• January 28, 2020, 05:11:22 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-320 much better?  (Read 27462 times)

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
DNS-320 much better?
« on: December 05, 2010, 04:13:59 PM »

Just wondering if anyone has one and if it's really that much different to the 323 in terms of features and performance. I.e would there be any point upgrading from a 323?

The 320 is going for 69 in the UK vs. 86 for a 323.
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

lookingforinfo

  • Guest
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2010, 05:10:00 PM »

I have found three or four references to the new 320 and 325.  Google "dns-320".

http://www.shadowandy.net/2010/11/d-link-dns-320-layman-speed-test.htm

http://khampung.com/released-d-link-sharecenter-dns-320-dns-325-with-aluminum-frame/


Both have just two drive bays but more and faster memory.  It looks like there will be more software features supported.  Time will tell.

Logged

tfiveash

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2010, 10:42:11 PM »

After we have had NO support for over a year are you going to trust D-Link for any support on this product.  I sure would not waste any money on them and hope that you will get support.

Terry
Logged

garyhgaryh

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2010, 10:49:13 PM »

After we have had NO support for over a year are you going to trust D-Link for any support on this product.  I sure would not waste any money on them and hope that you will get support.

Terry


I'll have to agree with Terry here.  Waiting for firmware updates is not a fun process and it seems like no one really know what's going on over there.  There's just selling the products with no real customer support.

Get a synology drive.  When they update their software, it seems to apply to an entire range or class of nas.  They also have a nifty ip camera app....

Gary
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2010, 01:34:34 PM »

Not everyone wants bells and whistles. My 323 does its job as network storage and media streaming. Was just wondering if performance was much better with the new model. 69 is certainly attractive, I paid over 100 for my 323 2 years ago.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2010, 01:40:41 PM by jamieburchell »
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

peas

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2011, 01:14:26 AM »

Speed is slightly better than the 323
http://www.shadowandy.net/2010/11/d-link-dns-320-layman-speed-test.htm

Not worth upgrading IMHO.  D-Link's track record on support is spotty, would rather try my odds at the casino than count on firmware fixes.
Logged

jasonsbx

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2011, 11:15:21 PM »

Not everyone wants bells and whistles. My 323 does its job as network storage and media streaming. Was just wondering if performance was much better with the new model. 69 is certainly attractive, I paid over 100 for my 323 2 years ago.
My experience, I use two Seagate LP drives in raid is that there is some performance improvement. However I haven't ever got results frequently posted for both DNS-323 or DNS-320 including from normal 7200 drives previously used in 323.
Some indication as follows:-
Write 14.5MBs  or ~12% Network Utilisation Windows taskman.
Only slightly faster on 320 at 14.9MBs
Read on 323  16.5MBs or ~15% Network Utilisation Windows taskman.
Read on 320  22MBs or ~23% Network Utilisation Windows taskman.
I do find 323 can vary a bit and often utilisation is around 9% perhaps a function of slower CPU.

320 is obviously a cheaper case though not overly so and looks more like bookshelf speaker. Functionality has be spruced up and a few extra niceties added including power on after power failure.


 
Logged

ninjainthenight

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DNS-320 much better?
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2011, 02:31:18 PM »

its a good out of the box drive but unfortunately the ajaxlorer software that is bundled is an incomplete product.  once mapped into windows / ubuntu it works fiine over LAN but due to the bundles software full control over the net is much harder work than it should be
Logged

raj_shortcircuit

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
ISCSI
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2011, 08:35:37 AM »

IS ANY ONE HAVE IDEA HOW TO INSTALL MORE PAKAGES LIKE ISCSI

Logged