+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Wireless N150 / N300» DIR-615» DIR-615 over Wireless to Internet
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR-615 over Wireless to Internet  (Read 3249 times)
ukw
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« on: August 22, 2010, 10:56:33 PM »

I have a DIR-635 connected with WAN to Internet.

Is it possible to use a DIR-615, connect with local LAN PC and go over Wireless truh the DIR-635 to Internet? Or do I need a Access Point instead?
Logged
!!!!clarkkent
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 104


« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 11:07:03 PM »

I'm not sure what you're trying to do...

Is it:
1) [Internet] ------ [Modem] ------ [DIR-635] )))             ((( [PC] ----lan_port---- [DIR-615]

Or
2) [Internet] ------ [Modem] ------ [DIR-635] )))             ((( [DIR-615] -----lan_port---- [PC]

Number 1 is possible via ICS on the PC but I would never recommend it.
Number 2 is NOT possible. You need an access point configured as a bridge to communicate to the DIR-635 and hardwire it to the DIR-615.
Logged

"A mighty sword is useless in the hands of a coward!"
ukw
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 01:11:40 PM »

its the 2.)

Is it possible to use it

[Internet] ---- [Modem] ---- [DIR-635] ))))        (((([D-Link Acess Point DAP-1522] ---- Lan_port --- [PC]

?

-> do I really need DIR-615 or can is use DAP-1522 instead?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2010, 01:13:35 PM by ukw » Logged
hrbanana
Level 2 Member
**
Posts: 31


« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2010, 07:35:48 PM »

What you are trying to do is use the 615 as a 'wireless bridge'. As stated you can't do this with D-link firmware; however, you can use DD-WRT firmware to config the 615 as a wireless bridge. Search this forum & dd-wrt.com to confirm your HW version is compatible w/ DD-WRT fw.
Logged
!!!!clarkkent
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 104


« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 01:05:22 AM »

Or... use a DAP-1522.
Logged

"A mighty sword is useless in the hands of a coward!"
ukw
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2010, 12:38:50 PM »

which is the current revision of hardware?

which is probably the revision when i get a new one (my dealer have no on stock -> he has to order new ones by d-link)?
Logged
!!!!clarkkent
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 104


« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2010, 06:43:04 PM »

I think there's only one hardware version for that. you can probably try buying online from the d-link website but i haven't tried though.
Logged

"A mighty sword is useless in the hands of a coward!"
ukw
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2010, 08:28:20 AM »

no, there are many (I mean from DIR-615) -> see http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=13599.0
Logged
!!!!clarkkent
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 104


« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2010, 09:47:55 PM »

I thought you were talking about the DAP, but yeah, the latest one for the DIR-615 is the rev E.
Logged

"A mighty sword is useless in the hands of a coward!"
159159
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2010, 07:02:49 AM »

Answer is yes you can. Flash DIR-615 with DD-WRT and use it as wifi bridge.

I have DIR-615 acting as router and Buffalo WHR-G54S router with DD-WRT set as Wireless repeater bridge which works as WIFI client with 4 port switch on it. I'm using buffalo to connect my TV and Directv receiver to the internet through DIR-615. In other words Buffalo connecting to DIR-615 using wifi and LAN / Internet is available on buffalo ethernet ports in this particular setup.
 
cheers
« Last Edit: September 03, 2010, 07:17:34 AM by 159159 » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.