• October 21, 2020, 01:27:00 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2  (Read 7427 times)

DomC

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« on: March 22, 2009, 07:28:13 PM »

I have a single (500G) drive in the unit it formatted as Volume_1 the drive is in 1st (LEFT)  slot but shows as slot #2 in summary. I noticed it after I upgraded the firmware from ver 1.04 to 1.06    It may have been that way with 1.04, I am not sure.      Is this normal?
         Thanks
          DomC

Logged

bigclaw

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2009, 07:44:14 PM »

The "first" bay is the right bay (as the unit facing you).
Logged

DomC

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2009, 07:50:53 PM »

Thanks!
I did not see anything in the doc about Bay numbers.
Thanks again.... DomC
 
Logged

Zardoz66

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2009, 07:51:20 PM »

Right slot is #1 Left slot is #2 this is a hardware phycal location. when you format the first disk it will be called volume_1 no matter what slot it's in as this is a format "lable" thats given to the disk.

this makes me wonder if this a part of the problem of the format bug when adding a second drive. as the volume name changes and bam.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2009, 07:53:39 PM by Zardoz66 »
Logged
Zardoz66

DGL-4300 v1.9 | DAP-1522 v1.20 | DGS-2208 | DPR-1260 v1.24 | DNS-323 v1.6
1Gb JF=9k single drive mode
1 Seagate ST3300831AS 3NF1E956 300 G 
2 Seagate ST3300831AS 3NF1E03G 300 G

DomC

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2009, 05:35:51 AM »

If I remember correctly, the "Quick Start" instructions say.....
'If installing only 1 drive use the left bay'.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2009, 08:11:02 AM »

Right slot is #1 Left slot is #2 this is a hardware phycal location. when you format the first disk it will be called volume_1 no matter what slot it's in as this is a format "lable" thats given to the disk.

this makes me wonder if this a part of the problem of the format bug when adding a second drive. as the volume name changes and bam.

That might be the case if you were formatting based on the volume name - which I doubt - I believe that has to be done based on the physical drive identifier which would be sda & sdb - those don't change.

Assuming standard disks, Volume_1 is the logical name for the second partition on the first disk or sda2, Volume_2 would be the second partition on the second disk or sdb2, if you're running RAID or JBOD then these names will point elsewhere.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

rcblackwell

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2009, 05:13:55 PM »

If I remember correctly, the "Quick Start" instructions say.....
'If installing only 1 drive use the left bay'.


You are correct. The exact wording is "Note: If only one 3.5” SATA drive is available place this drive in the LEFT bay while the opening (front) of the DNS-323 is facing you." However buried away in the FAQ section of DLinks Web is the following;


If you start with one drive, and it is in the left bay, it will be Volume 1. And when you add the second drive it will become Volume 2 and the right drive will become Volume 1.

At this point, when the user accesses Volume 1, it will appear as if all of the information is gone, but itīs actually on Volume 2.

If you switch the physical position of the first drive to the Right bay, you will be able to access the files.

The reason this happens is:

There are logical volumes and physical volumes.

A physical volume refers to the actual hard drive.
A logical volume refers to a formatted partition.

# In Standard mode with one disk , the physical volume is irrelevant and the logical volume is Volume 1 regardless of which bay the drive is in.

# In Standard mode with two disks, the physical location of the disks will determine which volume is which drive. Volume 1 is always on the right and Volume 2 is always on the left.

Funny thing; the full manual doesn't mention either of the above points

Bob
« Last Edit: March 23, 2009, 05:23:18 PM by rcblackwell »
Logged
Bob Blackwell
Pickering, ON

AFTICARR.COM

Zardoz66

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2009, 05:56:44 PM »

rcblackwell, and this is where I think that the software might get confused on the logical level, when you ad a disk the volumle/physical names change and bam the unit formats the wrong drive.
Logged
Zardoz66

DGL-4300 v1.9 | DAP-1522 v1.20 | DGS-2208 | DPR-1260 v1.24 | DNS-323 v1.6
1Gb JF=9k single drive mode
1 Seagate ST3300831AS 3NF1E956 300 G 
2 Seagate ST3300831AS 3NF1E03G 300 G

netmation

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2009, 12:20:54 AM »

So is the manual wrong.  If installing one drive initially, best to install it in the right slot?
Logged

netmation

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2009, 04:50:18 PM »

No reply to this?  Before I set mine up with 1 drive would it be best to put it in the right slot looking at the unit, so it will be labeled Vol 1 properly, or the left slide as the manual states?  Thanks.
Logged

madpenguin

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2009, 06:50:19 PM »

rcblackwell, and this is where I think that the software might get confused on the logical level, when you ad a disk the volumle/physical names change and bam the unit formats the wrong drive.

Yes. Pretty sure it has something to do with it. I tried removing the left drive (think it was the left bay) in a raid 1 and replacing with a larger drive. Wanted them to sync and then remove the right drive to do the same thing. I'm sure you can guess what happened.

Maybe we'll see a fix 2 or 3 years from now if we're lucky.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 06:53:39 PM by madpenguin »
Logged

Zardoz66

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Drive in 1st (LEFT) slot shows as slot #2
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2009, 11:36:47 PM »

Yes. Pretty sure it has something to do with it. I tried removing the left drive (think it was the left bay) in a raid 1 and replacing with a larger drive. Wanted them to sync and then remove the right drive to do the same thing. I'm sure you can guess what happened.

Maybe we'll see a fix 2 or 3 years from now if we're lucky.

it does not shock me. also what you are doing will not work anyways. you would need to make a new array to use the larger disks, or it would just be same size as before.
Logged
Zardoz66

DGL-4300 v1.9 | DAP-1522 v1.20 | DGS-2208 | DPR-1260 v1.24 | DNS-323 v1.6
1Gb JF=9k single drive mode
1 Seagate ST3300831AS 3NF1E956 300 G 
2 Seagate ST3300831AS 3NF1E03G 300 G