• December 07, 2019, 08:07:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Help with Qos please.  (Read 3399 times)

mcmangq

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Help with Qos please.
« on: February 17, 2010, 09:34:58 PM »

Ever since I got this router, my downloads dont' seem to be as fast.  I'm dling the software from blackberry now and it's taking forever.

I have my xbox (wired) and laptop (wireless) connected to the router along with a other peoples laptops.

How do i give my xbox and laptop priority? Does it make a difference?

I'm looking at the QoS setup page and i'm not sure what to check/uncheck and what to put in the local ip, remote ip, local and remote port range, and the tcp, udp etc.

I'm a complete newb when it comes to routers. If you can help , it would be greatly appreciated.
Logged

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Help with Qos please.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 11:17:20 PM »

enable traffic shaping and set up QoS for you LAN IP's for the computers you want to have priority....

then give them a lower numeric than the others....  say 85  give the other pc's like 130

not much more difficult than that...unless I missed something of a finer point...but it works for me....
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

mcmangq

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Help with Qos please.
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 04:07:08 PM »

Thanks..

But i mean what is the difference between a local ip and a remote ip. And what do i put as a port range. etc.

thanks
Logged

Sammydad1

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Help with Qos please.
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 07:20:54 PM »

Hi,

Ummm.... Port Range, I use 0 - 65535

IP I use the LAN IP, typically I have previously assigned these as part of my LAN set up.  Instead of letting DHCP assign on the fly, I use IP Reservations for pretty much ALL my clients (PC's, XBox's, Printers, IPods...etc....)

Such as:   LAN IP:   192.168.1.105      192.168.1.105    assigns to that specific IP

              Remote IP:   0.0.0.0   to   255.255.255.255     assigns to ALL possible remote IP addys.

SD1
« Last Edit: February 18, 2010, 07:23:05 PM by Sammydad1 »
Logged
DIR-655 A2, FW: 1.35NA

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Help with Qos please.
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2010, 03:05:01 PM »

What's the difference between the right side pedal and the left side pedal in my car when I'm behind the steering wheel?

Just a suggestion, if your basic knowledge is not up to speed with these fundamentals you might want to consider to read some wikis ....

Don't want to be blunt, but the difference between local IP and remote IP is kinda fundamental... :o
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

mikey75

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Help with Qos please.
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2010, 09:53:01 AM »

I found disabling Qos greatly improved my speeds (400%-500%)...
Logged