• November 13, 2019, 01:09:45 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: The specified network password is not correct  (Read 33731 times)

profex

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
The specified network password is not correct
« on: November 17, 2008, 01:25:57 PM »

Hello,

I have a DNS 323, configured with static IP address, current firmware version is 1.05.
It has 57 users and 57 resources (to be easy to manage I created one user for each resource I want to share).
After reboot, some resources can't be accessed (to be precisely 31 of them), the error is:
The specified network password is not correct.

I use batch files to connect resources, few resources in each batch file, based on person profile.
Some resources are being mapped successfully while some of them gives me the error in subject.

If I go set the password again is working. Until next reboot.
The problem is that more than half of resources create this issue and it takes some time to set up passwords again.

I tried running Wizard (hoping that this will store permanently the passwords). Surprisingly the reboot after running Wizard is not resetting the passwords but is also not storing permanently the passwords because as soon as I do a Tools --> System --> Restart, my error is present again.

Anyone can help?

Profex
Logged
Profex

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 02:32:44 PM »

Do you have anti-virus software on the PC? This will cause the PC to do this in most cases.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

profex

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 11:49:50 PM »

Yes, I do have antivirus.
But this is not the problem.
Because as soon as I set the password again is working.

It is like some resource's password are not permanently stored.
Logged
Profex

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 08:33:40 AM »

Yeah. Didn't you say the issue occurs after you reboot then you have to enter the username and password again to connect?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

profex

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2008, 02:03:28 PM »

Sorry, I meant to say after I reboot the DNS 323.
Logged
Profex

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2008, 08:43:15 AM »

Is this a domain network environment?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

profex

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2008, 10:17:12 AM »

No, is a workgroup.
Logged
Profex

ECF

  • Poweruser
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2008, 04:16:46 PM »

Is this happening on all computers trying to access the resource?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

profex

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2008, 01:14:51 AM »

Yes, on all.

Anyway, I reset DNS-323 to factory settings, changed HDDs and for the moment I created only on share (Volume_1) on this device, keep under supervision for a while.
For the moment I use it as backup for some folders stored on other two DNS-323.

Please close the topic, unsolved but not needed anymore.

Profex
Logged
Profex

KK

  • Guest
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2009, 12:52:57 AM »

I am facing this problem and it is quite serious.

After some days during which time I do not touch anything other than run daily ROBOCOPYs, out of the blue, the connection will die because the password is invalid.  Even if I try to map the drive again, I get:

C:\>net use \\ES01\Volume_1 /user:ergo /Persistent:yes
The password is invalid for \\ES01\Volume_1.
  <--this is not an error as I didn't enter password on command line

Enter the password for 'ergo' to connect to 'ES01':
System error 86 has occurred.

The specified network password is not correct.

C:\>


Even if I reset the user password on the DNS-323, it will say that the password is not correct.  After waiting a few hours, I try again and it works.


If you need more info let me know what you need.  I am using it in the plainest way possible - just as a storage box.
Logged

ttmcmurry

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2009, 12:49:16 PM »

KK--

In regard to your robocopy - are you using this in a batch file? 

If so (and assuming you don't need the drive to be mapped all the time - only for the robocopy process) then it might make sense to put the net use command in the batch file and create a mapping for that session and delete the mapping when the process is complete.  On the DNS-323:

1) Create a user "robocopy" with a dummy password "aaaaa"
2) Create a share specifically for the robocopy process & give only user robocopy R/W access to the share
3) Back on your computer(s), use this batch file (modify where applicable):

@ECHO OFF
echo Mapping Temporary Network Drive
net use z: \\dns323\Volume_1\robocopy /user:robocopy aaaaa
echo Begin copy process
robocopy c:\path\to\source z:\subfolder1
echo Copy complete, remove network drive
net use z: /delete
echo Done

4) Add the batch file to Windows Scheduled Tasks to run whenever you want.
5) If you want to secure this a little, you can create a folder for the batch file and set the permissions on the folder such that only the administrator (not administrators group) and the user launching the batch file (usually NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM) has read/list/execute privileges.  You could also use a stronger password and update the batch file as appropriate. :)
« Last Edit: July 04, 2009, 12:58:39 PM by ttmcmurry »
Logged

KK

  • Guest
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2009, 12:47:27 AM »

ttmcmurry, thanks.  Is this supposed to correct the problem or is this just another method of running a batch job?

My robocopy is run from a bat file.  But I have my DNS323 mapping made persistent and created outside the batch job.  If it is the persistent mapping that is causing the password problem I could give this suggestion a try.  But is the persistent connection really the cause of the password problem?  Can someone please confirm this.

I have no hard evidence but the password problem seems to be come up more frequently now.  I had a trouble-free period running from Feb through June.  Then in June it happened twice, the last time last week.  Now, today, it is happening again.

Thanks.
Logged

ttmcmurry

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2009, 06:28:28 PM »

The only issue the modified batch file can attempt to troubleshoot is the *persistence* of mapped drives. 

If you use the batch file and it always works, then the following would be true:

1)  there is an issue between the 323 and windows relating to smb user/pass credentials; and...
2)  the issue takes time to manifest itself
3)  temporarily mapping a drive (then subsequently removing it) proves authentication is working; however...
4)  after a specific amount of time a drive stays mapped, no credentials work

...it would probably be a mutual issue related to both the 323 and window.

My first gut instinct is "time" - is the time on all of your systems AND the 323 in synch with no more than 5 minutes' deviation?  Even if the hour is off (dst bug), it's the minutes that really count.
Logged

KK

  • Guest
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2009, 05:08:01 PM »

Thanks for the tip on timing.  Forgot about that.  Synchronized the time and the problem seems to go away.

My problem is that the box is in a data center where every port is blocked unless specificially requested to be opened.  The time server port was blocked and the DNS 323 time went too far off.
Logged

dijitald

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The specified network password is not correct
« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2009, 05:10:27 PM »

I'm having the exact same problem. I've tried a number of things, resetting the device, rebooting my machines and the device, and haven't been making progress. I have 3 machines, an XP, Vista, and Windows 7 machine. I finally got the Vista machine to connect after the reset. But I still can't get the Win7 machine to work. I'm really not sure what combination of things I tried helped the Vista machine, but I think it had something to do with the fact that I was trying to map a drive, using an alternative id/pw combo that only differed in the password from an account on my machine. By that I mean I created an account User1 on the device with the password Pass1. On my machine, I already had a User1 account, but it had a password of Pass2. When I mapped the drive, i told it to use User1/Pass1, but it failed every time. After I did the reset, I also made sure that the two user/pass matched. I don't know which helped.

But now i'm trying to do this on my domain joined laptop. So obviously the accounts can't match unless I call my device "Northamerica" (that's my domain name). I've made sure that there's no overlap of accounts on the laptop and device. and I still can't figure it out. When it asks for my username i use "devicename\username" because if I don't specify the domain, it assumes my default domain. I've verified this format works on the other machine.

what am I doing wrong??? how should this work? mapping a simple drive shouldn't be this difficult.






Logged
Pages: [1] 2