• November 13, 2019, 03:37:29 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: UPS for DNS323  (Read 3900 times)

maxrva

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
UPS for DNS323
« on: May 20, 2010, 02:22:22 AM »

I would like to ask u guys about UPS which is compatible with DNS323 like it can shutdown and on it automatically? Which brand of UPS is suit with dis machine plz help me guys which one u r using rite now u found the best.
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: UPS for DNS323
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 05:28:13 AM »

Well, the APC I have worked with mine.  Most UPS models will use simple signaling that should work.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

maxrva

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: UPS for DNS323
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2010, 12:19:00 AM »

which model of APC?
N most of UPS with powerchute software will work rite?
Logged

gunrunnerjohn

  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2717
Re: UPS for DNS323
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2010, 08:33:49 AM »

Mine is an APC Back-UPS 550 on the D-Link.
Logged
Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
Remember: Data you don't have two copies of is data you don't care about!
PS: RAID of any level is NOT a second copy.

MJBURNS

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: UPS for DNS323
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2011, 05:08:02 AM »

I don't see a setting for a UPS anywhere in the 1.09 configuration screens. Where is it? And does using a UPS require an app of some type to be installed?
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: UPS for DNS323
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2011, 05:17:57 AM »

There is UPS support built into the firmware (later versions) which allows you to automatically shut down the 323 in the event of a power failure - it's a very primitive NUT implementation and there are no configurable paramaters, so it doesn't show in the GUI.

Plug your 323 into the UPS power, and connect the UPS comms cable to the USB port and power up the DNS-323, if you can see the UPS listed on the status page, it's probably good to go.

Unplug the UPS from the outlet and the status should change to reflect that, and when the UPS sends a low battery signal (after however long it takes to drain the battery) the NAS should power off - I would have preferred if they had made the "on battery time" user configurable, running a UPS battery to total depletion is a sure fire way to reduce it's expected lifespan.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2011, 05:21:04 AM by fordem »
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.