• August 14, 2020, 02:02:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-323 transfer / setup question  (Read 2491 times)

skywalkr2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DNS-323 transfer / setup question
« on: May 12, 2010, 07:43:52 PM »

I bought the DNS-323 along with a wireless N router to allow wireless access to the network backup with decent speed.  My laptop has an N adapter and attaches to the router properly.  The wireless router is megabit ethernet and connected via CAT5 to a switch downstairs.  On that switch is the DNS-323.

Over this network setup... I am only getting like 120KB/second.  100GB or so takes half a day.... If I am lucky.

Is this a normal transfer time?  I was hoping for more.
Logged

jamieburchell

  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 947
Re: DNS-323 transfer / setup question
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 08:34:56 PM »

For me, Wireless N > Router > Megabit Ethernet > DNS 323 is much quicker than that. I suspect the slowdown is between your switch and router. Can you connect the DNS 323 to the router directly, at least to test?
Logged
If your little 323 is not working right,
You've racked your brains and been up all night
Take a deep breath and wipe away the sweat,
Login as web admin and try a factory reset!

skywalkr2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DNS-323 transfer / setup question
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 08:49:28 PM »

I'll give it a shot soon.  If this is the issue... What could be a solution?
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS-323 transfer / setup question
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 04:26:14 AM »

First - I would suggest not trying to move "bulk" data over wireless, you will find it quite challenging.

Second - telling us a wireless-n network tells us very little, wireless-n has a theoretical upper limit of 300 mb/s, but will rarely deliver more than 80mb/s in practice, the problem however, is that we don't know what speed you're connecting at, conceivably it could be 54mbps or lower.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

skywalkr2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DNS-323 transfer / setup question
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2010, 10:57:13 AM »

My connection status shows 144.0 Mbps but does sometimes dip to 54.0.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: DNS-323 transfer / setup question
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2010, 11:52:24 AM »

Wireless communications is half-duplex, and the "connected" bit speeds are a whole lot different than the realized bit rates.

For 270mbit 802.11n connections, I've never seen more than about 7mbytes/sec transfers, I can easily exceed that on a 100mbit wired connection.  For a gigabit wired connection between my two Windows 7 boxes, I can pretty much move data at the hard disk speeds, I've clocked it at 80mbytes/sec for multi-gigabyte transfers.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.