• November 15, 2019, 12:37:13 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8

Author Topic: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue  (Read 84111 times)

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« on: March 03, 2010, 03:28:34 AM »

Dear All,

I've a WD Caviar Green 1.5 TB
Model: WD15EARS
As shown below.
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=772

It is recognized by the NAS but the performance is horrible.

It will intermittently pause when I'm accessing the folder or files.
After some checking I found that it was a Linux issue with the 4K Physical Sector.

Anyone have any idea on how can this be fix?

Thank You
« Last Edit: March 03, 2010, 08:28:51 AM by dcmwai »
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 07:49:40 PM »

http://forum.dsmg600.info/viewtopic.php?id=5468

for optimal performance, you would need to create the partitions on your own

Code: [Select]
fdisk or parted
... see below

mkswap /dev/sdd1

mke2fs -j -m 0 -T largefile4 /dev/sdd2

mke2fs -j /dev/sdd4

hd_verify -w
Code: [Select]
Disk /dev/sdd: 2000.3 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders, total 3907029168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdd1              64     1060287      530112   82  Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sdd2         3164800  3907029167  1951932184   83  Linux
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sdd4         1060288     3164799     1052256   83  Linux
Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary.

Partition table entries are not in disk order
Code: [Select]
(parted) unit s
(parted) print
Model: WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdd: 3907029168s
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start     End          Size         Type     File system  Flags
 1      64s       1060287s     1060224s     primary  linux-swap
 4      1060288s  3164799s     2104512s     primary  ext3
 2      3164800s  3907029167s  3903864368s  primary  ext3


Dear All,

I've a WD Caviar Green 1.5 TB
Model: WD15EARS
As shown below.
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=772

It is recognized by the NAS but the performance is horrible.

It will intermittently pause when I'm accessing the folder or files.
After some checking I found that it was a Linux issue with the 4K Physical Sector.

Anyone have any idea on how can this be fix?

Thank You
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2010, 09:28:02 AM »

How can you do that?

I'm even having issue on unmounting the sda4 and sdb4 (raid1)

Please advise.

Thank You
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2010, 07:24:52 PM »

are you using fun_plug?
what are the command that you are sending?

How can you do that?

I'm even having issue on unmounting the sda4 and sdb4 (raid1)

Please advise.

Thank You
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2010, 07:29:13 PM »

Yes I do have fun_plug 0.5 installed

I try to use fdlink but it will crash with segment fault
So I'm using parted to make the fs change..

But I cannot remove /dev/HD_{a,b,c,d}4

As it say it is still using.

Although it have been umount...

Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 08:54:03 PM »

yes, fdisk have some problem, try to use parted
http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/packages/parted-1.8.8-1.tgz

you should stop smb and nfs
you should also turn off the swap on the disk that you want to partition
Code: [Select]
smb stop
nfs stop
swapoff /dev/sd?1

Yes I do have fun_plug 0.5 installed

I try to use fdlink but it will crash with segment fault
So I'm using parted to make the fs change..

But I cannot remove /dev/HD_{a,b,c,d}4

As it say it is still using.

Although it have been umount...
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2010, 09:22:45 PM »

Oh Thank for the help.

Let me try later tonight.

I've a question is that would my telnetd be kill when the ffp have been formated?
And also my driver is a raid 1 array.

Yes, I can copy the HD_{abcd}4 out to a place temporary and later replace it.

But the problem is the raid array how can I remount it and format that?

Thank You



Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2010, 12:03:49 AM »

i am not sure about the commands for raid setup, i am using "single disk" setup
for "single disk" setup, if you don't touch /dev/sda you should be fine

only 1 of my new disk is having 4k sector and i am using it as back up

Oh Thank for the help.

Let me try later tonight.

I've a question is that would my telnetd be kill when the ffp have been formated?
And also my driver is a raid 1 array.

Yes, I can copy the HD_{abcd}4 out to a place temporary and later replace it.

But the problem is the raid array how can I remount it and format that?

Thank You
Logged

craftsman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2010, 10:30:44 PM »

I'm having the same issue as I bought two of the WD20EARS drives and want to use them in a RAID 1.  My linux isn't that strong, so I'm leary of trying to make all these changes.  What do you think about setting the jumper on the drives that is recommended for Windows XP?   It supposedly offsets the sectors by one so that even though the OS thinks it starts on sector 63 its really starting at 64 and the sector bounaries would be ok?   
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2010, 10:43:12 PM »

unfortunatlly that is not going to help as the HDD in DNS-343 have 3 partation.

And the pin offset will just safed partation 1 the swap...

So not much helpful...

By the way I think I fail to do that on DSN-343.
the changes must be done on another linux box... too bad :)
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2010, 06:26:55 AM »

yes correct, it will add 1 to the sector,
i.e. start from 64 (which is aligned),
it's only useful if you create only ONE partition

unfortunatlly that is not going to help as the HDD in DNS-343 have 3 partation.

And the pin offset will just safed partation 1 the swap...

So not much helpful...

By the way I think I fail to do that on DSN-343.
the changes must be done on another linux box... too bad :)
Logged

craftsman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2010, 03:15:57 PM »

Ok, so assuming I am willing to go through the work to move the sectors to the proper bounderies.  Is it possible to do this and end up with a raid 1 configuration? 
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2010, 04:58:08 PM »

i am using the following to umount ALL partitions and run e2fsck,
i hope if works for you to run fdisk

i believe you best bet is to
- use the GUI to create raid volumes
* setup telnet (follow the link)
* smb stop
* nfs stop
* umount (ALL partitions)
* swapoff (ALL partitions)
- use fdisk to delete and create partition 1(swap) and 2(data), for all your disks
(you can probably leave 4 alone as it's small and contains some admin data)
- please post your success story!

Note: i used the steps marked * before running e2fsck

http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:telnet

Code: [Select]
#
# Minimal fun_plug, only enables telnet
#
# Requires: /mnt/HD_a2/starttelnet.sh
#           /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/busybox3
#           /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/utelnetd
#
 
#
# Uncomment next line if you want "proof of concept".
# A filem dmesg.out will be located on \\NAS\HDD_1 or
# \\NAS\Volume_1 depending on firmware version.
#
# dmesg > /mnt/HD_a2/dmesg.out
 
#
# Start the telnet deamon
#
/mnt/HD_a2/starttelnet.sh

Code: [Select]
# improved starttelnet.sh, enabling the filesystems to be unmounted and checked, if need be.
 
# copy the provided components to a directory on the ramdisk
# the ramdisk is regenerated with every boot, so the copy has no lasting effects at all
# simply copy the two files over
cp /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/utelnetd /sbin/utelnetd
cp /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/busybox3 /bin/busybox3
 
# create the terminal device as usual
/bin/busybox3 mknod /dev/ptyp0 c 2 0
/bin/busybox3 chmod 0666 /dev/ptyp0
/bin/busybox3 mknod /dev/ttyp0 c 3 0
/bin/busybox3 chmod 0666 /dev/ttyp0
 
# make a shell link on the ramdisk
mkdir /bin/busybox3.dir/
PATH="$PATH:/bin/busybox3.dir"
 
ln -s /bin/busybox3  /bin/busybox3.dir/sh
 
# and start the Telnet service from the ramdisk as well
/sbin/utelnetd -l /bin/busybox3.dir/sh -d

Ok, so assuming I am willing to go through the work to move the sectors to the proper bounderies.  Is it possible to do this and end up with a raid 1 configuration?  

you would need this also, because the original fdisk gives segmentation fault
modify starttelnet.sh to also copy this to /tmp
http://forum.dsmg600.info/viewtopic.php?id=3375
« Last Edit: March 10, 2010, 03:50:39 PM by TimeZlicer »
Logged

craftsman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2010, 04:40:45 PM »

I'm getting closer, but need some more help.  I've got funplug on it and added starttelnet.sh to the start directory.  I even downloaded the alternative fdisk and copied it to /tmp.  Then I unmount everything and try to use the fdisk in /tmp but when say I try to list the existing partitions with 'fdisk -l' I get this error "cannot open /proc/partitions".

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Logged

TimeZlicer

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • TimeZlicer
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2010, 06:47:04 PM »

i am just guessing, maybe raid is in the way,
have you tried, raidstop?
if i am not wrong you have
-raidstop
-fdisk
-raidstart
-mke2fs

I'm getting closer, but need some more help.  I've got funplug on it and added starttelnet.sh to the start directory.  I even downloaded the alternative fdisk and copied it to /tmp.  Then I unmount everything and try to use the fdisk in /tmp but when say I try to list the existing partitions with 'fdisk -l' I get this error "cannot open /proc/partitions".

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8