• June 24, 2021, 09:25:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can A DIR-815 Be Setup As A Repeater??  (Read 16527 times)

DJboutit

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Can A DIR-815 Be Setup As A Repeater??
« on: May 24, 2011, 01:16:06 AM »

Can a dir-815 be setup as a repeater?? I have a Linksys wrt54g as the main router can the dir-815 be used to extend the wifi range of the Linksys router.  If the dir-815 can be setup as a repeater how would I go about setting it up as a repeater??
Logged

smlunatick

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: Can A DIR-815 Be Setup As A Repeater??
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 06:40:55 AM »

Not with "stock" firmwares.   The DIR router usually can not connect to another router router to "expand" the same wireless network.
Logged

DJboutit

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can A DIR-815 Be Setup As A Repeater??
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 10:19:40 AM »

If I update the firmware can I use the 815 as a repeater
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49726
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can A DIR-815 Be Setup As A Repeater??
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2011, 10:38:21 AM »

Not with "stock" firmwares.   The DIR router usually can not connect to another router router to "expand" the same wireless network.

 Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 07:35:56 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.