• October 20, 2020, 04:38:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.  (Read 26857 times)

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2010, 08:06:54 PM »

Hey guys.  I'm following this as best I can and sometimes on my PS3 my NAT Type is moderate.  Is that supposed to occur or should it always be Open after doing these things?  Also is my I.P. under the Local I.P. Range you mention above supposed to be the same as the one you show in the tutorial.  My shows 192.168.0.196 just like your picture.  Thanks for all the help your trying to give a noob lol......Todd

        I have reposted a new version of this thread over here on the psn forums. Hopefully it will be posted here on the D link forum soon. In the meanwhile go review the new and improved version that I have posted here. Btw the nat tyoe you are getting is on call of duty am right? or what game are you talking about? http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/PlayStation-Network/Gaming-and-GameFuel-Setup-For-PlayStation-3-amp-PSN-DGL-4500/td-p/45499731

--
Chris
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 12:54:03 PM by LookIntoMyEyees »
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

kracey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2010, 03:49:57 PM »

looking at the guide it says: Additional Information:

 As always I am contently upgrading and fixing and optimizing rules so you might want to check back on these rules once in a while.               

These rules will not work if your Modem has its own router inside, you must call your ISP and have them bridge it to your DGL 4500.

Does that mean that I can not set it to open the ports in your guide?
 
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2010, 08:26:34 PM »

looking at the guide it says: Additional Information:

 As always I am contently upgrading and fixing and optimizing rules so you might want to check back on these rules once in a while.                

These rules will not work if your Modem has its own router inside, you must call your ISP and have them bridge it to your DGL 4500.

Does that mean that I can not set it to open the ports in your guide?
 

  Dam I kinda knew I should not have included that part in the thread -_- if only I knew it was going to bring more confusion. It's fine dude just set it up and if you have issues we will try to resolve those.

What, does your modem have a internal router inside? If you don't know than why ask that question? If you knew than yes I believe port forward will have issues since there will be two routers in the network. Have a great day, Cya

--
Chris
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 08:40:20 PM by LookIntoMyEyees »
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

Slimshiesty

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2010, 11:05:25 AM »

Thanks L.I.M.E.,

Works like a charm.. so far.

Do you or anyone else have Gaming Rule settings for Starcraft2 and WoW ?

I have them added per application, but SC2 shows no TCP ports, and WoW shows no UDP ports.
Was just wondering if theres a more optimal setting.
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2010, 01:41:46 PM »

Np, Slimshiesty I Got the ports for Starcraft 2 and World of Warcraft.
 
Simply follow this link for star craft 2 ports and follow the guide.
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/DGL-4500/StarCraft_II.htm

Simply follow this link for World Of WarCraft and follow the guide.
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/DGL-4500/World_of_Warcraft.htm

 Also you might want to check this new version of the thread.
http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/PlayStation-Network/Gaming-and-GameFuel-Setup-For-PlayStation-3-amp-PSN-DGL-4500/td-p/45499731

Like always Cya take care & have a great day.

--
Chris
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

00Vette

  • Guest
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #20 on: September 23, 2010, 08:18:41 PM »

I went to the PS forum and printed out your write up.  I updated my router settings today and just went to play some COD MW2. It works much better! Thanks alot bro!!! Much appreciated. You have really helped alot of us out here.

So I tested it and although I'm playing online wirelessly... I have full bars on MW2. And my house is pretty good size.  My router is upstairs and the PS3 is downstairs and they are on oposite sides of the house. Pretty much as far away from eachother as possible. LOL!!! Previously with this router I would get a max or 3 out of 4 bars. So far no lag.. but did get kicked out due to MW2 server sucking so bad.

Works great man! Thanks alot. Now I think I need figure out how to prioritize the rest of my network like that.
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2010, 05:12:26 AM »

Thank you for the great feedback 00Vette. I am glad the rules have helped you achieve a better online experience. I hope you enjoy them and continue to. Like always I am always working on new ways to improve it so check back once in a while I might improve them, but for now they are alright the way they are.

--
Chris
« Last Edit: September 24, 2010, 11:12:11 AM by LookIntoMyEyees »
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

zippoking

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #22 on: September 24, 2010, 06:04:31 AM »

For myself, playing PS3 online via wireless, I found (albeit minimal testing) that it seemed to work better for me leaving the uplink speed at auto rather than setting it to what the cable provider states.  I have though noticed that I usually get more like 1Mbps rather than the 2 I'm suppose to get (Comcast 12/2) although I routinely measure 20Mbps down, so guess I can't complain too much.  I have a DOCSIS 3 modem too, but I know that doesn't help much for down speeds, at least not this one (SB6120).
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #23 on: September 24, 2010, 11:16:27 AM »

IF your ISP provides you with 1Mbs upload but when you do a speed test you get 2Mbs than you should leave it auto or set it to 2Mbs/3Mbs. I always Like going above and beyond which can be bad or good. That's just me. Everyones network structures are different so you might just want to leave Automatic Uplink Speed : enabled. Btw zippoking are you using the gaming fuel rules? If so how are they doing for you? & like always guys have a great day cya & take care!

--
Chris
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

zippoking

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #24 on: September 24, 2010, 11:39:19 AM »

Its the other way around for me, they say it should be 2 (so that's what I tried as the setting) but I measure it to be 1 usually.  Maybe if I put in 1 that'll be better, but i don't want to restrict it either.  I wonder if setting the router to 2 but only being capable of 1 at some given point in time is also restrictive in some way, like it thinks it can do more than what's possible leading to some buffer overflow or something.  I have no idea how that stuff works though for this setting.  Maybe a MOD could tell us...

As for the rules, I have them on for MW2, but I thought we said that they don't make too much difference for console gaming anyway.  Also, my network doesn't usually see much additional traffic when I'm playing games, as its just 2 people at my place, and GF is usually watchin TV or some minimal internet surfing.  But I was torrenting something the other day with a total of ~500k down, 100k up and didn't notice any issues gaming.  But that's not much on a torrent, compared to some.
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2010, 12:49:19 PM »

Ok Thanks for this information. I would suggest you if you do in fact set up the gaming fuel rules you should use the one posted over at playstation forums. Those are recent and proven much better than current ones here.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2010, 07:46:17 PM by LookIntoMyEyees »
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

Trikein

  • Guest
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2010, 07:31:19 PM »

Yea,  the upload gets really tricky. You really just want to do some real life test of your upload and set it to that. Thats what the "Auto" setting "tries" to do. It does a capacity test to see what the max transfer rate and sets it to that. The problem being most Cable ISP use some soft of Speedboost, or Powerboost, to increase upload and download speeds. Not only does this make your upload inconsistent, but the act of using powerboost can actually change the way the data is piped and add latency to it.

So yea, way to go is test, set, then trial and error. First see what you "should" get, not including powerboost or anything. Then run some test, to several servers, at different parts of the day. If you get more then your standard rate, then set it to your standard rate. If you get less, then take the adverage and set it to that (but if you get less then 50% of your advertised speed, contact your ISP and make sure everything is OK). Once thats done, try it out and see if theres a difference. To be honest, I really think it doesn't matter all that much, if at all. Let me know though.
Logged

LookIntoMyEyees

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 619
  • Let me lend you a hand & solutions shall follow.
Re: Gaming and GameFuel Setup For PlayStation 3 & PlayStation Network.
« Reply #27 on: September 24, 2010, 07:49:05 PM »

Triky you are right it does not matter, in overall you might just make your speeds a little better. You might as well just leave it auto.

--
Chris
Logged
Did I Help? If So, Say So! ShHHhh!, Just LookIntoMyEyees! No one is perfect, we all make mistakes.

Pages: 1 [2]