• December 11, 2019, 04:57:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7

Author Topic: (A) Possible solution for the signal drop outs  (Read 63051 times)

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2008, 04:36:10 PM »

169.254.240.50: it seems your PC/OS is not capable of getting an IP from the router. You might wanna check your installation. Also I would say that the loss of signal is not router related but comes down to a wireless driver or wireless NIC that [exploitive deleted].

or more decent:

The 169 address is obtained when the NIC cannot contact a DHCP server (and Windows allocates the 169 address to an adaptor if a DHCP lease cant be obtained). 169.254.x.x is used for Microsoft (and Apple actually) 'zeroconf' initiatives, network configuration without a server.

Usually the problem is a faulty connection: ie. faulty cable, faulty plugs on either end of cable, faulty port in NC, faulty port in router, other fault in NIC. And you are certainly trying to eliminate those possible causes in the right way by working through the combinations.

Are you 100% sure the NIC is good (i.e. have you tried it in another PC and got a connection).
« Last Edit: December 05, 2008, 04:40:05 PM by EddieZ »
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2008, 01:40:29 AM »

It is a MAC I was monitoring the WIFI on.
So 169.xx is some kind of default?
Tought it was hijacked!
I tried everyting I can, rolled back Firmware, different settings,
does not matter, I can see the signal come and go.
So many others having the exact same thing, but my LINKSYS WGS54 GS acted the same..
Thats why I threw the LINKSYS into the woods and got the DIR655.
I ordered a new (#3) router today EddieZ, (no more DLINK for me, no more LINKSYS)
Trying with an Apple Extreme Airport. Has good reputation. Will see..
(No more Mercedes, No more Raymarine) he-he...The Mercedes is breaking down so often I think it is a joke, and rusts! Mercedes repaints its so often, I do not need any carwashes!
One of wheelbearings went loose, the factory had not tighten them so the tires was about to fall off!
I asked if properly tighten wheelbearings was an option, and how much would that cost?
That has a certain impact, saying so.. ;D
These WIFI routers..2 acting the same, signal comes and goes..maybe I am wrong about the DIR655?
Well, if the Apple thing acts the same, I guess I have to move into the woods myself.
 :D
Stay well EddieZ


Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2008, 02:55:24 AM »

It's the 'default' (or 404 page) IP range the Operating System on your PC uses when it can not get an IP from the network device.

Keep me posted!  ;)
« Last Edit: December 06, 2008, 02:58:00 AM by EddieZ »
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2008, 03:20:37 AM »

Will do!
Logged

funchords

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #19 on: December 08, 2008, 08:54:37 PM »

Do a web-search for "Automatic Private IP Address"
Logged

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #20 on: December 09, 2008, 01:28:36 AM »

Hi funchord. I Googled that, but I am not shure what good it would do?

BTW EddieZ, I canceled my order on the Airport Extreme, I Goggled on it, and it seems to drop the WIFI even more than the DIR655.
It is so strange, I can sit with a laptop right beside the DIR-655, and see the signal drops dead.


Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #21 on: December 09, 2008, 08:50:11 AM »

Try to test the signal with a different NIC or laptop. And check all channels for the best match (manual setting 11 is worthless at my place, only 1 and 2 give a strong signal). And check your environment for devices that can interfere on the same channel bandwidth.

« Last Edit: December 09, 2008, 08:51:48 AM by EddieZ »
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #22 on: January 02, 2009, 12:09:58 PM »

Hi friends, happy Forthgoing as we Swedes says!
I tried my WLAN with KisMac..signal on and off..constantly. Poor strentgh.
The log in the DIR-655 said many times
"Wireless system with MAC address xxxxxxxxxxxxxx disconnected for reason: Received De-authentication.
Had one Wirus XP machine hooked up wireless..that rascal said many times
"could not get a certificate to log on"
The Apple machines said nothing, just got disconnected..so I start to put things together..
Windows..crap stuff..can it be the Windows machine that somehow messes with the DIR-655?
I disconnected the Windows computer,, WIFI went rock solid (so far, 2 days now)
So I put on my thinkinghat and combatboots..hmmm..certificate..Googled and Googled..
I decided to upgrade the XP machine with SP 2 and SP3, and as of yet no new Windows Certificate-error messages, and no WIFI signal on or off, as of yet...WIFI certificates are in-bedded in those ServicePacks, so that seems to fix  the messages "no certificate".
It could also be SBS.."s*** Behind the Steeringwheel", because..
with DLINK a application named "D-Link RangeBooster N650 DWA-645" came along.
I use the RangeBooster and not Windows settings.
I think somehow this Rangebooster was launched twice, I had 2 active I found out.
so I have now secured that the Rangebooster application is just launched once.
I did not realize that the Rangebosster was launched in the background, so I launched it manually =SBS.
To boil this down, make sure you have SP2 and/or perhaps SP3 installed, make sure Rangebooster is not double started meaning it starts by itself, (mine does start up by itself) do not manually start it, and make sure you have unchecked in Windows "Wireless Network Connection Properties", "Use Windows to configure my wireless netowrk settings".  (I had mine unchecked=correct).
yesterday I ordered 3 new antennas to get some more DB gain from http://www.confero24.com//product_info.php?pName=5dbi-rpsma-24-ghz-omnidirectional-wlan-antenna&cName=5dbi-7dbi-24-ghz-dipole

Canīt say I am to happy ordering from a company that starts with "con". (confero)
but if they wish to "con" me on the few € for the 3 antennas I will survive that.



Logged

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #23 on: January 02, 2009, 12:15:26 PM »

Forgot to write that the recent EU Firmware update made my WIFI signal worse, but my "fixes" solved that,
as of yet..
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #24 on: January 02, 2009, 04:35:35 PM »

Why not take the 9 dBi antenae in their shop?
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #25 on: January 03, 2009, 03:22:37 AM »

Hi Eddie. I must have missed the 9db antennas..darn..can not figure out if those are compatible with the DIR-655 in the Access Point Compatibility list..
Well.. day 3, signal is still rock solid, like an overdose of viagra :D
Those antennas seems to be useless now.
Signal goes 3 levels down, 100% strength.
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #26 on: January 03, 2009, 04:15:23 AM »

The 9-s are compatible also.

Interesting to see the sudden improvement. I would say one of your neighbours is on vacation  or somebody turned off a transmitting device that caused a lot of interference?
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #27 on: January 03, 2009, 05:13:44 PM »

You might be right Eddie, most folks around me are gone due holidays.
However, after my "overhauls", the signal is still is intact, except for the PECE who dropped the connection
but came back on after a reboot. The Apple machine has rock solid signal all the time, it did not before.

I still think it is the Windows cpu that somehow "talks" to the DIR-655 to  screw up the WIFI,
especially with that "no certificate" messages, will see! neighboors are soon back home.
 ;)
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #28 on: January 04, 2009, 03:24:14 AM »

Just go Vista.  ;)
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

poker

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Possible solution for the signal drop outs
« Reply #29 on: January 04, 2009, 06:25:10 AM »

Trying my best to stay far away from Micro$ucks. Vista seems better however, but compared to Apple OS X,
Vista is still a bit  unpredictable on stability and networking.(Complicated)
Got 3 Macs and 3 XP and one Vista hooked up.
The Macs are never giving us problems but the Microsoft machines does, Vista least of them, must admit that..
So far, nock on wood, my DIR-655 is still rock solid Eddie!
Think I fixed it.

Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7