• September 20, 2019, 03:33:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: New to FTP setup.  (Read 13289 times)

rayne

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #15 on: November 03, 2010, 12:11:01 PM »

I just recently tried to set up my DNS-323 FTP server and have hit a brick wall.  Here's what I've done so far..

- Assigned static internal IP to DNS-323
- Configured and started FTP service on DNS-323
- Successfully connected to FTP server internally over LAN
- Forwarded Port 21 in router configuration to DNS-323
- Set up DYNDNS.org account

Today I tried to connect to my FTP server at work and I could not connect.

Status:   Resolving address of xxxxxxx.dyndns.org
Status:   Connecting to xx.xxx.xx.xxx:21...
Error:   Connection timed out
Error:   Could not connect to server

If I'm understanding this error correctly this means that I can't even see my router?  Is there a setting that its using to "hide" itself from the outside world?  Or is the IP address for my DYNDNS account wrong already?  I know that my external IP address can change occasionally, which is why I installed the updater tool, so this seems unlikely?
Logged

PteJack

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #16 on: November 03, 2010, 12:33:05 PM »

Good Idea Jamie, I'll do that and delete the posts in this thread.

Rayne, I've moved the thread to a new topic.  Go there with your questions.

Pte Jack
« Last Edit: November 03, 2010, 12:37:33 PM by PteJack »
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #17 on: November 03, 2010, 02:12:29 PM »

I just recently tried to set up my DNS-323 FTP server and have hit a brick wall.  Here's what I've done so far..

- Assigned static internal IP to DNS-323
- Configured and started FTP service on DNS-323
- Successfully connected to FTP server internally over LAN
- Forwarded Port 21 in router configuration to DNS-323
- Set up DYNDNS.org account

Today I tried to connect to my FTP server at work and I could not connect.

Status:   Resolving address of xxxxxxx.dyndns.org
Status:   Connecting to xx.xxx.xx.xxx:21...
Error:   Connection timed out
Error:   Could not connect to server

If I'm understanding this error correctly this means that I can't even see my router?  Is there a setting that its using to "hide" itself from the outside world?  Or is the IP address for my DYNDNS account wrong already?  I know that my external IP address can change occasionally, which is why I installed the updater tool, so this seems unlikely?

The idea of dynamic DNS services is that your router or the 323 updates the record on your account with your external IP address. You need to make sure that's setup.
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

rayne

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #18 on: November 03, 2010, 02:20:04 PM »

The idea of dynamic DNS services is that your router or the 323 updates the record on your account with your external IP address. You need to make sure that's setup.

dyndns had a utility that I installed that runs on my PC that does the same thing.  Is this not the same as it running on the 323 or router?
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #19 on: November 03, 2010, 04:03:34 PM »

I've never seen such a utility so I can't comment. The advantage of using it on your router is that it knows when to update the record. Also means you don't need a PC on. The NAS has the same facility too but I'd favour the router doing the job if possible.
I guess you need to determin if resolving to your IP is the issue.
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

scaramanga

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #20 on: November 03, 2010, 04:59:02 PM »

I'm a DynDNS user myself, and in the past used a PC client to update my DNS record (if memory serves me right, it was called DeeEnEs) before I got a router.
When your IP changes, it may take some time before the client identifies that (minutes, probably, should be configurable) and updates your DynDNS account. When that happens I suggest you wait a bit (30mins, 1hr) and try again.
You can login to the DynDNS account to check when was it last updated.

Try FTP-ing from home using the sub-domain name you registered in DynDNS and see if that works.
Logged
DNS-323 HW Rev. C1 FW 1.08 fun_plug 0.5
2 x Western Digital WD10EARS-00Y5B1 in Standard mode
(LLC changed to 5 minutes. Partitions aligned to 4K boundary)

PteJack

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #21 on: November 03, 2010, 05:20:24 PM »

dyndns had a utility that I installed that runs on my PC that does the same thing.  Is this not the same as it running on the 323 or router?

True, most PC DNS Clients will grab the internal IP address from the computer and try to update the DNS Server with that IP rather than the External IP.  This is why it is better to update from the Router if you can. If the PC DNS Client fails, you'll have to log into your DNS provider and update it manually.

PteJack
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2010, 08:08:08 AM »

I have never seen a dynamic DNS client that would do that from any source, and I've used DynDNS and NO-IP for many years.  I've used the PC clients as well as the NAS based clients, and they've always updated perfectly.  The only time I tried to use a router based client, it was buggy and didn't renew the account at DynDNS properly, so I kept getting expiration messages.

I don't even know how this could happen, given the way the dynamic DNS clients function, so I'd suggest you look elsewhere for this issue.

Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

rayne

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #23 on: November 04, 2010, 10:32:30 AM »

I was stumped because I don't think it was the DDNS service that was the problem, because even if I tried to ping my router with the actual WAN IP address it wasn't finding it.  The DDNS was actually resolving the address to the right IP address, and the PC client was actually updating the address correctly as well.  After scratching my head last night for a few hours I think I decided to phone up my ISP and see why I couldn't ping my modem and they tell me that they are blocking certain ports.  Such as port 21 & 80!  So apparently they dont allow any of their clients to run personal FTP sites, web sites, etc.  I was dumbfounded.  Think I'll be looking for another ISP!
Logged

PteJack

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #24 on: November 04, 2010, 12:31:14 PM »

Or forwarding another port maybe?

PteJack
Logged

rayne

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #25 on: November 04, 2010, 12:44:38 PM »

I cant ping my modem from outside my network.  At all.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #26 on: November 04, 2010, 01:21:00 PM »

Your ISP may also be blocking icmp.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #27 on: November 05, 2010, 06:44:41 AM »

Usually, the failure to ping your router is the router blocking the pings.  A plain modem won't respond to a ping, it doesn't have the capability.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

rayne

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #28 on: November 05, 2010, 08:16:52 AM »

Sorry, I have a Siemens Gigaset SE567 which is a DSL Ethernet modem/router.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: New to FTP setup.
« Reply #29 on: November 05, 2010, 08:22:41 AM »

Here's the manual for that router: http://downeydesign.com/eXtplorer/downloads/docs/SiemensGigaset-SE567-SE568.pdf

It should be in there... :)
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.
Pages: 1 [2]