• August 21, 2019, 05:13:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DSL-2320B and DI-604  (Read 4634 times)

rebelwoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DSL-2320B and DI-604
« on: April 09, 2010, 09:49:09 PM »

I recently purchased a DSL-2320B and I all ready have 4 DI-604's. I can not get the modem to bridge with the routers. I have tried two separate routers and I even thought it may be a problem from my Win 7 machine so I went to another machine with XP. I have changed the IP's around and basically just tried a lot of process of elimination stuff. Four hours and still no go. I have come to the conclusion that these two items are not compatible. The 2320B will work as a stand alone modem and I can get into the router when a cable is connected directly. I have done this setup quite a few times before with other models, this is just baffling. It did not come with a disc it was used but guaranteed to work. It does power up and work until it is hooked to a router.

Any ideas would be appreciated
« Last Edit: April 09, 2010, 09:53:06 PM by rebelwoc »
Logged

Fatman

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1675
Re: DSL-2320B and DI-604
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 09:06:06 AM »

I don't buy that these products wouldn't work together.

Was the PC (when the DSL modem was used as a stand alone modem) dialling PPPoE or just pulling a NAT IP?

What IP did that PC pull?

What WAN mode did you use on the DI-604?

What was the WAN status on the DI-604?

What was the LAN IP and subnet mask of the DI-604?
Logged
non progredi est regredi

rebelwoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DSL-2320B and DI-604
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2010, 12:36:21 PM »

Fatman,
Here are the answers you asked for:
PC pulled IP: 216.77.214.99

WAN Mode on DI-604: PPPoE
Status:  Connecting
LAN IP: 192.168.0.1
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Additional info:
To get into the modem it took several resets to finally get into it.
The PC pulled a different IP 169.254.173.229 which should be correct if the modem is acting as a DHCP right?
The only way into the router was to have it connected to the modem.
In command mode on the laptop using ipconfig/all this is the read:
DHCP Enabled Yes
Auto Config Yes
IP: 192.168.0.100
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server: 192.168.0.1
DNS Server: 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained: 04/13/10
Lease Expires: 04/20/10

I tried to get back into the modem again and have had no luck even with a reset. After several attempts and unplugging and re-booting the computer it will go I am sure.
Thanks for any help,
Dave
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 12:39:53 PM by rebelwoc »
Logged

Fatman

  • Level 9 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1675
Re: DSL-2320B and DI-604
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2010, 01:19:02 PM »

An address starting with 169.254 is what is called an APIPA address, it means you failed to pull an address.

Your router should use DHCP not PPPoE if a DHCP PC has ever pulled an IP from the modem.

You may need to reboot the modem or re-provision it with your ISP in order for a new device to pull an IP from it successfully.

you don't want your modem and your router on the same network, try changing the LAN of your router to 192.168.1.1 instead of 192.168.0.1.

You should not be able to manage the router unless you have it as a gateway for your traffic or can resolve it's address via ARP, in other words either you pull a valid IP from it or manually configure an address on it's LAN Net to manage it.
Logged
non progredi est regredi

rebelwoc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DSL-2320B and DI-604
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2010, 01:58:07 PM »

I will try changing the IP's around. I did this before to no avail. I do not have the home network running through a machine as a server. Internet is available to all machines on demand from the modem or router. I will let you know. Appreciate it.

Dave
Logged