaps this is purely for academic reasons at this point), _why_ did that work. :)
Logged

foosean010

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2011, 10:15:31 PM »

Terrific news! Glad to hear it worked for you as well.

Of course, my next question becomes (and perhaps this is purely for academic reasons at this point), _why_ did that work. :)


Well... since you are looking for academic reasons, check this site out:
http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/tutorials/article.php/1492071/80211-Beacons-Revealed.htm


Also, found this doing some "Googling"

The Workaround: I experimented with all sorts of settings on my router to alleviate the issue. The only relief I found was to set the beacon interval between 5ms and 10ms. The beacon is a clock signal that keeps the wi-fi network in sync, and by setting it to such a rapid rate it keeps the iPad's wi-fi card awake, always ready to receive the data bursts...

Since it is the same iOS, possibly/probably the same situation.
Logged

kensiko

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2011, 06:07:04 AM »

For any issue, look at this topic:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=37625.0
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 06:12:04 AM by kensiko »
Logged

guillermo78228

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2011, 04:25:09 PM »

I am so glad I found this thread. I've been searching forever now. I keep hearing that the ipod touch 4g does not work with d-link's wpa or wpa2, it would only work with wep, and I do not wanna use wep. so the ipod touch does work with wpa then?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49298
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting up a DIR-601 to work with an ipod Touch OS 4.2.1
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2011, 10:17:59 AM »

Try using WPA...seems there could be an issue with WPA2. Does the ipod support WPA2?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!