• October 20, 2020, 01:44:17 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: restart feature  (Read 7367 times)

ruski

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
restart feature
« on: July 22, 2010, 02:22:25 PM »

Is there any chance we could get a scheduled restart feature?

Thanks
Logged

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: restart feature
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2010, 06:26:12 PM »

The simple workaround is to plug your router's power cord in to a small clock-timer device that will shut power off at a scheduled time each day or so....then after 10 or 15 minutes it turns it back on....
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: restart feature
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2010, 09:34:00 AM »

Haven't seen a router (in this class) that offers this feature out-of-the-box, but the timer solution is quite inexpensive and effective.
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

ryan200

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: restart feature
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2010, 09:36:07 PM »

that would acknowledge that there is a reason why the router would need to be restarted.
Logged

Cobra

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
Re: restart feature
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2010, 10:02:35 AM »

that would acknowledge that there is a reason why the router would need to be restarted.

And that reason is....
Logged

zim2dive

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: restart feature
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2010, 05:56:35 PM »

And that reason is....

Simple... every router... no matter how close to perfect.. gets locked up every once in a short/long while.

My netgear had web access directly to a restart page (only from the LAN side).  I ran a cron job that checked once an hour, and if it couldn't get out.. it restarted the router... that particular "gem" of a router needed to be restarted every few days (it had an overheating issue as best as I could tell).

The DIR-655 is MUCH more stable.. but its not perfect.  I had no internet ~2 weeks ago.  Unplugged the router and replugged and I had internet again... if it had had a restart, I could have done the restart automatically instead of having my internet down for several hours (it died in the middle of the night).

So yes, a restart feature would be welcome.
Logged

Cobra

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 477
Re: restart feature
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 07:57:44 PM »

My 655 has been on 24/7 for over six months.

The only time I have ever had to restart is after a firmware upgrade.
Logged

war59312

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • Will's Blog
Re: restart feature
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2010, 11:11:09 AM »

Mine never last more than around 12 days.

And wireless sucks. 100% connection quality in router page and yet only at 108 instead of 300. Yes nick can do 300 just fine.

And wireless g with 89% connection quality and only getting 24.

Pretty crappy!
Logged
God Bless America