• January 15, 2021, 03:53:07 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8

Author Topic: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue  (Read 86597 times)

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #90 on: May 13, 2010, 09:10:59 AM »

If anyone is slow on the raid rebuild...

Try

Code: [Select]
echo 150000 > /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_max
This should kick the process to 150MB/s
But will slow down all other process...

But I donno if that will caused the system to halt :)

Please do let me know...
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #91 on: May 15, 2010, 09:17:10 AM »

Please check on the doc again

I've make some change on the telnetd link.

Thank You
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #92 on: May 15, 2010, 12:42:41 PM »

Hum...
You can't touch that partation..
once you touch it ..
The RAID will die.

I think that the reason is that it is unable to mount it..
Any auggestion about the partation format type and etc?
this would be the last to try....

For though of you who have the issue, temporaty would be disable the upnp av, itune server and other which need to store on this partition...

« Last Edit: May 16, 2010, 03:54:46 AM by dcmwai »
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #93 on: May 16, 2010, 05:18:23 AM »

I just kill my Raid again...

Anyone have anyway to telnet to the system without HDD?

The volume is not detected... :(

They think that this is a new hdd...

OMG...

I need some help here...
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #94 on: May 17, 2010, 09:54:19 AM »

Finally... I got a firmware which have telnet enable by default and it help me to fix my raid and also the 3rd partition.

Also I've confirm that if you are using the workaround (the 3rd partation is still not align)
you will still suffer some performance issue when you are using the itune & upnpav server on the DNS-343.

Try to disable it to see if you have a better result. (For me I seem to found that disable it is way better)

Fixing the 3rd partition wasn't easy. The Firmware with telnet enable is a must also I found that this firmware will help me to fix my broken raid also :)

However I don't know if I can release it...

Let me check with them...
Logged

D-Link Multimedia

  • Level 7 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1066
    • D-link Systems, Inc.
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #95 on: May 17, 2010, 10:03:23 AM »

Finally... I got a firmware which have telnet enable by default and it help me to fix my raid and also the 3rd partition.

Also I've confirm that if you are using the workaround (the 3rd partation is still not align)
you will still suffer some performance issue when you are using the itune & upnpav server on the DNS-343.

Try to disable it to see if you have a better result. (For me I seem to found that disable it is way better)

Fixing the 3rd partition wasn't easy. The Firmware with telnet enable is a must also I found that this firmware will help me to fix my broken raid also :)

However I don't know if I can release it...

Let me check with them...

That really doesn't resolve the problem. In fact I believe after you reboot the unit it will go back to what it was doing before and you will have to telnet in again and fix the mount. Also since that is not a final release version of firmware the simplest answer is no, you can't/shouldn't release it. That version you are using is based on an old version of 1.03 which has some critical bugs in it.
Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #96 on: May 17, 2010, 06:44:32 PM »

That really doesn't resolve the problem. In fact I believe after you reboot the unit it will go back to what it was doing before and you will have to telnet in again and fix the mount. Also since that is not a final release version of firmware the simplest answer is no, you can't/shouldn't release it. That version you are using is based on an old version of 1.03 which has some critical bugs in it.


Maybe for you it didn't but for me.
It did help to solve my problem.

My Raid 1 come back.
(I've a backup of the HD_a4 and HD_b4) before I change the 3rd partation.
I just restore the files after the fdisk and Good my raid is back online.

I know what you would not like to see "unauthorized" firmware flying around.

But Frankly speaking, This firmware with telnet do help me a lot. (In this case)

If I've this firmware 3 months ago might no need to do linux read and etc things...
Logged

BoyBastos

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #97 on: May 22, 2010, 01:00:46 PM »

hi,

I'm new to linux and was able to telnet to my DLINK dns-323.  I followed this link's instructions (http://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=1ZnfQ8kvkBAHSa4EsT9kRPzPVxLz1zU2MLQKLmMROF7A)
and i get stuck at this part of the telnet:


jeff@xbmc:~$ telnet 192.168.0.192
Trying 192.168.0.192...
Connected to 192.168.0.192.
Escape character is '^]'.
stdin, stdout, etderr: 0 1 2


BusyBox v1.2.1 (2006.10.30-10:27+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# /tmp/fdisk -lu
/bin/busybox3.dir/sh: /tmp/fdisk: not found
# ./fdisk -lu
/bin/busybox3.dir/sh: ./fdisk: not found


Here is my starttelnet.sh:

# improved starttelnet.sh, enabling the filesystems to be unmounted and checked, if need be.
 
# copy the provided components to a directory on the ramdisk
# the ramdisk is regenerated with every boot, so the copy has no lasting effects at all
# simply copy the two files over
cp /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/utelnetd /sbin/utelnetd
cp /mnt/HD_a2/lnx_bin/busybox3 /bin/busybox3
cp /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp
cp /mnt/HD_a2/fdisk /tmp/fdisk
 
# create the terminal device as usual
/bin/busybox3 mknod /dev/ptyp0 c 2 0
/bin/busybox3 chmod 0666 /dev/ptyp0
/bin/busybox3 mknod /dev/ttyp0 c 3 0
/bin/busybox3 chmod 0666 /dev/ttyp0
 
# make a shell link on the ramdisk
mkdir /bin/busybox3.dir/
PATH="$PATH:/bin/busybox3.dir"
 
ln -s /bin/busybox3  /bin/busybox3.dir/sh
 
# and start the Telnet service from the ramdisk as well
/sbin/utelnetd -l /bin/busybox3.dir/sh -d


what am i doing wrong? Any help would be appreciated thanks.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2010, 02:52:55 AM by BoyBastos »
Logged

maxbis

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #98 on: May 25, 2010, 04:36:28 AM »

My raid is up. But the speed is horrible. I have a direct 1Gb link and before the alignment the transfer rate was 2.5 M/sec, now its 4.5 M/s. Its not even 100Mb link. This is terrible. When the raid was re-syncing, the speed was about 100 000 K/s from # cat /proc/mdstat command.  Twice higher than in the guide. I am so disappointed. If anybody has any suggestions Iíd really appreciate it.

For others, who is trying (hoping) to get it working, hereís my experience, I hope other people can get something from it.

1 x DNS-321

2 x 2TB WD EARS

Linux experience Ė eeh, Iíve heard about it. (Beginner)

Looks like Iíve got all the problems mentioned in this discussion and some more. I will not go through all of them, but want to mention some things.

1. fdisk: not found.

The line in starttelnet.sh:

cp /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp

does not work for me. There is no /ffp after reboot. So, I had to modify my starttelnet.sh as:

mkdir /ffp
mkdir /ffp/lib
cp /mnt/HD_a2/ffp/lib/*.* /ffp/lib

Now fdisk can find all the libs and starts just fine.

2.  Double echo with telnet (canít modify first sector in fdisk). Just hold Ctrl when you press Enter. Thatís it. You only need to do that in fdisk. Other than that place everything works ok with duplicating the Enter.

3. Some files are missing (again I am using DNS-321), or in a different places.  The most important

/mnt/HD_a4/mdadm.conf and
/mnt/HD_b4/mdadm.conf

In my setup they are:

/mnt/HD_a4/.systemfiles/mdadm.conf and
/mnt/HD_b4/.systemfiles/mdadm.conf

I also didnít have

 write_hdverify

I did

hd_verify Ėw

just for the heck of it. Donít know if it is the same.  It gave me bunch of crap, but who cares. Everything worked.


That is probably it. I followed the guide and was able to recreate raid with partitions aligned the way it should be. Thank you very much for the guide and all your help.

Logged

MyDNS323

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #99 on: May 31, 2010, 09:48:06 AM »

Finally, I manage to get the RAID1 with the alignment things.
It wasn't that hard but it do take times. (I'm not too sure why but there are 2 re-sync happeded)

Below are the guide.

http://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=1FIcG6ORtV9yqIK-4MLNgNLlQeHOb3Fxpu_OpLbd4Npg

Fell free to let me know if you encounter any issue.

Thank You


Hi.
Thanks for the guide. I'm part way through it but having a few problems. Was wondering if you could help me out:

1) After I Telnet into the 323, I see the "#". Am I supposed to type in 5784468? I tried it the first time, and I got an error message, but then the prompts started appearing as "# #".

2) When I tried the "cat /mnt/HD_b4/raidtab2web" command, I got an error. I copied and pasted this command into telnet, but it keeps giving me an error. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
Logged

meqwerty

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #100 on: June 02, 2010, 08:59:45 AM »

Hi. I have realigned my 1.5TB WDEARS GREEN but upload speed to my DNS343 is capping at about 140Mbps. The download speed is about 300Mbps.

is that normal? i thought that was a little slow compared to what i googled.

just want to sort out the peformance issues before i start putting data back into the drive.

any help is appreciated

Logged

dcmwai

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #101 on: June 07, 2010, 03:29:53 AM »

Omg...
That was important but if seem that I've forgot...

My bad. Will modify the guide accordingly..

Thank for letting me know.




cp /mnt/HD_a2/ffp /ffp

does not work for me. There is no /ffp after reboot. So, I had to modify my starttelnet.sh as:

mkdir /ffp
mkdir /ffp/lib
cp /mnt/HD_a2/ffp/lib/*.* /ffp/lib

Now fdisk can find all the libs and starts just fine.


2.  Double echo with telnet (canít modify first sector in fdisk). Just hold Ctrl when you press Enter. Thatís it. You only need to do that in fdisk. Other than that place everything works ok with duplicating the Enter.

3. Some files are missing (again I am using DNS-321), or in a different places.  The most important

/mnt/HD_a4/mdadm.conf and
/mnt/HD_b4/mdadm.conf

In my setup they are:

/mnt/HD_a4/.systemfiles/mdadm.conf and
/mnt/HD_b4/.systemfiles/mdadm.conf

I also didnít have

 write_hdverify

I did

hd_verify Ėw

Logged

InBonobo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #102 on: June 08, 2010, 05:09:52 AM »

my success story, non-RAID (SLEDs, JBOD; RAID makes no sense for me): http://www.consumedconsumer.org/2010/06/upgrading-my-dns-323-to-2-x-2-tb-ii_08.html
Logged

pavlo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #103 on: June 13, 2010, 12:48:30 PM »

Hello Everyone!

Dcmwai,
Thanks for the Single HDD 4K Alignment issue Guide acticle. I am trying to use it for my D-Link DNS-323 with no success. I've made the following according to the instruction:

1) Format drive
2) Reboot
3) Extract files from utelnetd-ram.tar.gz into \Volume_1\ folder
4) Reboot

Due to some reason I am unable to connect using Telnet. File dmesg.out was created. Any ideas how to debug this?

This is the guide for single HDD.
Well actually if you are following the thread you would be able to do that already.

But still having a guide would be better.

http://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=1ZnfQ8kvkBAHSa4EsT9kRPzPVxLz1zU2MLQKLmMROF7A

Thank You
Logged

jeffers.r

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 4K Physical Sector Performance issue
« Reply #104 on: June 27, 2010, 05:22:08 PM »

Hey Pavlo,

I'm experiencing the same issue. I suspect we're missing something, perhaps even a option setting within our telnet command? I'm more accustomed to SSH so I have to familiarize myself with telnet. Any luck on this? I receive the following:

Code: [Select]
$ telnet 192.168.1.26 -l root
Trying 192.168.1.26...
Connected to 192.168.1.26.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.

From what I could find online this would suggest that our client is not on the telnet trusted list, but I suspect there isn't a trusted list in this case so it should accept connections from anywhere.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2010, 05:37:49 PM by jeffers.r »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8