• September 19, 2019, 10:33:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."  (Read 31425 times)

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2009, 07:39:38 AM »

And the directory structure?
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #16 on: March 17, 2009, 02:04:52 PM »

I always had access to the files through win xp  explorer
At first look it does seem that the ps3 is not getting the up to date directory list

I will try to reset to default and manually reset my configuration

As well bt seems to be giving me inaccurate data about complete incomplete torrents
This needs to be reset as well

One odd thing that is still there I had one file that show 380mb in my ps3 media menu and doesn't play the whole file but when I access it from my computer it's 3gb and plays to the end same file
I wonder why
It is an mkv convert and split withv2vob but works fine on of

Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2009, 02:25:07 PM »

Just checked, the file structure did not get updated,

I have reset to default and leaving the unit unplugged right now

updating manually the setting rather than from the config file
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2009, 05:15:55 PM »

now im getting the error again

im going to try the reset again and the flash

I am wondering if I have a hard drive problem as these have been known to have problems
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2009, 08:17:33 PM »

no luck and no ideas left
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2009, 08:20:08 PM »

where are the dlink support people.  I emailed a ticket and they dont get involved in the forum

I am sure there is a confirguartion thing that needs to be reset or rebuilt


I can access all files from the win xp file explorer and play through the media play without problem
my ps3 cant see the upnp files structure refreshed

Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2009, 06:42:06 AM »

So this is no longer a problem, then?

Does it ever help to reflash the 1.06 firmware?  Could this fix things?

Also, I have some directories that I cannot delet on my DNS 323 drive tree

How do I reset my directory structure?

There are several potential causes, permissions being one, but if the problem is corruption of the file system, with no access to tools such as fsck, there is little you can do besides a refomat.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #22 on: March 18, 2009, 09:35:58 AM »

This dns has a mind of its own

Reflashed the unit 1.06 firmware
I reset the unit again with the back of the unit  press button with toothpick for 12 seconds waited.

Reset to factory settings without a drive in it.

Put my old drive in it and turned on the UPNP media server  turned off and put the 2x1.5gb drives in it

then turned unit on.

I tried to access it from ps3  last night and got a bunch of errors so I left it for the night

This morning the ps3 didnt see it, I unplugged the 323 for 2 minutes, plugged it back in and got the whole directory structure up to date.

I have not tried to access it from my web browser yet  but as mentioned I continue to have full access to the directory structure through window file exploer although havent checked that today yet.

The Dlink web configuration is the thing I get locked out of

I will update you tonight when I get back home if it is still working, but I set up a movie for the kids to watch before I left for work and looks good,  all directory structures poit to the default volume-1

We need a tool that will allow us to reset/delete the directory index that it creates as well as the settings
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #23 on: March 18, 2009, 10:25:11 AM »

What is this "directory index" you keep talking about?
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #24 on: March 18, 2009, 02:14:26 PM »

ok just got home,

My 323 works fine with ps3 now directory all seen

but I cannot log on to to the web configuration  as I get the same error in the subject

I am not 100% sure but I beleive there is a drive index file on the 323, this file gets refreshed and more often then not get corrupted.  I think power cycle will delete it but it doesnt seem to always work.

I dont know why the web interface doesnt work either


Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2009, 01:46:21 PM »

Are you trying to access the configuration from the Easy Search Utility only or have you tried manually entering the IP address into your browser as well?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2009, 06:01:52 PM »

Either way it's the same screen as 1st post in this thread
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2009, 06:00:23 AM »



http://www.megaupload.com/?d=MF4GF5TF

this is what my screen continues to see

since the file structure seems to be working, im not attempting to reconnect my bt or do anything else

reformat should not be a solution, please put a better webinterface together that can fix these problems
thanks


http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3584/3372815514_39b8460772.jpg?v=0
« Last Edit: March 21, 2009, 06:08:36 AM by coxwain »
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #28 on: March 21, 2009, 07:40:38 AM »

Something I've been trying to get you to understand - almost from jumpstreet.

You appear to have more than one problem - the error message you show comes from the so called magic numbers,which hold the serial numbers of the drives, being incorrect - and as you have already seen, this can be fixed by flashing the firmware.

YOU are a part of what's causing this, when you swap multiple drives in and out - you reset it without drives, installed an old drive, and then reinstalled the new pair of drives - the unit is not intended to be used like this and does not react well when drives are constantly swapped in and out.

You may have a second problem, a corrupt directory structure, and it's not inconceivable that your swapping drives in and out could be the cause of that, but I wouldn't go so far as say that it is.  The file system tools required to fix a defective file system are not available on this device, and yes, I agree they should be, but without them, what's next?  How long are you going to wait?

IF you have a corrupt file system, a reformat WILL fix it, a reformat will also fix the magic number issue.

Speaking from a background of 30+ years in IT support, which includes working on disks at a level that most people will never experience - we actually repaired the drives, replacing heads, platters, amplifier cards, etc. - there are some problems for which the only fix is a reformat, and there are others for which the quickest fix is a reformat.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

coxwain

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: DNS 323 Error: "The hard drives have been installed incorrectly."
« Reply #29 on: March 21, 2009, 07:59:41 AM »

I have only been switching my drive because I got the error and can't get access to the configuration menu with the drives in
Initially this same error just appeared

This error probably has more to do with the jbod file format structure

I find it curious that I got full access back after a reflash  which I would think has more to do with something corrupt on my drives

But I never get consistent behaviour from the unit
I
When I enter the files structure through my ps3 everything displays properly
But as I back out it show the top of the directory tree differently with a MNT path that I have no idea where that came from

It's too bad there wasn't something that could reinitialize the drive without reformat
 o
Logged
DNS-323  2x1.5TB Seagate Drives Separate Volumes
Volume1
Volume2
Playstation 3 80gb
Various computers and hardware, Win xp, Win 7,
1.07 firmware
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4