• October 20, 2020, 08:22:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Data Migration to new drives  (Read 6242 times)

Jetpac

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Data Migration to new drives
« on: September 14, 2011, 09:41:06 AM »

I have a 1tb Drive installed and completely full.

I am planing on buying 2x2tb drives to replace the current full 1 tb drive and running in RAID 1.

How do i go about getting the data already on the the full 1tb disk to the 2tb then having both 2tb installed with RAID1?

I only have these 3  disks (old 1tb, 2x2tb) available to use.
Logged

demogar

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Data Migration to new drives
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2011, 09:57:19 AM »

I guess you'll need to do something like this:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=41167.0
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Data Migration to new drives
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2011, 12:45:55 PM »

You could install one of the new 2TB drives into the open bay as a standard drive and transfer you data over. Once that is done power down the unit remove the 1TB drive and insert your second 2TB drive and boot back up. You should get an option to create a RAID 1 if you want or another standard drive with the existing 2TB drive with your data remaining intact. You have your Backup 1TB drive if anything does not work out in the conversion to RAID1 just to be safe.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2011, 12:48:20 PM by ECF »
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Data Migration to new drives
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2011, 01:18:29 PM »

You could install one of the new 2TB drives into the open bay as a standard drive and transfer you data over. Once that is done power down the unit remove the 1TB drive and insert your second 2TB drive and boot back up. You should get an option to create a RAID 1 if you want or another standard drive with the existing 2TB drive with your data remaining intact. You have your Backup 1TB drive if anything does not work out in the conversion to RAID1 just to be safe.

Is this feature new to the DNS-320 and DNS-325?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Data Migration to new drives
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2011, 02:29:39 PM »

The option to create a RAID1 with a new drive added to an existing drive with data? No it can be done on the DNS-323,321, and 343 as well as long as the new drive is not formatted in ext2/3.   
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Data Migration to new drives
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2011, 02:38:03 PM »

So as long as the partitions are removed from the new HDD prior to formatting (e.g. mount in a PC and wipe), this process should work in the legacy DNS units as well?
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: Data Migration to new drives
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2011, 02:40:47 PM »

Yup.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream