• December 07, 2019, 10:07:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: UPnP no longer working  (Read 4249 times)

gsrider

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
UPnP no longer working
« on: January 03, 2010, 08:32:12 AM »

Hi, I hope someone can help with this...

I had been using UPnP to serve music to a Denon receiver prior to FW 1.03. After the update, the DNS-343 was working really well and some stability issues were resolved, but at the same time, it disappeared from the UPnP network map! I was using the beta versions and still had everything working.. Any thoughts?

Now the problem, I reverted to FW 1.02 and I still don't have the UPnP server working. Other UPnP servers (windows hosts) are still available...

Nothing else on the network has changed in a while.
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 03:26:41 PM »

Try turning off all other UPnP AV media server some device have issue with multiple media servers broadcasting or have a limit to how many it will display.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

gsrider

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 07:02:34 PM »

Thanks for the reply and suggestion... but no joy here...

Still back on FW 1.02, tried a factory reset, full shutdown, restart, same issue. The web interface and OLED display say UPnP is running, but nothing else on my network sees it (as it used to). If I try to put in a single drive just to eliminate anything in the file system, then put back my 4X500gig raid 5 setup, will the raid5 still be intact?

Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2010, 10:11:31 AM »

What is the IP address of the DNS-323 and the Denon receiver?
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

gsrider

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 06:35:57 PM »

Whoops... Looks like I forgot to check back in!

If you are still out there... the 343 is 192.168.1.40
Denon is 192.168.1.70 both are fixed, DHCP addresses start at 100. Tried restarting everything and only powering up 343 and Receiver (after switch comes up...) no luck.
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2010, 04:42:16 PM »

Do you have any other device such as an XBOX or PS3 that may see the UPnP AV media server as well. Unfortunately the Denon box is not available for us to test to see if they are compatible. In Windows Media Player 11 or 12 you should be able to see it listed in the Library under Other.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream

gsrider

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2010, 06:18:51 PM »

I have a popcorn hour, plus my windows machines usually detect UPnP servers... none do.
Logged

ECF

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 11 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
Re: UPnP no longer working
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2010, 11:30:58 AM »

Well I would recommend updating to 1.03 again, once the update is done reset the unit to factory defaults and see if it is now working. If not if you have a spare SATA drive installed the drive and format it fresh and add a few files and then enable the UPnP AV media server and see if you can now see it.
Logged
Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream