• December 03, 2020, 12:37:44 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343  (Read 17740 times)

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« on: November 28, 2008, 11:20:34 AM »

Hi

I created a raid 5 with the basic configuration and was running successfully for 1 month Recently DNS-343 lost it volumes and i was unable to see any data.

I tried to recreate raid 5 using the basic configuration, but now it insists on configuring raid 5 with JBOD. the message is "Create a raid based on the minimum space of the existing drives, the remaining space will become JBOD(linear) volume". I have upgrade to firmware 1.02. Below is my configuration

 Disk  Vendor  Model  Serial Number  Size
1  Seagate  ST31000340AS  9QJ02EQ5 1000 GB
2  Seagate  ST31000340AS  5QJ0KW5K 1000 GB
3  Seagate  ST31000340AS  9QJ1W7BY 1000 GB
4  Seagate  ST31000340AS  5QJ0KTVS 1000 GB

i simply want a raid 5 config as per original configuration. Can anybody help with this.
 

Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 11:50:46 AM »

What happens if you try to create a RAID5 array of the maximum size - which should be 3 TB give or take?
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 12:59:04 PM »

. by default 4 disks you would loose one and have a total of 3tb. Where do specify size
Logged

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2008, 02:07:45 PM »

I have also noticed if you choose to mirror using a basic configuration it also mixes this with JBOD. It is performing as if you choose a customised configuration in the web GUI.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2008, 02:25:45 PM »

I haven't used the DNS-343 and the RAID functionality is disabled in the online emulator - I have the DNS-323 and after I select the RAID type it prompts for the volume size and any remaining space is formated JBOD.

I'm assuming the DNS-343 does something similar, in which case, selecting RAID5 (or RAID5 with JBOD) should prompt for the volume size and as long as you go with the maximum array size, it should not create any JBOD volume.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2008, 02:37:13 PM »

Appreciate you help.
This is the config on the DNS-343. I tick Basic config, then tick raid 5. click next the message "Create a raid based on the minimum space of the existing drives, the remaining space will become JBOD(linear) volume". appears i click okay then i am prompt for ext 2 or ext 3. i choose ext 2. click next and then it starts formating. no prompt for size. I have also installed in a windows machine and deleted all the partions formated in windows. it st want to mix JBOD with raid 5. this is driving me nuts
 

HARD DRIVE CONFIGURATION:
Change the hard drive configuration or format the newly inserted hard drive(s).Notice that your data will be erased during the process.
 

 Disk  Vendor  Model  Serial Number  Size
1  Seagate  ST31000340AS  9QJ02EQ5 1000 GB
2  Seagate  ST31000340AS  5QJ0KW5K 1000 GB
3  Seagate  ST31000340AS  5QJ0KTVS 1000 GB
4  Seagate  ST31000340AS  9QJ1W7BY 1000 GB
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 Basic Configuration :
Select a RAID type:   
    Standard (Individual Disks)
    JBOD (Linear - Combines All Disks)
    RAID 1 (Mirroring - Keeps Data Safe)
    RAID 5 (Striping with Rotating Parity)
 
 Custom Configuration :
       
Select a RAID type:
   
     
 

 
 
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2008, 05:09:43 PM »

I notice you say

Quote
I have also installed in a windows machine and deleted all the partions formated in windows. it st want to mix JBOD with raid 5. this is driving me nuts

If you are formatting the disks in Windows and then transferring them to the DNS-343, this MAY be related to your problem - I have found the DNS-323 can be quite unpredictable when disks with partitions are inserted - try removing the partitions and leaving the disks completely clean and see what happens.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2008, 05:38:51 PM »

What application have you used to remove the partitions.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2008, 05:53:37 PM »

Diskpart - it's the standard disk partitioning tool that comes with Windows XP and Vista
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2008, 07:51:34 PM »

Just tried that no luck. I may try and reload old verson of firmware, if i can find an older version

appreciate you help..
Logged

henryluiz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2008, 04:56:36 PM »

does anyone know where i can get firmware version 1.01 for the DNS-343
Logged

chaicka

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2008, 03:12:07 AM »

does anyone know where i can get firmware version 1.01 for the DNS-343

I have the v1.01 firmware but I am not sure if I am allowed to post it or not.
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2008, 09:00:58 AM »

What is happening when you continue with the format as RAID5? Does it create a single RAID5 volume? In you first post you mention you first configuration before you had an issue, where you using RAID5 and JBOD and you problem is you can no longer get the option to create the JBOD as well?

 Using 4 1TB drives you will see the message "Create a raid based on the minimum space of the existing drives, the remaining space will become JBOD(linear) volume" but using all 1TB driver there will be no remaining space to create a JBOD volume. If one of the drives was smaller it would then create a smaller RAID5 configuration and the remaining space would create a JBOD volume_2.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2008, 02:47:31 PM by ECF »
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

gavro

  • Guest
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2008, 02:25:21 AM »

Hi guys, I have similar problem with little bit different end. I bought DNS-343 (rev.1.02) two day ago with 4 HDD:
Slot Vendor Model Serial Number Size

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
1 Seagate ST31000340AS  6QJ00V1Q 1000 G 
2 Seagate ST31000340AS  5QJ0QPR1 1000 G 
3 Seagate ST31000340AS  5QJ0NYGS 1000 G 
4 Seagate ST31000340AS  9QJ2DL9T 1000 G

I've tried create RAID 5 from standard configuration, I've accepted the message :"Create a raid based on the minimum space of the existing drives, the remaining space will become JBOD(linear) volume" and then system started formating of HDDs. Last 32 hours formating stalled on 94%. can I reboot the system or I'll have to to wait for the end of formating process? Thanks for your suggestion.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2008, 10:01:15 AM by gavro »
Logged

hilaireg

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 348
Re: Unable to create a basic configuration raid 5 - DNS-343
« Reply #14 on: December 20, 2008, 11:04:29 AM »

Not sure if you have managed to reconfigure your DNS-343 for RAID5; in case you haven't:

1. Save your DNS-343 Configuration.
2. Reset your DNS-343 to factory default.
3. Power-down the DNS-343.
4. Remove the HDD's from the unit and use a disk utility to remove *all* partitions that appear on each HDD.  Windows Disk Management, Paragon, or other HDD utility should allow you to do this.

5. Insert your HDD's back in the unit - preferably not in the same bays they were in.
6. Power-on the DNS-343.
7. Run the Wizard Configuration utility to prepare your HDD's.

If you log into the DNS-343 and are presented with a message that the HDD's are in the incorrect order, change the Address Bar URL in your web browser to:

http://<DNS343>/web/formatHD/raid_wizard0.asp?id=4773971

<DNS343> = The NetBIOS name of your DNS-343 or IP Address


8. Restore your DNS-343 configuration (optional).



Notes
~~~~
- I suggest powering-off and powering-on the DNS-343 at least once, once the format is completed.
- On one DNS-343, I had to format each HDD as separate volumes and then reformat as RAID5; wasn't able to reproduce this since.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2