• November 12, 2019, 05:41:58 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-655 & ATT DSL  (Read 15725 times)

jayman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« on: March 21, 2010, 09:51:12 PM »

While reading some reviews, I heard that some routers, like this one, will not be to happy with AT&T DSL. Which is what I am currently on.
Does anyone else have AT&T DSL service on this or other D-Links router?
Logged

dishinit

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 10:07:07 PM »

I am using the 655 with AT&T DSL and have no problem with service/connection. I ave a A4 model running 1.21NA firmware with Shareport 0.93v...This is what works for me best (I have tried 1.33NA and had problems with Shareport 3.0). I reverted back to 1.21 and original Shareport, and I am happy.
Hope this is helpful.
Logged

jayman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2010, 11:43:35 PM »

I am using the 655 with AT&T DSL and have no problem with service/connection. I ave a A4 model running 1.21NA firmware with Shareport 0.93v...This is what works for me best (I have tried 1.33NA and had problems with Shareport 3.0). I reverted back to 1.21 and original Shareport, and I am happy.
Hope this is helpful.

Thanks.
When you got it all setup, did you use the disk that came with the router?
Logged

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2010, 12:33:40 AM »

Hi,

Shouldn't be any real issues unless you prefer the DIR handle the PPPoE logins for the DSL circuit.  Then you have to set your DSL modem into bridge mode....

I have set up a number of clients and just allow the modem to do the PPPoE logins on 192.168.1.254 and have the DIR router use the 192.168.0.XXX that it defaults to.....
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

dishinit

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2010, 05:13:33 PM »

Don't forget that some DSL modems will not do log-in when in Bridge Mode.
If you have not set your modem in Bridge mode already, call AT&T and they will talk you through it.
I have Motorola's (one is a spare) and when set to bridge mode my 655 does the log-in.
For AT&T, I skipped the 655 Install CD, and went to the router log-in page (192.168.0.1  - via Browser) and selected the "Manual Internet Setup" page.
Then entered the required information.
Internet Connection = PPPoE
Mode = Dynamic
User name = (Full AT&T user name - includes the @att.net or whatever)
Password = your AT&T Password.
Reconnect Mode = Always On
That will get you connected to the Internet.

Remember to set your wireless security settings and for peace of mind, change your 655 log-in password to something unique and that you will remember.
If you need more help, just ask.
Logged

LMS

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2010, 06:05:12 AM »

Hi,

Shouldn't be any real issues unless you prefer the DIR handle the PPPoE logins for the DSL circuit.  Then you have to set your DSL modem into bridge mode....

I have set up a number of clients and just allow the modem to do the PPPoE logins on 192.168.1.254 and have the DIR router use the 192.168.0.XXX that it defaults to.....

Currently Aliant has recently upgraded my DSL and now I have a gigaset SE567 plugged into my DIR655.  With the setup i had before the gigaset SE567 I had a modem only and i did my PPPoE login with my DIR655.  The way Aliant has it setup the gigaset SE567 does the PPPoE login.  I have lost my ability to remote desktop into my home network and i don't know how to get this back.  Can someone tell me what settings i need to put in to allow me to remote desktop in?  I connot find any setting in the SE567 that will turn it into a bridge.
Logged

SenorT

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: DIR-655 & ATT DSL
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2010, 07:36:05 AM »

Replying to the OP- we have a DIR-655 and Motorola setup with ATT DSL. I found the DSLReports FAQ very handy in getting the modem into bridge mode and setting the DIR-655 to do the PPPoE. It includes some pretty-specific steps to follow.

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/bellsouth/3.15_D-Link_Info
Logged